We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beds, ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Ranked #60 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The staff was incredibly friendly and the hotel was very clean. I was supposed to pay for parking, but because there were a lot of others parking, I never got charged. I was exhausted from my trip and fell into the bed, and boy was I pleasantly surprised! I didn't want to get out of the bed either of the next mornings. I had a queen suite and it was wonderful. If/when I get back to Anchorage I'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Anchorage Downtown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

Needed an inexpensive, convenient place to stay before catching an early morning flight. My husband & I checked-in, but didn't go to the room, because it was getting late and wanted to get to dinner. We return about 10pm to discover our room had 2 twins & not the queen I had reserved. A call to the front desk only got me an apology. Tired and not wanting to deal with it that night, we put the twins together and made a King! In the morning the owner was there when I went to check-out and graciously not only apologized, but inquired as to if we lived locally and gave me a credit for a future stay. I'm sure if we were from out-of-state, he would have reduced or refunded our current stay. The place was quiet, comfortable and convenient for us. We were able to park on the street in front of the hotel for free. Parking meter fees are from 9am to 6pm. There is limited parking behind the hotel & a fee parking lot less than 1/2 block from the front door ($5 for the day). The hotel is 3 stories & there isn't an elevator, and the office is 1/2 story down. If you are looking for luxury, this isn't it, but if you are looking for a place for a short stay, that is close to downtown, and a place to bunk while you are seeing the sights in and around Anchorage, at a reasonable price, I would recommend the Anchorage Downtown Hotel.

Room Tip: 1st floor is down 1/2 flight of stairs, not ground level. I did not have the breakfast, so can'...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorningStarAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Great price for a double bed room. Free shuttle service to the airport and train depot. Congenital desk clerks! Horrible breakfast! Free Wifi. Not a great location to the downtown centre if your primary mode of transportation is walking. Close proximity to the natural food market.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JToler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The room was cleaner than most hotel rooms. The guests staying there were regular working people--not any street people. We had to sign something saying we would not be consuming alcohol or bringing any pets into the rooms. We had to pay an addtional $7 for parking. The small breakfast consisted of muffins, toast, muffins, donuts, coffee and maybe a juice. The rooms are small, the walls are thin. I could hear someone on their romantic get away. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I was in Anchorage for a medical meeting and had last minute issues with a hotel I was staying at, so I had to look for another. Immediately found Anchorage Downtown Hotel and was startled at the ease of finding a room. It was SO MUCH BETTER than the big chain hotels. It was home out of home. Decoration like grandmas house, people were very nice. I even got a chance of leaving my luggage stored after checkout since the flight was leaving so late. There's a shuttle that takes you to the airport, but since I was injured on a foot, they had no problem of taking me for free to a convenince store near by. You dont find that in big chain hotels. Thank you all at Anchorage Downtown Hotel... will be my first choice next time I visit Anchorage.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy-marieandree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
1.3 km away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
0.1 km away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 74 in Anchorage
451 reviews
0.4 km away
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#46 of 74 in Anchorage
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown
0.8 km away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
1.4 km away
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#51 of 74 in Anchorage
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Address: 826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: ₹ 7,920 - ₹ 11,075 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Downtown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small 16 room Boutique style hotel centrally located in Downtown Anchorage. There is an abundance of restaurants, shopping, and sites to see within walking distance. We offer clean, affordable, smoke-free and pet-free rooms. All of our rooms have their own mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, private bathroom, and large flat screen TV. To better accommodate our guests we offer free parking, we also have 100+ cable channels - including HBO, complimentary WiFi internet throughout the hotel, and a continental breakfast served in the lobby from 7am-9am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing