We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed in better... but, not horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Aurora, Ohio
Level Contributor
500 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Stayed in better... but, not horrible”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

At check in we encountered a glitch. The room smelled of smoke and the latch on the door was broke. In fact, the room was quite filthy, too. Precious took care of us though. The second room was much better. However, it was not as clean as most Red Roofs we stay at. Corners around the room and in the drawers were dirty and the toilet bowl was brown on the bottom. The staff was very pleasant and we slept well.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    24
    26
    21
    27
See reviews for
20
28
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We were on the last leg of our cross-country road trip and changed our plans a little bit. This stop for just one night was based on the reviews here at Trip Advisor. Despite the varied reviews here, we thought it was the best bet for the money, and took a gamble.

The place was alright if you're on a budget and don't mind something older, a little more run down, and not as clean as other hotels. It's sparse on amenities and cleanliness, but it wasn't a downright fleabag motel either. It was, however, the worst hotel we stayed at over our 15 day trip from New England to northern Montana and through the midwest, though. Take that as you will.

In our experience, we found toe nail clippings on the carpet of one side of the bed, out for anyone to see. In the middle of the night, the AC just quit working (and it was a very muggy night). When my husband tried to turn on the fan at 3am when the AC quit, we got a very, very awful smell like the electronic circuitry was fried on the unit. We immediately shut off the fan on the AC and sucked it up, trying to sleep in a stifled, dirty motel room. The bed was comfy enough to put us right back to sleep. At around 5:30am, the AC miraculously decided to wake up and function again. We still have no idea what happened there, as there was NO thermostat setting on the AC.

We stayed in Rm #213, facing the parking lot. We did not hear any highway traffic, but then it was on the other side of the building. It looked like this place had the potential to become a rowdy place to stay if the right crowd checks in, but we did not experience any disturbances during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We wanted a cheap hotel since we were only staying one night. The light over the sink didn't work and another was falling down. In the middle of the night a family ws sold the room we were staying in! They went to the front desk and got another room, but cancelled out our key, so we couldn't get in. The woman at the front desk never apologize and acted like nothing happened. Aside from that, the bed was nice, and the room was clean.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadc94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisle IL
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stayed here for one night during a quick trip to Springfield. Didn't want to spend $$ on a room we would only be in a minimal amount of time so we decided to try here. The room was very basic...not even a picture on the wall. King size bed was pretty comfortable, and the room was really clean (that's a good thing...). The only problem we had (once again, let me remind you, this is a pretty basic room so don't forget any hygiene stuff), was our room faced the interstate and the only thing drowning out the noise was the air conditioner...which everytime it turned on it sounded like someone slammed the door!! So be sure to ask for a room not facing the interstate. Kind of hard to find and get into location, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing interstate!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

King size bed was shockingly comfortable. Air conditioning was powerful and adjustable to just what I needed. No frills but for the price, around $50, got a good night's sleep in a comfortable place. Ground floor rooms mean you can back into parking space in front of the door and have only a few steps to carry your bags into your room. HBO on the TV was appreciated. Secluded location for quite from main road, but still central enough to be short drive to all Springfield sites. Nice place to save some money on a comfortable night's stay. Remember to ask for a Redi-card and collect points for a free nights stay after about 10 stays, or can transfer the points for airline miles. Restaurants and fast food options, and plenty of shopping, both north and south on Dirksen Boulevard. Easy freeway access right there next to the motel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vlichadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.2 km away
Super 8 Springfield East
Super 8 Springfield East
#33 of 38 in Springfield
326 reviews
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza
BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza
#14 of 38 in Springfield
203 reviews
2.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Candlewood Suites Springfield
Candlewood Suites Springfield
#8 of 38 in Springfield
199 reviews
2.1 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 38 in Springfield
184 reviews
4.4 km away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#12 of 38 in Springfield
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Springfield? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Springfield

Property: Red Roof Inn Springfield
Address: 3200 Singer Ave, Springfield, IL 62703-2140
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,692 - ₹ 4,599
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Springfield 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing