We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
97
94
45
13
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
94
45
13
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub and sauna lamb lobster short walk skogafoss waterfall romantic getaway first floor comfortable room northern lights tea and coffee quiet at night couldn t south coast ring road wonderful hotel soup included breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Skogar is a tiny little town with basically only 2 hotels, the big waterfall, and some other misc. buildings. It's a great home location for visiting the south coast. We stayed here and took an entire day to make the round trip drive out to glacier bay and back.

The hotel is wonderful. We paid a little more to have the upgraded room upstairs with a balcony. The balcony faced north, and we stood on it for hours watching the northern lights. Breathtaking!

The staff was very friendly. We chose to have dinner at the hotel, and the food was out of this world. We had lobster, chicken, and an appetizer. It was some of the most delicious food we've ever eaten. Such a nice treat to eat at the hotel, since there isn't anything around unless you drive 30 minutes to Vik.

You won't regret staying here. Great place to see all the beautiful sights in the south.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the upgraded rooms. Well worth it!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grimreepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

This was the worst place where we stayed.
The room was not clean. The water and the room smelled weird - this because they pump the water from a geothermal source nearby - this was not pleasant at all.
Breakfast was not good, limited choice and very poor quality.
I do not recommend this place.

Stayed: October 2018
1  Thank Charlie981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

This hotel is an excellent base for exploring the south of Iceland starting with Skogafoss, a beautiful waterfall right on your doorstep. The rooms are quite basic with little storage and small bathrooms. We were disappointed that the TV wasn't working. We were only able to receive 1 channel, no news and not even Icelandic programs. Although expensive in my opinion, for Iceland the price was okay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was sufficient and the buffet readily replenished.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room which was quite small and basic. I'm not sure what a standard room would be like.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank globetrotter51_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The setting is beautiful, a short walk from the Skogarfoss and very quiet at night. Our room on the ground floor was well set out and quite spacious. We ate breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and all the food was good. The staff were friendly.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here recently while touring Iceland and couldn’t have been more happy. The staff was nice and friendly and property clean.

The location is very well set being so so close to Skógafoss waterfall. Also pretty close to the airplane crash site on the black beach.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews