We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“extremely basic hotel so overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“extremely basic hotel so overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I would probably give this hotel a 2.5 if possible. We stayed here on the way in and out of Anchorage. We stayed in two rooms and were in three (one of the room smelled like smoke so we asked for another room). All three rooms had different degrees of smell. Our last room was very dirty. Bathroom was dusty. There were several hairs on the floor and bathtub that did not belong to us. The rating for breakfast was very bad to bad. You are better off going to the McDonalds across the street. The internet in the last room that we stayed in was a little far from the lobby so it didn't even work. They did not have any replacement toothbrush even though there was a tag in the room that says they have replacement. The first room we stayed in was noisy. We have stayed at Holiday Inn Express in Europe many times and we expected better. The very high price of this hotel does not help the situation. I understand that hotels are very expensive in Anchorage but we have traveled to lots of places in America and Europe and the value of this hotel is very low. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor appears to be nicer although the internet doesn't work as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looking4hoteldeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    150
    48
    16
    15
See reviews for
105
98
31
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Everything was great. Clean, free breakfast with lots of variety, staff was polite and helpful. The lounge area was very relaxing and the rooms are nicely decorated.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Overall, this hotel was pretty good. Mostly clean. The breakfast had a good variety. We arrived late and the shuttle picked us up from the airport in about 10 minutes. You do need to be aware that they ONLY have an airport shuttle--they will not send you downtown or to any other locations.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utexonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

This is a pretty old hotel. Furniture is old and dusty. I got a lower level room. It was pretty dark. Its window opens to an alley basement. The breakfast is average nothing to speak of.

Room Tip: If you have to stay, choose a room that is on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yatrik10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Good: Clean well appointed rooms. Nice selection of breakfast items. Housekeeping staff.

Bad: Breakfast staff set with friends and let food and tables go. Rooms noisy, could hear conversations in rooms above. Needed lift to car rental place, Many hotels have courtesy vans for short trips. Staff said no service available and misled us about distance.

Ugly: Had to call twice and let ring 24 times, on third call got answering machine and then a human. Not good at 2 AM. Failed to receive wake-up call which caused appointment problems the next day.

The hotel has potential and I can see why some visitors have good experiences. It clearly has management and staffing problems. Too many good options to choose from to stay with a hotel that you can not trust.

Room Tip: Consider a 2nd floor room. Don't rely on staff to do what they tell you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
0.6 km away
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
#17 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.8 km away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#34 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
0.2 km away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#46 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 km away
Puffin Inn
Puffin Inn
#36 of 73 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Property: Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Address: 4411 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#20 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,742 - ₹ 19,134
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express-Anchorage Airport is conveniently located just 1 mile from the Ted Steven s Anchorage International Airport and 10 minutes from Anchorage s historic downtown district, with all the major shopping and fine dinning restaurants. Take a ride on the Alaska Railroad, see the starting line of the world famous Iditarod trail, kids can play at the Imaginarium or H2Oais Indoor Water Park. Attend events at the Egan Center, the Sullivan Arena,the new Dena ina Civic & Convention Center or Anchorage s Performing Arts Center. Alyeska Ski Resort and the town of Girdwood are a short drive south on the New Seward Highway, along the Turnagain Arm where you can look out for wildlife such as moose, Dall sheep and the bald eagle. But if you don t see them on the road, you can visit the Alaska Zoo or Big Game Alaska Wildlife Center. Surrounding companies include, BP Exploration, Conoco Phillips, North Slope Telecom, Inc., and Arctic Slope Regional Corp. The Holiday Inn Express-Anchorage Airport has 129 smartly appointed guestrooms, with microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms, Free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, 24 hour airport shuttle, and our Express Start Breakfast Bar featuring our world famous cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing