We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$ 322
US$ 301
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 275
US$ 228
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 270
US$ 209
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 244
US$ 239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 252
US$ 236
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 223
US$ 212
Dimond Center
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Grand Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$ 230
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
35
21
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
21
9
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2011

On our three-week tour of Alaska and the Yukon this was the most amazing stay. Carol Ross has her house decorated as a living museum and it is a special experience to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The varied breakfasts that we enjoyed at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast were the best we experienced in Alaska. She was also very helpful in providing coupons for attractions and restaurants in Anchorage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed 4 nights and loved our room although the en suite was very small. Carol went to so much trouble with the breakfasts but every morning was like an education in everything Alaskan. She is very knowledgeable and a lovely person. We did find it a bit too much though every morning to have a lesson with our breakfast. Every where is lovely and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Carol is a concerned and welcoming hostess, and is very knowledgable and proud of Alaska. She specialises in providing extraordinary breakfasts: it's not the place for cornflakes and toast. The guest areas are plentifully furnished with antiques and objets d'art. It'd be good to have time to read all the books and watch all the videos, but no-one has holidays that long. It's only a five minute drive to Downtown Anchorage and maybe ten minutes to the airport. We'd certainly hope to go back if we ever return to Alaska.

Room Tip: Try the Denali Suite - it's the best.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaygeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I stayed one night at Big Bear and found the owner (Carol Ross) to be very friendly, helpful and an excellent cook and the accommodations to be commendable. Carol made me feel welcome and served an excellent breakfast (waffles with several choices of berry toppings fresh from her garden, reindeer sausages, potatoes, etc). There's free wifi and the room was comfortable. The bathroom in the room I stayed in was small (built into a closet), but it was fine for one night. The only downside is the distance from downtown. But if you have a car it's not more than a 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews