We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great way to start cruise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Ship Creek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great way to start cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

the hotel is on a salmon fishing creek, next to the train to port, next to the wild ride sled dog rodeo and the lobby has great lodge decor. Cookies and milk too! the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are so glad that our hotel was able to accomodate you and your family on your vacation. We have plenty of upgrades in store for 2012 and hope that you can come back and enjoy them with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    213
    81
    32
    24
See reviews for
142
197
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

In the entrance there is a big bear in a glass case which gives the real feel of being in Alaska. If you are a light sleeper don't stay here because its next to the railstation.
I stopped after a 1200Km bike ride so had no trouble sleeping. I shared a room , a king bed each, and we could take the bikes in the room.
Everything was as expected, coffee anytime for free, and breakfast the usual.
Very close to the town so easy to walk in and also next door to the Anchorage visitor centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, because the railway is at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandonneurWilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We really enjoy having your bike race end at our hotel and hope that we can have it conclude here again next year. You racers are always amazing guests and we really enjoy having you at our property. Thank you again for your feedback as any type of comments can only help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

I like the location close to trains and right on a bike path with Ship's Creek racing along just outside.
The rooms were as promised and were in reasonable condition (except for the one nearest the front desk that had clearly been smoked in - in a smoke free property)
Breakfast - not stellar but adequate appeared as promised. the breakfast room was always very hot and smelled of past meals.
The airport pick-up was as promised, prompt and pleasant.
Worst aspect of this was the front desk staff. They just couldn't process people into rooms and showed zero energy to make anything happen. There was a pack of "waddlers" on the desk - if you asked any question they waddled away to somewhere else (back of the desk area) to consult with others (?) or possibly just to look like they were doing something and then waddled back about the pace of dying duck usually to tell you they didn't know. We had booked as a block of about 30 rooms, they'd been paid, they'd been sent our manifest (and every other Alaskan property had our keys and room details ready simply to hand out) they'd been asked to have the room keys / room assignments done but they couldn't cope. They particularly struggled with reservations for anyone who had booked additional nights prior to or after our tour. This property needs to hire better or do better training or something. I wouldn't choose it again.

Room Tip: You can't avoid train noise here (I happen to like trains) but it is a bit quieter on the Ship...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Speederchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I was deeply disturbed after reading your comments about our front desk staff and how they handled your group. After reading this and comments from others I did make the decision to make drastic changes at the front desk. How your group was handled is never how a front desk should treat their guests. We have revamped every aspect of the front desk from brand new staff to a completely differnt way of training new employees and retraining old. Again I am deeply sorry and embarrassed by how your guests were treated. Thank you again so much for your feedback as any comment can only help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We needed a hotel close to the railroad, and this is certainly the best choice as you don't need a shuttle -- it is easy block or so walk to the railroad depot from the hotel (shorter distance than when we slogged our luggage in the airport to the check in desk!!!! - much shorter). We booked this because it had shuttle service to the railroad, and didn't realize that it was so close and pretty much a level walk, whereas many of the other close hotels have an impossibly huge hill to traverse up or down and I wouldn't have done that. It was also right on Ship Creek which was a nice walk in the evening. The hotel itself needs some work - it hasn't been kept up well, but it was adequate. We had a room with two beds, and the one we slept in was horrible, but we didn't figure it out until morning that the other bed was decent. It can be noisy with the train, but that didn't bother us. Breakfast was included and that was adequate and with the cost of food in Anchorage it was a bonus even at adequate. I wouldn't have given the hotel three stars except that the location is hard to beat. We stayed two different nights as we arrived and departed on the train. There is a free shuttle to the airport also which saved us about $40.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzzbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I am so glad to hear that the location of our property worked out so well for you on your trip. I completely agree that the hotel did need some work and it is because of your comment and comments of others that we have begun to upgrade and renovate the hotel. An entire renovation project will be under way during the 2012 year. Again thank you for your feedback as any comments, good or bad can always help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Hotel itself was satisfactory, but was awoke very night with loud train horns starting very early in the morning.
Rooms were hot & stuffy. Aircon noisy.
Ok for insomaniacs but not me.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I am so sorry that your stay with us was not to your liking. We do advertise that we are next to the rail depot but I understand it not being for everyone. I apologize that you had difficulty with your air conditioning. We have puchaced new A/C units for almost all room because of feedback like yours and we greatly appriciate the time that you took to comment on our hotel. Good or bad, all feedback is appriciated as it can only help us improve. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#30 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#14 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#27 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ship Creek? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ship Creek

Property: Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Address: 111 Ship Creek Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,690 - ₹ 17,723
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ship Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Ship Creek, an Anchorage hotel near Alaska RailroadIdeally located on the banks of Ship Creek, the Comfort Inn® Ship Creek is within walking distance of lovely downtown Anchorage. Attractions that are just minutes away include the Alaska Railroad and the Alaska Center for the Performing Arts.The hotel sits along the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail, which offers spectacular views of Cook Inlet. The Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport is only seven miles away. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, the Alaska Railroad and select locations within the downtown area. The shuttle runs 24-hours in the summer and limited hours in the winter.The Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center, the Alaska Museum of Natural History and the Egan Center civic and convention facility are also close by. The downtown area is full of wonderful shopping spots, numerous restaurants and local brewpubs.If the purpose of the trip is to fish, visitors can step outside the hotel's back door to fish for salmon. Guests are welcome to use the free fishing gear supplied by the hotel.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious items, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Ship Creek the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!There is 24-hour coffee service available in the dining area as well. Be sure to pick up a free weekday newspaper to read while eating breakfast.This Anchorage, AK hotel also features an indoor heated pool and an exercise room.Business travelers are welcome to take advantage of the on-site business center and access to copy and fax machines.All standard guest rooms come with many amenities, including in-room movies, games and coffee makers. Irons and ironing boards are available if needed. Some rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs, kitchenettes and wet bars.This Anchorage, AK hotel welcomes pets; nightly charges may apply. Laundry facilities and a newsstand are located on the premises for guest convenience. Valet cleaning service is also provided.The beautiful Comfort Inn Ship Creek is the perfect place to stay for both business and leisure travelers. We promise to help make your visit to Anchorage memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Ship Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ship Creek Hotel Anchorage
Comfort Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing