We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean. Recommend it.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 128 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Dublin, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean. Recommend it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

This is a very nice B&B. We stayed in the Denali room. It is extremely clean. Removal of shoes before entering helps to keep the place clean so I thought it was worth the effort. The garden in back was sweet. The breakfast was truly delicious. There are a lot of knickknacks so I wouldn't recommend small children. Also, a lot of furs which animal rights activists may find offensive. The owners are friendly and helpful. My only disappointment was that the Internet was not working, which reflects in my value score. I would definitely recommend staying here, especially because of the cleanliness and knowledgeable hosts.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank everafterall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    21
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, UK.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Carol made us very welcome and was a great help with maps etc. The breakfast was excellant - lots of choice and interesting.

The rooms were nice but I was surprised to find that the en suite was built into the closet so you had no privacy and no room to move. I think it was about 30 inches square, you had to beware when stepping from the shower into the bedroom that you did not knock yourself on the bed. It is a long way from Downtown and you would need a car.

It had hot drinks available 24 hours and free WiFi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caity2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Carol (Ross) owner has B&B service down to a science. My daughter and I are here for our second visit and could not be more pleased. You will not find a cleaner establishment anywhere nor a better breakfast.. Once again Carol outdid herself with quiche's, hash browns, reindeer sausage, hot muffins and a delicious fruit compote. Not only is she an accomplished chef but a MAster Gardner as well so don't miss her beautiful gardens and fish pond. We stayed in the room with 2 comfortable twin beds and actually a 3 piece bath...one room with commode and sink, another with a large sink and vanity mirror and the third with a tub/shower and commode. Ample towels, shampoo, cute little soaps of bear paws, and lotions. There is also a nice lounge area with stocked refrig, coffee, teas, hot chocolate, brochures, etc. The only drawback is: we were a little concerned about the neighborhood our first visit but should not have been worried, there were a couple of neighbors dogs who decided to have a fight, When we arrived we were a little daunted b the climb up to the 2nd floor as we had a total of 6 pieces of luggage...coming from Florida, to Dallas to Alaska our clothes were varied. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and visit with Carol as much as possible.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gringo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

When we booked our trip, the inkeeper (Carol Ross) told us about the Alaska State Fair in nearby Palmer, something we would have missed on our own, and it was a great experience! Throughout our stay, her knowledge and information helpd make this trip very special!

The B&B is beautiful, with a large garden (where she grows some of the food that she serves), well appointed rooms with antiques galore and a very hospitable atmosphere!

The breakfasts are wonderful. Carol's sourdough waffles are superb and she tells the story of where she got her starters, which is fun and interseting. Her salmon quiche is to die for! All of the food was great!

In about 18 years of staying at B&B's in the U.S. and U.K., this is the best experience we have had. Thanks to Carol and her staff for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarge005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

Traveling with spouse, mother and aunt. Found this to be an adequate stop over for one night. Did not appreciate having to remove shoes before entering house... it
is not like the carpet is new or even light colored. Rooms are almost museum like with lots of bric/brac. Seemed cluttered to me but I understand that some may like it. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious - sour dough waffles. Could tell that the owner used to be a teacher... a tad bit authoritative. The garden is amazing. All in all fine for a one night stop over and certainly less expensive than many hotels.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
3.4 km away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
4.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
3.6 km away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#17 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
4.7 km away
Copper Whale Inn
Copper Whale Inn
#9 of 128 in Anchorage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.9 km away
Creekwood Inn
Creekwood Inn
#26 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

Property: Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3401 Richmond Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing