We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here if you dont like train horns going in the night.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Ranked #30 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Hotel itself was satisfactory, but was awoke very night with loud train horns starting very early in the morning.
Rooms were hot & stuffy. Aircon noisy.
Ok for insomaniacs but not me.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I am so sorry that your stay with us was not to your liking. We do advertise that we are next to the rail depot but I understand it not being for everyone. I apologize that you had difficulty with your air conditioning. We have puchaced new A/C units for almost all room because of feedback like yours and we greatly appriciate the time that you took to comment on our hotel. Good or bad, all feedback is appriciated as it can only help us improve. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (570)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Ship Creek
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 473 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

My elderly parents and I stayed in this hotel for one night in between the Fairbanks-Anchorage and Anchorage-Seward trips on the Alaska Railroad. Its greatest advantage is its proximity to the Alaska Railroad. While a shuttle is available to meet railroad passengers--a service that was very timely and convenient in our case--the property is also so close to the train depot that many people could walk very easily. Whereas walking to many other downtown Anchorage hotels from the train station would involve chugging up a long staircase, the walk to this one is short and flat.

The hotel itself is nothing to rave about, though the front desk staff were very friendly and professional, and hot cookies were available upon our arrival. The self-serve breakfast area was convenient as well. The rooms were spacious, but showed considerable wear. I'd recommend a different hotel for those that plan to spend time in Anchorage--the same staircase that I saw train passengers climbing would also await anybody seeking to explore downtown--but for people that just want a convenient stop in between trains, this is a very convenient choice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKTravelerFAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor as we love to hear guest feedback. We are so happy that you found our property accomodating for your stay in between your railroad trips and our front desk staff was more than happy to serve you. I am sorry to hear that there was considerable wear to your room and because of your comment and many others like it, we will begin renovations to the hotel and have planned a considerable upgrade to be done throughout 2012. For future reference, during the summer season there is shuttle service to and from the heart of downtown so no one has to walk up the long staircase (if I were here on vacation I would not want to climb up it either). Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Ship Creek Comfort Inn is an older property, the rooms were okay, but nothing to write home about. This was not the best place we stayed on this trip, but also not the worst. I would probably choose another place to stay if I were to do it again. The railroad booked this location, but would have booked something more fitting had we known the quality of the property.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luvmyredmiata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We really appriciate the feedback and anything you say can only help us improve. The Comfort Inn on Ship Creek is scheduled for a remodel this winter and hopefully the remodel and our wonderful staff will bring you back to our property again. Again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hotel is a ways from downtown but a 10-15 minute walk. There is the free trolley that picks up down the street by the Ulu Factory that will take you downtown. The hotel is very accomodating in shuttling you to/from the airport and train station. They even picked me up at the airport after I had already checked in and dropped off a rental car for a day. Nice location by the Ship Creek and quiet except for the train whistles. Room was OK. Staff were friendly and accomodating. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briangg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for your great comments about the Comfort Inn on Ship Creek! We greatly appriciate your feedback and anything you tell us is only going to help us improve our performance. Thank you for being our guests and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This Comfort Inn was a decent stay for the night before a cruise. The rooms were average and okay, the nearby train station was not a noise problem for us. It was clean and we were able to walk downtown for dinner and souvenir shopping.
The shuttle was not available in the evening, but it was there as scheduled in the morning for our transport to the train station.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. All feedback whether good or bad can only help us improve the operation of the hotel. Thank you and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#27 of 74 in Anchorage
392 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 74 in Anchorage
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 74 in Anchorage
472 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ship Creek? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ship Creek

Address: 111 Ship Creek Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: ₹ 5,327 - ₹ 15,007 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ship Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Ship Creek, an Anchorage hotel near Alaska RailroadIdeally located on the banks of Ship Creek, the Comfort Inn® Ship Creek is within walking distance of lovely downtown Anchorage. Attractions that are just minutes away include the Alaska Railroad and the Alaska Center for the Performing Arts.The hotel sits along the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail, which offers spectacular views of Cook Inlet. The Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport is only seven miles away. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, the Alaska Railroad and select locations within the downtown area. The shuttle runs 24-hours in the summer and limited hours in the winter.The Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center, the Alaska Museum of Natural History and the Egan Center civic and convention facility are also close by. The downtown area is full of wonderful shopping spots, numerous restaurants and local brewpubs.If the purpose of the trip is to fish, visitors can step outside the hotel's back door to fish for salmon. Guests are welcome to use the free fishing gear supplied by the hotel.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious items, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Ship Creek the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!There is 24-hour coffee service available in the dining area as well. Be sure to pick up a free weekday newspaper to read while eating breakfast.This Anchorage, AK hotel also features an indoor heated pool and an exercise room.Business travelers are welcome to take advantage of the on-site business center and access to copy and fax machines.All standard guest rooms come with many amenities, including in-room movies, games and coffee makers. Irons and ironing boards are available if needed. Some rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs, kitchenettes and wet bars.This Anchorage, AK hotel welcomes pets; nightly charges may apply. Laundry facilities and a newsstand are located on the premises for guest convenience. Valet cleaning service is also provided.The beautiful Comfort Inn Ship Creek is the perfect place to stay for both business and leisure travelers. We promise to help make your visit to Anchorage memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Inn Ship Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ship Creek Hotel Anchorage
Comfort Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing