We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place, great breakfast, fantastic advise”
other travellers have booked this property
Our Home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Home
Bedroom Entry/Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Our Home
Bedroom
Entry/Living room
Dining room/Kitchen
Gate to B&B
Stairs to B&B entrance
Backyard view from B&B
Front yard
Seasonal Flowers
Looking toward entrance
Bathroom
Dining room
Backyard
Jeepers with the chickens
Koko, our chocolate lab
Hydrangea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Anchorage, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Heather J
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, great breakfast, fantastic advise”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014

We had a wonderful two day stay at this property - our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. The food items left out for a help yourself breakfast were locally sourced and delicious. The rooms are simply furnished but with everything you need. The advice Heather gave us for things to do and places to eat in the area were spot on, with all details covered, all down to the bear spray available to borrow for hiking and biking. We hope to return to Alaska for longer in the future, and we would definitely come back here.

Date of stay: September 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happycamp...
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We were treated like family”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Staying at Heather and Doug's Gardenside Bed and Breakfast in Anchorage was the perfect way to start our two and a half week trip to Alaska.
Heather picked us up at the airport and remained helpful throughout our Anchorage stay. Her advice on where to go and what to see was spot on.
The B&B was even larger than we expected and good value for the money. It was very clean and decorated tastefully. The bed was comfortable, the bath stocked with quality soaps and lotions, the sitting room was welcoming and cozy, We booked a room but received an efficiency apartment with all amenities included.
Breakfast was provided which we ate in the privacy of our kitchenette/dining room. The refrigerator was stocked with hard cooked eggs (the eggs were from the chickens which Heather raises in the back yard). There were all manner of breakfast foods provided with a variety of fruits, breads, cereal, raw nuts, cheeses and spreads from which to choose.
I have to mention the delicious honey Heather gathers from the bees which pollinate the beautiful flowers around the yard. Heather will cater to special needs such as gluten free, dairy free foods. There were many special touches too numerous to name.
I highly recommend this B&B. The hospitality was exceptional.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the generous hospitality
Liked least: There was no
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAFoothil...
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Comfortable, and Well Located B&B”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Gardenside B&B is a a special vacation get away. Our family of 4 started and ended our AK 17 day Grand Adventure for a total of 4 nights there. We were so impressed with so many things from the little stocked refrigerator with delicious high quality breakfast foods to the generous space of the apartment. The owner (Heather) often went out of her way to provide so much for us including a comfortable roll away bed for our teenage daughter and great local information. Her dinner suggestion (Beartooth Theater and Pub - theater side) was so good we ate there twice. We all enjoyed her charming animals and garden. Our 9 year son misses them all and is planning our return trip. When we next visit Anchorage we will again choose Gardenside B&B.

Date of stay: August 2014
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Aug 2014
Families like yours make being a B&B host worth it! Thank you for choosing Gardenside B&B. We loved having you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann B
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy, comfortable and plenty of space”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here at the end of our Alaskan adventure with 2 small kids. The owner made special bedding arrangements for both of my kids and called the day before our arrival to make sure she had everything set up perfectly for our family. The space is basically a fully finished basement apartment with a large living room and a nice sized bedroom attached. The beds were all comfortable, the blackout shades in the bedroom were perfect. Breakfast was a continental style in our own "apartment" but with the added bonus of honey from the hive on the property. There was more than enough to eat for breakfast and it was nice to be able to eat at our leisure. The space was perfect for our family that allowed the kids to have room to move around and they loved checking on the chickens in the back. The owners manual had great restaurant recommendations and menus available. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Nothing fancy, but very clean and comfortable. It was perfect for us!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prästbol
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.