We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The greatest B&B experience we ever had!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 128 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“The greatest B&B experience we ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

When we booked our trip, the inkeeper (Carol Ross) told us about the Alaska State Fair in nearby Palmer, something we would have missed on our own, and it was a great experience! Throughout our stay, her knowledge and information helpd make this trip very special!

The B&B is beautiful, with a large garden (where she grows some of the food that she serves), well appointed rooms with antiques galore and a very hospitable atmosphere!

The breakfasts are wonderful. Carol's sourdough waffles are superb and she tells the story of where she got her starters, which is fun and interseting. Her salmon quiche is to die for! All of the food was great!

In about 18 years of staying at B&B's in the U.S. and U.K., this is the best experience we have had. Thanks to Carol and her staff for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarge005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    21
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

Traveling with spouse, mother and aunt. Found this to be an adequate stop over for one night. Did not appreciate having to remove shoes before entering house... it
is not like the carpet is new or even light colored. Rooms are almost museum like with lots of bric/brac. Seemed cluttered to me but I understand that some may like it. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious - sour dough waffles. Could tell that the owner used to be a teacher... a tad bit authoritative. The garden is amazing. All in all fine for a one night stop over and certainly less expensive than many hotels.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

Stayed 3 nights at big bear bb in June 09. Carol is a wonderful hostess with a wealth of knowledge of the local area and answered was an excellent source of information. She prepares great homemade breakfasts with all kinds of fresh berry topping. She is a great cook! She even got up early to fix us a boxed breakfast since we had an early flight. The room was very clean. The only negative was the private bathroom and shower are kind of cramped and are located behind foldaway doors. All in all a great value!
.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naturedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

We spent 2 nights in the Denali room. It was conveniently located on the first floor right off the dining room. There was a comfortable queen bed and a huge sitting area with sofa, chair and television. There was plenty of space to put our suitcases and our other stuff. The bathroom had a large Jacuzzi tub and a separate shower. The toilet and sink were in a separate area that could be closed off from the bathroom. This space was a little tight – you may have problems if you are a very large person. We had a view of the beautiful backyard garden from the sitting area. The bed area had a view of the side garden. There was a small fountain outside the window which provided pleasant background sounds to lull you to sleep.

As other reviewers mentioned, the breakfasts were outstanding. Carol requested us to schedule our breakfast time with her the night before. Breakfasts were served in the dining room, and we dined with the other guests. It was very relaxed and enjoyable. It was especially fascinating to hear about Carol’s family life in Alaska.

One point that I did not see mentioned in any other reviews is that guests are asked to remove their shoes upon entry into the house. Just be aware of this fact in case you want to bring slippers or socks. Everyone’s shoes are lined up in the entry hall, and there are 2 chairs so you can sit down to put your shoes on. This can be a small hassle if you are in and out frequently, as in loading & unloading luggage, but the solution is to stage everything in the entry hall and then you only have to deal with your shoes once. There is ample parking right outside the house.

Carol provided great suggestions for restaurants and sight seeing. There is a Laundromat conveniently located a few blocks away. It was clean and safe. The house is convenient to the highway, but far enough away so that you don’t hear highway sounds.

If you are not a B&B traveler (but rather prefer the hotel/motel experience where you dash in and out anonymously), then this may not be your cup of tea. But if you enjoy the B&B experience, then I highly recommend the Big Bear B&B.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happywanderer856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

Excellent B&B in Anchorage. Carol and family are the most hospitable hosts, with superb breakfasts provided by Carol and we have adopted Carol's recipe for coffee. The immediate area though not the best presented no problems. The Big Bear with it's garden is an oasis after a day's sightseeing.
The second floor provides good accommodation for guests with comfortable bedrooms and a living room with good facilities.
When we next go to Anchorage we will return to Big Bear.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
4.6 km away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
4.3 km away
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#33 of 128 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
3.3 km away
Arctic Fox Inn
Arctic Fox Inn
#4 of 128 in Anchorage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Ingra House
Ingra House
#67 of 128 in Anchorage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
11.9 km away
A Lakeside Bed and Breakfast
A Lakeside Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 128 in Anchorage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
4.1 km away
Fireweed Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

Property: Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3401 Richmond Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-1013
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing