We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!! Perfect!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Thor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Garance en Provence
Ranked #9 of 14 Le Thor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 October 2009

One of the best places I have ever stayed!! Superb!!!
I really felt like home!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2008

After around a month of research, I finally decided that La Garance would make the best location to stay for the week we had in Provence in May of 2008. After getting slightly lost on the way there, every other moment we spent at the house that Chantal and Regis have beautifully restored was more than we could ask for.

The rooms were spacious, very clean and very private. As it is has a secluded location just far enough away from Avignon, the experience one gets from staying here is very Provencal. We decided to stay in for dinner one night and enjoyed a wonderful dinner that Chantal prepared using items from local markets. She is a fantastic chef, and Regis is always going out of his way to offer advice or arrange activities in the region of Provence. The location is very central to everything in Provence, no more than an hour away from anything worth seeing. We highly recommend the Cotes du Rhone wine loop for a day trip.

We look forward to returning one day!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tyman_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

My husband & I recently spent 3 nights at this wonderful bed & breakfast establisement in Provence. Regis & Chantel could not do enough to make this an unforgetable experience & made us feel a part of the family. The rooms are amazingly comfortable & spotlessly clean. Chantel is an amazing cook & the meals were homely & plentiful. Regis went out of his way to make us welcome & provide advice on various attractions in Provence & surrounding areas.
I certainly would not hesitate to return to La Garance when in Provence again.

Adele & Dino. Perth , Western Australia.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SweeterDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2008

I booked a stay in La Garance as I was attracted to the homepage which says "The scents of lavender, rosemary, and the songs of cicadas envelope you in this warm, sunny and peaceful retreat" However this is not true. The room is spacious (no TV) and clean.

Breakfast was somehow miserable as there are only 2 small rolls of bread for 4 guest to share on the 1st day, nothing else. On the 2nd and 3rd day, there are 3 small rolls which is hardly enough as that's all for breakfast. I stayed 3 days and only on the 2nd and 3rd day, crossiant was given and on 3rd day a cup of yoghurt. Milk was limited in a small was 2 slices. On the 2nd I realised that the butter I had on the first day was the left over by the guests who had breakfast earier than us. Thus you need to be the first to have breakfast so as not to miss anything.

2  Thank EebGnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2007

My Wife and I were here for our 2nd visit this fall.
Quite simply this converted farmhouse surpassed all our expectations. Owners Chantal and Regis make any visitor feel like family. The rooms are not just good they are amazing. Simple but elegant in a way that makes you glad to be there.
The food is wonderful, Chantal is a cook who clearly loves food and it shows in everthing she prepares. I cannot imagine an better place to stay in the area.


Frank Abatemarco

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FrankCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Thor hotels
6.8 km away
Le Domaine des Carmes & Spa
5.5 km away
Hotel Saint Louis
Hotel Saint Louis
#1 of 1 in Le Thor
110 reviews
3.0 km away
La Bastide Rose
La Bastide Rose
#5 of 14 in Le Thor
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Le Mas de Miejour
Le Mas de Miejour
#7 of 14 in Le Thor
54 reviews
6.0 km away
Couleur Lavande
Couleur Lavande
#2 of 14 in Le Thor
205 reviews
1.1 km away
Cote Provence
Cote Provence
#3 of 14 in Le Thor
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Garance en Provence? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garance en Provence

Address: 4010 rte de St Saturnin les Avignon, 84250 Le Thor, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Le Thor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Le Thor
Price Range: ₹ 7,271 - ₹ 8,419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Provence, near the foothills of the Luberon, the farmhouse dates from the 17th century, when it was originally used as a postal relay station. It is situated between the cities of Avignon, the City of the Popes, and Isle de la Sorgue, famous for it's antique dealers. The farmhouse faces the crumbling Castle of Thouzon, perched on a hill. The house has been lovingly restored, using original materials and techniques, but also provides all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Garance En Provence Le Thor, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing