We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Sarver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed here our 1st and last night, so Carol lent us a cooler for our trip. Stayed in the Grizzly Room, wonderful King bed, odd little bathroom. (once was a cupboard) Excellent breakfast both times, enjoyed talking to the other guests who were traveling from Australia. Very clean, separate large sitting areas also, beautiful gardens.

Room Tip: You do have to go some steps for the second floor (I believe 2 sets of 5 steps)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursedeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    21
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

On our three-week tour of Alaska and the Yukon this was the most amazing stay. Carol Ross has her house decorated as a living museum and it is a special experience to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, IL
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

The varied breakfasts that we enjoyed at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast were the best we experienced in Alaska. She was also very helpful in providing coupons for attractions and restaurants in Anchorage.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
426 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed 4 nights and loved our room although the en suite was very small. Carol went to so much trouble with the breakfasts but every morning was like an education in everything Alaskan. She is very knowledgeable and a lovely person. We did find it a bit too much though every morning to have a lesson with our breakfast. Every where is lovely and clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Carol is a concerned and welcoming hostess, and is very knowledgable and proud of Alaska. She specialises in providing extraordinary breakfasts: it's not the place for cornflakes and toast. The guest areas are plentifully furnished with antiques and objets d'art. It'd be good to have time to read all the books and watch all the videos, but no-one has holidays that long. It's only a five minute drive to Downtown Anchorage and maybe ten minutes to the airport. We'd certainly hope to go back if we ever return to Alaska.

Room Tip: Try the Denali Suite - it's the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaygeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
4.6 km away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
3.3 km away
Arctic Fox Inn
Arctic Fox Inn
#4 of 127 in Anchorage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.8 km away
Ingra House
Ingra House
#66 of 127 in Anchorage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast
4.1 km away
Fireweed Manor Bed and Breakfast
5.2 km away
Maria's Creekside B&B
Maria's Creekside B&B
#18 of 127 in Anchorage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

Property: Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3401 Richmond Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-1013
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing