We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pros and cons”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The hotel was clean, the breakfast was fine and the shuttle was very good. The negative was an employee who clearly did not know what she was doing. Walked up to the desk and she handed me keys --- she had no idea who I was or if I had a reservation --- just handed me key cards as if I had registered. Then I called downstairs to find out if a nearby restaurant was open at 3:00 and she (the same clerk) insisted it was even though I was doubtful so questioned her answer. Had very little time to spare but walked over to the restaurant and found that it did not open until 5:00.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train station.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiTowntoAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the facility but I am astonished to hear about your interactions with the front desk staff. We at Comfort Inn strive to have the best customer service possible and actions like these have no room in our hotel. I assure you I will get to the root of this problem immediately and want to thank you so much for bringing this problem to the hotel's attention. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    227
    93
    42
    27
See reviews for
160
220
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel 3 separate times during our rail trip: the first night, then when we went to Seward and back, and then for 2 nights at the end. We loved the breakfast and shuttle service. We didn't realize what a money and time saver those were until we stayed at other hotels on our trip. I had read that this hotel wasn't nice, and maybe before renovation it wasn't. But, we thought it was wonderful. The rooms were clean and the staff helpful. We loved the warm cookies and milk they sat out in the evening. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I am pretty picky about where I stay.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KayD628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on tripadvisor! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and although we have not quite gone under renovations yet, we will be going under a full renovation this winter! We hope you can stay with us again and enjoy the further improvements. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here 2 nights before our vacation and 1 night on our return.
Upon our arrival in Anchorage we were met at the airport by the hotel shuttle. Cami (driver) was so friendly and helpful, she gave us a highlight tour on our way to the hotel. The shuttle was available whenever we needed it, plus there is a free shuttle to downtown from the Ulu Factory which is located next to the hotel.
We were too early to check-in so our luggage was put into a secure storage area allowing us to go explore. The staff at the front desk were so friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and comfortable. The rooms we had was located on the Ship Creek side of the hotel, allowing us to watch the people fishing.
The train noise was not an issue for us. Being so close to the train depot is a plus for those traveling on the train.
The breakfast was very nice too. Waffles, eggs, sausage, cereals, yogurt and juices and coffee.
The breakfast room was always clean and well stocked
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. They do have a swimming pool, which we did not use but looked to be very clean.
.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Ship Creek side allow you to watch the fishermen on the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BearwatcherWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments on tripadvisor! We really appriciate the positive feedback as we at Comfort Inn strive to deliver the best service to our guests as possible. We hope to see you back in Alaska and at the Comfort Inn in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This was our first stop on our first visit to Alaska. The staff was phenomenal, especially Katherine, the manager! They were patient and helpful, and genuinely welcoming, and even made cookies for the lobby. We were there the first week of tourist season in 2012, so some people were still in training but everything ran smoothly. The rooms are comfortable and breakfast was terrific! We liked being close to the train station, and downtown was an easy walk. This is a wonderful place to stay -- and the bear in the lobby is a nice touch and a great photo op!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor!!!! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see your pictures in front of our bear! Hopefully you will visit Alaska again in the future as we would love to welcome you back to our hotel. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This hotel is a decent budget hotel, clean, comfortable. Good complimentary breakfast and shuttle service to the ariport and train station and key spots in town. It is "convenient to" but not "in" downtown, its a long walk or short shuttle ride to downtown Anchorage

Room Tip: Choose "creek side" away from railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbaav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Thank you for your compliments on Tripadvisor! The staff here at Comfort Inn strives to give our guests the best experience possible and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#28 of 73 in Anchorage
381 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#30 of 73 in Anchorage
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#24 of 73 in Anchorage
459 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#18 of 73 in Anchorage
1,537 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ship Creek? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ship Creek

Property: Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Address: 111 Ship Creek Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,096 - ₹ 18,546
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ship Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Ship Creek, an Anchorage hotel near Alaska RailroadIdeally located on the banks of Ship Creek, the Comfort Inn® Ship Creek is within walking distance of lovely downtown Anchorage. Attractions that are just minutes away include the Alaska Railroad and the Alaska Center for the Performing Arts.The hotel sits along the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail, which offers spectacular views of Cook Inlet. The Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport is only seven miles away. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, the Alaska Railroad and select locations within the downtown area. The shuttle runs 24-hours in the summer and limited hours in the winter.The Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center, the Alaska Museum of Natural History and the Egan Center civic and convention facility are also close by. The downtown area is full of wonderful shopping spots, numerous restaurants and local brewpubs.If the purpose of the trip is to fish, visitors can step outside the hotel's back door to fish for salmon. Guests are welcome to use the free fishing gear supplied by the hotel.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious items, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Ship Creek the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!There is 24-hour coffee service available in the dining area as well. Be sure to pick up a free weekday newspaper to read while eating breakfast.This Anchorage, AK hotel also features an indoor heated pool and an exercise room.Business travelers are welcome to take advantage of the on-site business center and access to copy and fax machines.All standard guest rooms come with many amenities, including in-room movies, games and coffee makers. Irons and ironing boards are available if needed. Some rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs, kitchenettes and wet bars.This Anchorage, AK hotel welcomes pets; nightly charges may apply. Laundry facilities and a newsstand are located on the premises for guest convenience. Valet cleaning service is also provided.The beautiful Comfort Inn Ship Creek is the perfect place to stay for both business and leisure travelers. We promise to help make your visit to Anchorage memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Ship Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ship Creek Hotel Anchorage
Comfort Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing