We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top Quality”
other travellers have booked this property
Aurora Borealis, the northern lights seen in dark and clear sky
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aurora Borealis, the northern lights seen in dark and clear sky
Warm and cosy in winter and summer Unobstructed view over the farmers fields and mountains from an enormous veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Aurora Borealis, the northern lights seen in dark and clear sky
Warm and cosy in winter and summer
Unobstructed view over the farmers fields and mountains from an enormous veranda
Summer wedding in Viking Villa
Tom Cruise's helicopter landed at Viking Villa during the filming of Oblivion (2013 film)
Open plan living, kitchen, dining room and living room all in one space
Bright and comfortable lounge with log fire
Peace and tranquility. A good night's sleep in a heavenly bed.
Bedroom upstairs
By the fire in the bright summer night
Self catering - Very well equipped kitchen, modern appliances
Flying in a private airplane in the mist of Gullfoss, available for our guests
Crib available
Children are welcome in Viking Villa. We have a trampoline in the summer.
Enter a caption for your photo
Private super jeep tours available. Experience the highlands, the glaciers, the back roads of Icelan
In the observation tower
Veranda furniture
Hiking with or without guide in stunning landscape
In the middle of the Golden Circle, Gullfoss waterfall, Geysir hotspring and Þingvellir/Thingvellir
Thingvellir national park was accepted on the World Heritage list for its cultural values
Hrunalaug, a natural geothermal pool, just minutes away.
Welcome to Viking Villa in South Iceland, near the friendly little village; Fludir
Private grounds, chicken, ducks and wild birds ramble around
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fludir, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Wendy H
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top Quality”
Reviewed 8 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Fabulous apartment in the centre of the 'Golden Circle' We were able to take trips to Reykjavik (whale watching and shopping); to Gulfoss (Giant waterfall) also in the same day Geyser - great spectacle. Caving and Snorkelling (in the snow) in Pingvallir national park. On a day when the wind was so strong (Hurricane Sandy decided to join us from New York) and we had to stay in (relaxing) we didn't mind at all because the accommodation is first class. TV with Sky and wonderful views all around. We even got to see the Northern lights. Magnus the owner was an absolute gem and because it was so windy took us around to see some local sites which we would never have seen if we had not been with him. We saw what looked like a very modern Stonehenge but was actually a massive sheep pen for annual sheep mustering, maybe Stonehenge was really made to count and divide sheep! We also took a walk up a mountain (hill near Sellfoss) with natural hot springs where you could bath in the slightly dammed parts of the stream. It was plenty hot enough (in October) but a bit chilly changing after! The furthest we went was a Glacier near Vestern Island (Which we hear would have been great to visit) we were intending to do some ice climbing on the glacier but that due to hurricane Sandy was cancelled. We did see the ice and walk around a bit. A great experience.
Magnus picked us up from the airport as he said he would and drove us to the accommodation (best shower ever and most comfortable bed I have ever slept in) at the end of the week we met Magnus and Inga again to give them back their car (they had hired it to us as well) Magnus then drove us to the airport via one last museum so that we could see as much about Iceland whilst we were there.
Fantastic accommodation even better host and totally genuine people. In fact all the Icelander's we met were lovely and spoke excellent English. I could not even manage thank you in Icelandic!

FYI we used Arctic adventures for all of our activities. Their selection was great we also got a discount for booking lots in one go

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfy bed and log fire
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 16 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DOFG
Hamden, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“Lovely home, would move in if I could!”
Reviewed 5 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed at this villa for 4 days. It is a wonderful home with ultra modern amenities, yet a cozy feel. It is within a comfortable driving distance to attractions such as Gulfoss falls, Geysir, glaciers, among other things. The location is quiet and scenic but not too remote as the village of Fludir with a small grocery store and public pool and hot tub is about 1.5 miles away. It was very nice to come back here at the end of each day. The view is amazing from 360 degrees! You can collect your own eggs every morning from the chickens and feed the geese nearby. Owners, Maggnus and Inga are genuinely nice and helpful people. It was a pleasure staying here, especially with 4 children!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0lirel...
Bray, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Icelandic delight”
Reviewed 15 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

I thought this house was an absolute delight. From the nice emails before arrival giving directions and advice to the meeting of Maggnus on the first evening to get the keys and be shown around.
The house is very well presented and cared for and in a tranquil setting. The quality of the fittings and equipment is well above the average in rental houses. The house is immaculately clean and very comfortable and has a real feeling of being a home. Maggnus the owner is very gracious and very pleased to provide information about the area of which he is justifiably proud.
There are just so many interesting things to see on the island, volcanoes, glaciers, geysirs and the Blue Lagoon (to name but a few).
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return one day.
Many thanks Maggnus for allowing us share a glimpse of this beautiful corner of Iceland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility and comfort, within easy reach of many highlights of the landscape
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed M
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great views, excellently equipped, helpful & kind hosts”
Reviewed 4 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Magnus and his wife were both extremely helpful in suggesting things to do on our weeks visit. We had an excellent weeks holiday very well located to visit the geysers, Gul foss, Thinglvellir etc. Next time I'll definitely take Magnus's offer of hiring a more robust car direct from him as the conditions on the winter roads can be 'exciting' to say the least.
The house itself is immaculately equipped, very comfortable and even has a viewing tower. The owners use the house themselves which means that its well stocked with things that wouldn't be found in purpose built rental properties, right down to things like like herbs and spices etc.. It's conveniently situated just outside the village of Fludir (4 minutes drive), but from the house, it's as if you are in the middle of nowhere, looking out on beautiful spartan views. The sole downside was the lack of Internet access which would have been useful to plan the week better, view maps, check weather forecast for aurora etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views
Liked least: No Internet access.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing