We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pasfield House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pasfield House Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Springfield B&B and Inns
Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

We wanted to stay in Springfield to see the historic sites. Specifically looked for a bed and breakfast but most were really mom and pop places. I didn't want to stay in a room that looked like my mom's spare room! Fell in love with the pictures and history online for the Pasfield House. My husband was very nervous about a bed and breakfast since he had never stayed in one and he has nothing but good things to say!!
The room was beautiful and a decent size. We love the kitchenette and lovely bathroom! I was relieved that the breakfast was in our room to heat up at our leisure as I really didn't want to have breakfast with a bunch of strangers, plus I didn't want to get dressed!! We had a private breakfast, hot coffee, and didn't have to wash the dishes!!

This was very close to all the sites. We chose to drive but most could walk it. Parking everywhere was ample and cheap or free.
I would recommend this to anyone who wants to avoid a hotel. It is pricier than some other bed and breakfast places, but it is all new with a flat screen TV, private bath, computer access and beautiful architecture! I love the history of the house and the laid back ambiance of the establishment.
We are making plans to return with our children (larger suite) so they can see the Land of Lincoln too.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BabyCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    8
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
34
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

Our very comfortable suite consisted of sitting room, bathroom, and kitchen -- all beautifully furnished and equipped. Everything anyone could want for breakfast was supplied to the kitchen each day, and the Pasfield House 'egg strata' was superb. With the ease of coming and going as we wanted, we felt very much at home and very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
400 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

Very interesting old, renovated building. My wife and I traveled with my brother and his wife. Check-in was a little strange as the young lady checking us in was waiting for only us, apparently. However, after we returned from dinner out that night, the owner and his friend were there and we had a glass of wine with them and watched a video about the Pasfield. Very interesting and a nice experience.
The refrigerators in each room were stocked with items previously ordered via email so we essentially cooked our own breakfast and we met my brother and sister-in-law in the downstairs dining area for breakfast, bringing our food along. Food was just OK and coffee not good.
The bed and bedroom was comfortable but the shower above the whirlpool tub had only a trickle of water.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonnieOshkosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, ENGLAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Booked online, seemed OK. Arrived, long story about overstaying guests because of personal issues, so no room, but they happened to have space available 'across the road'. They had not rung us, but had a bottle of wine as a 'sweetener'.
Across the road was a house they rented out in 'political season' but which was now empty, so we were welcome to stay there. Something seemed 'wrong' but it was raining, HARD, and late so we agreed. On our way out for a meal a neighbour asked how we booked etc. Turns out that this 'overstay guest story' or similar is often used!
The place we were in still had evidenco of other guests and unmade beds etc in other rooms. Our room was OK, but NO hot water. We had been specially invited to join them in the main palce for breakfast. Went over there (having decided to say no, thanks and just leave) but the place was locked up and no one about. We left the key and a 'contribution' for the bed (nothing for the cold shower!!!) and left.
So, watch it, carefully, VERY carefully.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dail_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabot, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

The only thing we heard from our host as we climbed the stairs to our third floor suite was to ask if we had scratched the wood on the stairs.

The rooms had some nice furniture, but were not decorated in a pleasing manner. Nicer bed linens would have been appreciated.

Breakfast was in the refrigerator. The date shown on our "egg strata" dish covers showed they had been prepared the week before. The cereal which accoompanied it (granola) was terribly stale.

When we left the next morning, we could find no one.

We felt like very unwelcome guests in a private home.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cabotlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.6 km away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.2 km away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.2 km away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#13 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
7.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
5.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Springfield
Candlewood Suites Springfield
#7 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pasfield House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pasfield House Inn

Property: Pasfield House Inn
Address: 525 S Pasfield St, Springfield, IL 62704-1988
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing