We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pet Friendly Policy a Win/Win”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Springfield
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly Policy a Win/Win”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I’ve stayed at this Candlewood three separate times all were weekends, and had different rooms on each occasion. I’ve never had a dirty, smelly, or unclean room. Upon arrival, the temperature is comfortable and the humidity level is low – which I can’t say for other places I’ve stayed at. On all 3 visits everything looked brand new, fresh, and clean! I LOVE the kitchenette and full sized fridge because I can bring quick breakfast items and save money and time while traveling. And, if I feel like splurging, an IHOP is within walking distance from the Hotel! We are thrilled that Candlewood is pet friendly because we have a dog who, at present, cannot be boarded due to self-destructive separation anxiety. It was such a convenience to be able to bring our dog with on this last trip. The "pet friendly" policy made our Labor day trip possible! Lastly, I’ve always been pleased and pleasantly surprised with every customer service encounter I’ve had. I truly believe that all the staff I’ve encountered are doing their best to serve their clientele. My only complaint, on our most recent trip, was that another guest did not use leashes on their 2 dogs – my suggestion would be a mandatory leash rule while on the premises for the general safety and convince of all guests.

Room Tip: Labor Day Weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Springfield, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your recent feedback concerning your recent stay with us, we appreciate the comments and your repeat business. All pets should be leashed within the common areas of the hotel and I will coach our team to ensure this policy is enforced in the future to provide a safe, comfortable and secure environment for both our guests and their companions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    29
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
36
6
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

It was a real nice facility. Staff were friendly and accomodating, and the facility looks brand new. We had a one bedroom and the space was arranged so it felt large. Love the combination table and desk in kitchen/living room area, and the large kitchen. Leather lazy boy and sofa make it really comfortable. There was even a little desk in the bedroom with a light and mirror so you could sit down to put on makeup, etc. No breakfast, but the food pantry was very reasonably priced (e.g., can of chili was $1) and there is an IHOP only a couple of blocks away. Applebees was only a walk across the parking lot, and Smokey Bones was across the street from that. A very comfortable location. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not choose the first floor room by the back entrance. The suite door rattles every time someone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_hopper60172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I can't begin to express how thankfull my wife & I are, that there are people out there like the
staff at the candlewood suiets in Springfield Illinois.
Last August 2011 my wife received a call from the nursing home her mom was in, letting us know that she was close to death. We have over the past few years began to stay at the candlewood, when we came down to visit her mom.
Before leaving our home on the south suburbs of Chicago. I phoned Janie Deheve the guest services manager and explained the circumstances. She booked us a room,and guarenteed us that we would be able to stay there for as long as we needed the room.A few days later my mother- in - law passed away. and two days after we had her funeral.
The whole time the staff was supportive and sympathetic of our situation.
Again thanks for all your concern and care. During our most trying of times.
Sincerly,
Gene & Cathy Gremley

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The hotel was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful.I thought it was a good deal for the price and it was our 30 yr anniversary. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
thanks

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firedup9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooke S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Springfield, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay for the special occasion. We hope to have you back the next time you are in the Springfield, IL area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Came to area to visit son and couldn't believe how much room there was! Big kitchen area which was perfect to prepare food for tailgating next day. Will be using again for sure! Very clean.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluehouse44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooke S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Springfield, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
I want to thank you for taking the time to fill out a response. We look forward to you coming back when you visit Springfield again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
8.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
1.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Springfield
0.1 km away
Residence Inn Springfield South
Residence Inn Springfield South
#11 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#8 of 38 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Springfield? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Springfield

Property: Candlewood Suites Springfield
Address: 2501 Sunrise Dr, Springfield, IL 62703-5773
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Springfield
#3 Family Hotel in Springfield
#8 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,904 - ₹ 8,629
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newest extended stay hotel in the Springfield, Illinois area. The Candlewood Suites is just minutes away from numerous Abraham Lincoln sites including the new Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum, Lincoln's Home, Lincoln's Tomb and New Salem State Park. Other points of interest a short drive away include the Illinois State Capitol, Abraham Lincoln Capitol City Airport, Illinois State Fairgrounds, the Dana-Thomas House and Knight's Action Park. We are also centrally located to several business and government offices, medical centers, restaurants and retail shops. Consider Us Home and experience our Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Enjoy high-speed Internet and full kitchens in spacious guest rooms for longer visits. Candlewood Suites provides free laundry facilities, unlimited access to a state-of-the-art business center, an exercise room and the Candlewood Cupboard convenience store for meals and snacks. Pets are welcome with a $100 non-refundable fee. Current shot documentation is required. A pet policy must be signed at check-in. Room cleaning is provided once every 7 days. Maximum number of people allowed per room (including children) is 2 in a room with 1 bed and 4 in a room with 2 beds. The front desk is open 24-hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Springfield Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing