We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not have my reserved room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Did not have my reserved room!”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I booked a room for four nights months ago, and followed up with a call to the hotel three days before my trip to Alaska. They told me everything was fine. We arrive at the airport, the hotel van picked us up and when we got to the hotel, they said they did not have a room for us!! In over 30 years of traveling I have never run into this problem. They first offered us some room way south of town. We did not have a car and needed to be in the downtown area. Finally they said they booked another room for us at another (Ramada Hotel). We immediately went there and I cancelled all my nights with the Anchorage Downtown Hotel. I will never stay there in the future.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank marathonjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    36
    42
    37
    46
See reviews for
24
81
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moama
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

A very nice place to stay. Good value for money.The Rooms are clean and cheerfull. Staff are very helpfull and friendly.
Has a very helpfull shuttle service to and from airport and downtown attractions.
We are mature experienced Aussie world travellers and would recommend this hotel to other " grey travellers"

Room Tip: No onsite laundry, but does have an iron in the room. Staff can arrange a ride to the local laundrym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalfpintJilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We have been traveling for the last 7 weeks throughout Alaska staying in approx 12 different hotels/B&B's. This hotel was the most expensive ($200+per nt) and although comfortable, the room was the smallest - the TV remote did not work and the window would not open. When we advised the staff they appeared helpful but did nothing about it. At 6pm at night we advised that the room had not been serviced. After returning to room at 11pm - No change.
They do not care!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graayso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

statesboro, ga
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I made reservations for this hotel from a friend who had been there last year. I guess I really don't know her taste in places to stay because I would never recommend or stay here again.The room was hot and very noisy with only one window looking out over a parking lot. There was not a place to even sit in the room--my husband would take a book and sit on the steps in the hallway. The small amount of extra space was taken up with a chest, microwave, frig., ironing board etc. Breakfast was poor with cereal and Sam Club muffins. We cancelled the last night and went to another hotel. It is overpriced and other than the lovely flowers outside not a good place to stay. There are too many other choices.

Room Tip: Not a good choice in Anchorage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dixiedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We spent a terrible night at this hotel and positively fled in the early morning to never come back. The reason for this was mostly the heat. When we entered our room the windows were open and we noticed after closing them that central heating was on (temperatures outside were something like 16C, 60F). When leaving the hotel to have dinner we asked the only person attendant (who was barely able to speak English) to do something about the heating. When we came back, the only thing that had happened was that he had opened the front and back doors plus all the windows in the corridors but the heating was still running high. There was a lot of noise from other rooms (you could hear people snoring even from faraway rooms) and from seagulls outside so when we still couldn't sleep at 2am we closed the windows (which didn't shut out much noise) only to wake up again at 4am to sweltering heat. Please note that this hotel calls itself a "green boutique hotel". I'm finding it outrageous that they would call themselves "green" when they a) have an ancient central heating system, b) permit it to run when not needed, c) open all windows instead of switching it of! What has that to do with being "green"?!? The only green thing I could find was the towel policy that you have almost everywhere and which is so basic that in my opinion it doesn't give them the right to advertise themselves as green. Also, their soaps were packed in biodegradable paper which still isn't good enough for me to justify the "green" label. As for the "boutique" part: they have put some effort into beautiful wall paintings and classy photographs. Also, bed covers are new, stylish and high quality. Still, it doesn't disguise that the building is a rickety shed. This is also very noticeable in the bathrooms. Some praise towards the mattresses which I liked and were also new (or felt new at least). On the other hand, the bedposts are somehow dangerous: I hurt myself by accidentally bumping into them several times and once even tore of a big chunk of toenail (which is saying something as this has never ever happened to me in my entire life and I definitely did not provoke it by having long nails; my nails are always cut very short!). Their complimentary continental breakfast was alright. A good point of the hotel is that it is within walking distance of the center of Anchorage. But I definitely do not recommend staying there!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiuluzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
1.3 km away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
0.4 km away
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#38 of 73 in Anchorage
38 reviews
1.1 km away
Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
435 reviews
1.4 km away
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#50 of 73 in Anchorage
44 reviews
0.8 km away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Property: Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Address: 826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,264 - ₹ 10,784
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Downtown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small 16 room Boutique style hotel centrally located in Downtown Anchorage. There is an abundance of restaurants, shopping, and sites to see within walking distance. We offer clean, affordable, smoke-free and pet-free rooms. All of our rooms have their own mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, private bathroom, and large flat screen TV. To better accommodate our guests we offer free parking, we also have 100+ cable channels - including HBO, complimentary WiFi internet throughout the hotel, and a continental breakfast served in the lobby from 7am-9am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing