We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Visit to Historical Springfield” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Springfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Springfield
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Visit to Historical Springfield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We have stayed at Hampton Inns several times and found this one to be similar to others. It was relatively quiet and comfortable. There were lots of towels and toiletries in the bathroom; the furnishings were in good condition. The front desk personnel were pleasant and helpful. The selection of food in the breakfast room was about average compared to other Hampton Inns but the tables were full the two mornings we had breakfast there. There are many restaurants nearby; we tried to get in to the Chesapeake Seafood House (about 5-10 minutes north) for dinner our first night and found it packed, so we made reservations and went the next night. We still had to wait 1/2 hr for a table but the service was fast, friendly and efficient and the food was good. The purpose of our trip was to visit the Lincoln Museum, Lincoln Home, Capitol, New Salem and other Lincoln or government sites. It was just a ten minute drive to downtown. We recommend taking a tour of the Old State Capitol; the volunteers there are passionate about the history of the building. The Lincoln Museum is great for kids or anyone wanting an overview of Lincoln's life.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Booklover48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    119
    75
    61
    18
See reviews for
146
110
28
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for one night and we were very pleased. The beds were super comfortable, free wi-fi, and the complimentary breakfast was more than the standard. The breakfast included scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, plus all the other usual things. Very clean hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zimfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Small, small, small. Room was called "sofa study". Am a Hilton Honors member, always request this type room for more space and a place to sit --other than the bed. This was the poorest excuse for that I've ever experienced. Furniture was jammed in. Closet was so narrow clothes couldn't hang shoulder-to-shoulder. Bathroom was the size a closet should be. Only contact with front desk was at check-in: clerk was courteous.

Room Tip: Avoid room 325
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEM4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPIDK_DOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Springfield, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear JEM4100

Thank you for your feedback on our property, I am sad to hear that you were uncomfortable with the size of your accommodations and I do apologize. Unfortunately that is something that is beyond our control, however we do have control over our staff and hope that their service to you met your expectations. Thank you again for your feedback.

Lindsey K. Young
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Toilet broke and flooded the room. They "loved" the head more than their customers. We had to move to another room without their assistance included all our stuff including the wet clothes. Requested the full satisfaction refund and their ears were deaf even though I mentioned that I had a 6 nerve deadening injections in my back the prior week. After 5 months got a "standard" room 1 night coupon from corporate after franchise management did not respond. Will sleep in the car before entering that hotel ever again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OMG4050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

I decided to stay at this hotel rather than downtown at the convention area for economic reasons, i.e. no pay to park, free WiFi, breakfast and room was less expensive.
The area is industrial, but there are food chains nearby - Red Lobster, Bob Evans, Cheddar's, Panera and even Hooters. McD's was within walking distance. The convention center was about 12 minutes. There is a lot of building in the area, so it may improve. The strip mall behind the hotel was mostly going out of business.
The hotel staff was friendly and nice. The brand lived up to it's reputation. The bedding was clean and fresh, the room was clean, the indoor pool looked great (complete with hot tub), good workout room with decent equipment and free weights. It was quiet, too. The room seemed well insulated, even when the "kids" moved in for Friday night, there was no noise from overhead or the side.
The breakfast was more well rounded than the average Hampton. Fresh blueberries every morning were a hit with me.
The room included a microwave and that was nice.
Like many hotels in this economy, the decor in the room was starting to be worn. The sofa and carpet were worn looking. The room had clearly been through one re-model, but it's time for another soon. It is an older hotel and they are building many new ones in the area. The TV was still a tube TV...no digital here yet.
One odd thing...I had a charge for $1.50 for a phone call from my room that I didn't make. I reported that to the desk and they checked...I was at the convention center when it was made and they cheerfully removed it. I said that it bothered me that someone was making calls from my room. I was told, rather casually, that it was probably housekeeping. I kind of resented that she or he stood right by the phone, took the generous tip I had left and thought nothing of adding another $1.50 to my room charge by making a personal call. So, check your bill at check out...it seemed like this might be a common practice. It's probably hard to find good help so such things are overlooked... and easily overlooked by you when your bill is under the door and you grab it and go.
If I go back, I will try the Hampton on the southwest side of town. It looked like the better corner of Springfield. At the same time, for the money, this was a good hotel and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try 116. It is next to the pool, across from the workout room and was really quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmelKinesic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPIDK_DOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Springfield, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
CarmelKinesic

Thank you so much for your detailed review of your experience at our property, we value that you took the time to share your experience with others. We are glad that you enjoyed the clean bedding and room, blueberries (also my favorite!) and our staff was friendly, these are the goals that we strive to meet daily for each and every guest. As for the phone charge on your room I would again like to apologize for that and make note that this is not common practice at our property. With you bringing this situation to light it has given us the opportunity to address this issue and action has been taken to make sure this does not happen in the future. Again, thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. We look forward to seeing you next time!

Lindsey Young
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
7.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#6 of 38 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Springfield
1.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
5.5 km away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Springfield? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Springfield

Property: Hampton Inn Springfield
Address: 3185 South Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Springfield
#11 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,688 - ₹ 9,827
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The area around our Hampton Inn® hotel in Springfield has a special kind of affable, good-natured charm. But you can also have a seriously good time here. For instance, many of the best-known spots on Route 66 are here in Springfield. Like the Cozy Dog Drive In. They're still serving the famous "hot dog on a stick" the same way they did back in 1949. For preservation aloft, the Air Combat Museum shows (and sometimes flies) a dozen military aircraft. And children love Knight's Action Park & Caribbean Water Adventure-two parks at one location. It's just a mile from our hotel in Springfield.You absolutely can't leave our hotel in Springfield without visiting the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. The museum offers a fascinating and high-tech glimpse into the life and hardships of our nation's 16th president. You'll find many other Lincoln sites in this, the town he called home. So come for a visit to the Hampton Inn hotel in Springfield, a place of fun, history and good times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing