We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much”

A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square
Ranked #19 of 20 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I have now stayed here twice on visits to Harvard University. Like others this is largely because there are few brand name hotels and these are at about twice what you'd pay for the same in other cities. So, enter what would be a bed & breakfast in the UK. The rooms are clean but like a bedroom at your aged aunt's house. Of the breakfast, don't bother unless you like danish pasties but the coffee is passable. But you are near to the University, there's a Starbucks a block away and there are great places to eat in this expensive town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7,531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

I chose this Inn for its relatively low price (Cambridge and Boston are known for high costs) and proximity to Harvard. It's located in a quiet street, a block away from Harvard, and about 10 minutes from the nearest subway (T) station. There's a bus-stop across the street.

The Inn is a 19th century house - there is no elevator, and the stairs are narrow and steep; each step was actually so short only about 2/3 of my foot would fit (I wear size 11 shoes), making the climb, with heavy luggage, very annoying. The room was clean, with a comfortable bed, but was very dark. Although it wasn't a warm night, the window was taped shut, necessitating use of the window A/C, which was very loud. I cooled the room for a while with it, and had to shut it down to actually sleep. During showers, the shower curtain constantly tried to stick to me. Hot water also took forever to reach the shower, which uses one of those annoying dials that only control temperature (slowly), but not flow rate.

I was traveling alone, so it didn't bother me, but one side of the bed was very close to the wall and a radiator, and had no nightstand or reading lamp.

There's a complementary breakfast, but it's extremely basic - some coffee, stale pastries, cornflakes, and some fruit. No vegetables, cheese, or bread. It's served in a small room with two sofas and a coffee table - no really made for eating. I'd recommend going to some cafe in the area (like in Harvard Square).

All in all - not terrible, but I'll probably try my luck elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor if stairs are an issue
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank praetor979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I found this property to be very clean and I had a spacious room. Liked its convenience to Harvard and moderate price. The breakfast selection was good. I thought 11:00 am was a little early for checkout.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildcatalumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed 2 nights in December 2011 and paid 220 USD which is a good price compared to other hotels in Cambridge/Boston.

The building looks nice and cute from outside but the interior design is a bit old-fashion. A lot of flowers on the carpet, on the walls, everywhere. This is not an issue but a little refreshing would be appreciated.

The room was clean but smelled a little strange, like those odor-remover sprays. The bed was firm but comfortable. The bathroom/toilet seat and shower were a little small for me (I'm 6'3) but it was clean and the water pressure in the shower was really high.

One annoying point was the heater which was really hot and very noisy at night. Every so often, it sounded like a boiling kettle and this woke me up.

I didn't take my breakfast there and didn't request anything so I cannot comment on the room service or the helpfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steffan_FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Set next to Harvard, this Inn is one of the more fairly-priced places to stay if you're in the area, and it has a lot more personality than a generic hotel would. We stayed only 1 night. I found the service to be friendly; they allowed us to check in just a bit early, which was appreciated, and there is dedicated parking (big bonus in Cambridge). The place is definitely not spacious-feeling - narrow halls and many rooms - but the basic vibe was nice, with dark wood trims and a definitive "New England" feel. As with anywhere in the city, rooms by the street will have a bit of traffic noise.

Beds were a bit hard for my taste, but everything was clean and the showers had good pressure; the only thing we were less than impressed with was the breakfast - they had fruits set out with and less-than-stellar coffee in a back room, but the pastries were tough and didn't taste very good. Instead of eating there we walked 1/2 block down to Darwin's and had one of the most fantastic breakfasts I've had in the area - so if you stay at the Inn, just skip the breakfast and go to Darwin's!

Room Tip: Request a room towards the back to avoid traffic noise.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GahuGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.0 km away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,747 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
506 reviews
1.0 km away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
979 reviews
1.7 km away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
67 reviews
2.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square

Address: 1673 Cambridge St, Cambridge, MA 02138-4316
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: ₹ 12,430 - ₹ 14,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Friendly Inn At Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing