We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort, charming staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, charming staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We were originally supposed to stay at another hotel, but since it was over-booked we switched to the Castello Boutique. How lucky for us!

This stylish resort is newly built, elegantly decorated, and very well maintained.
Everything was clean and tidy - absolutely spotless!
This is not a large hotel, but rather a more intimate place. Better suited for romantic couples, than for large families.

Breakfast is served buffet style. At dinner the main course is served a-la-carte while starters and deserts are buffet. The variety is good and anyone can find something to their liking.
The dining room has a beautiful view of the garden and the nearby church.

The staff is very kind and helpful.
As a matter of fact, I can't recall such a warm and friendly treatment, anywhere else.
We received assistance in renting a car, suited for our special needs, and tips for touring the island. On our last day, our flight home was scheduled at night, and were allowed to stay at our room post check-out time, no extra charge!

We had a lovely time!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    96
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
78
471
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niedernhausen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 1 week. The employees were allways very nice and helpful if you need anything. Can't say anything about the diners since we ate in the taverns every night, but the breakfast was allways good and lots of things to choose from, thanks to the restaurant manager Nikos who was allways concerned about our well-beeing. We'd especially like to mention the cocktails which were really awesome. The barkeeper Evangelo has a huge repertoire and telling him "surprise me with a fruit cocktail" allways results in a new and deicious treat. Rooms were clean, fresh towels every day, nice furniture (not a huge TV but that's not why we go on vacation).Great for couples, no activities for children. Beach about 5-10 minute walk, hotel offers shuttle service. The hotel is in a quiet fisherman's villages, lots of good taverns which aren't expensive and have great food, espacially the fish is recommended. Possibilites to rent cars, scooters and quads, we recommend to compare the prices. We definitely want to come back, there was no tension going on on Crete about the politics, people were allways nice, even to us germans. :-)
Greetings Anna & Bryan

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

As I work in the hospitality industry myself I am quite particular when selecting where to stay on holiday. Having seen that this hotel was number 1 on this site and having read some reviews, I decided it looked like the kind of place that was perfect for the relaxing holiday my boyfriend and I needed. And it was! The welcome was warm, and all staff throughout our stay were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. We had one with our own pool, which was fun, although the water temperature was a little colder than the main pool. The bed was huge and incredibly comfortable. Do bring something to protect you from the mosquitos though, otherwise you'll end up being eaten alive like I did.
There are plenty of sunbeds around the main pool, so it doesn't feel too crowded, and the pool itself is wonderful. The whole place has a relaxed atmosphere about it. We would have liked breakfast times to be a little later than 10am, but that's a minor thing if you can sleep on the sun loungers for the rest of the day. We visited the sister hotel, Castello Village, just across the road, for a Greek night and really enjoyed that. The town itself is very small and sleepy but all the restaurants we ate at provided friendly service and great food. On the last evening we walked to the Neromilos Restaurant, which is about 15-20 minutes walk away, and it was really worth it. Try their beef Stifado, it's out of this world!!
All in all we left the Castello Boutique Resort feeling more relaxed than we have done in a long time. A big thank you to all the staff, and I hope to be able to return the favour of excellent service if you ever come to London!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotSalsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We booked a restful escape at Castello Resort and Spa from the 4th May for a week. It was a beautiful hotel with extremely friendly and accommodating staff. It is a lovely intimate hotel, and that is what we loved about it. We didn’t want a large commercial hotel.

The room was modern, clean and fresh, with a lovely huge bathroom. And we just had a normal room. Even then, we had a lovely complimentary bottle of wine, water and some fruit on arrival.

The pool was small but cozy, but with plenty of sun beds at all times. And pool is just off the bar, which has a lovely ambiance. A very relaxing place to chill in the evenings. The food was good. Plenty of choice for breakfast, and always kept fresh and topped up. We tried the evening menu once on our last night, which was great food. Though, if we had the chance to do that again, we would have stocked up more on the starters, as the main course is very small (albeit very good).

The spa looked lovely, but as I was in my first trimester I couldn’t use it.

The hotel is on the out skirts of a lovely little fishing village. So you can have peace and tranquility at the hotel, and walk into the town for the taverna’s and few bars. Though even this is not as lively as some of the party towns. All depends on what you want from the holiday. It was perfect for our needs.

There was a stony beach about 10 mins walk away, but the main sandy beach was about a 25 min walk. Though to us this made a nice change to have a walk and get a change the scenery.

All I would say, is if you were going to spend more than a week here, hire a car or go on some excursions, as it is very quiet. And you still get the run down buildings in between the lovely ones.

We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the pool/church side have a better view and better balconies. We had one at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Very relaxing, service excellent. Food was not brilliant and being unable to eat anything wheat based my choices were extremely limited. Would come again but room only next time

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meridian35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissi
88.8 km away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
95.5 km away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
138.7 km away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
18.6 km away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
25.4 km away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: Papatheodorou, Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sissi
#1 Family Hotel in Sissi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
#1 Spa Hotel in Sissi
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,992 - ₹ 16,311
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Boutique Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish high-quality design is the hallmark of this deluxe boutique resort, situated in one of the most beautiful and sought-after locations in Crete, the traditional seaside village of Sissi. Recalling a bygone era of gracious living, Castello Boutique Resort & Spa offers the personalized service and amenities required by today's discriminating traveler. Since 2015 Castello Boutique Resort and Spa became adult only hotel and have entered the SLH family- Small Luxury Hotels of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Castello Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Boutique Hotel Sissi
Castello Boutique Resort And Spa
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa Sissi, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing