We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great winter respite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaskan Frontier Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Homer, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great winter respite”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

After being greeted by two very lovable and well-mannered dogs, my husband and I stayed in the Ivory Suite for three nights between Christmas and New Year's. The hillside setting was an absolutely beautiful winter wonderland. Our room was beautiful as well and very comfortable (although it took us quite a while to figure out where the electrical outlets were. Keep looking--you'll find them! It would also be nice to have some hooks in the bathroom for robes, towels, etc.). Breakfast was a treat of great food and conversation with both Rita and our fellow travelers...a very nice way to start the day. All in all, we very much enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this b & b to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    27
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
129
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed here twice and loved it each time. The main areas are like being in someone's personal museums. The house is beautiful, the rooms comfortable, very private and quiet. Breakfast is large, with several delicious selections each day. Rita is a fantastic hostess with great stories of Alaska and really helpful ideas on where to go/what to see. I'd return again anytime!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank octobersky1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

house, breakfast, location, hospitality....everything was more than great
RITA IS THE BEST!!!!!
very professiona, helpfull and warm
we had a great stay and felt at home....
hope to be back
Daniel and Sandra, from Argentina

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a340sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetumpka, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Staying at Rita's B&B made my stay in Anchorage extra special. It was my first trip to Alaska and having someone I could talk to about the area helped me make better decisions on where to go and what to do much easier. This location is very close to two trail heads; one going to Flattop and one going to Wolverine Peak. It is also close to Hilltop ski area where I put on my first set of snow ski's and learned to cross county ski! Got to see a couple of Moose up close as well! What a blast. Rita's breakfasts are out of this world and get's you ready for the day. You'll love the jetted tub and incredibly comfortable bed at the end of your day. If you want a great experience in Alaska, stay with Rita!

Room Tip: Stayed in the GARDEN TERRACE SUITE which has a very comfortable king size bed and a large two sink b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
190 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Beautiful grounds, comfortable rooms, great breakfast! My wife and I stayed in the Fireweed Room and then enjoyed a wonderful breakfast the next morning before heading out on our Alaskan odyssey. Rita did an excellent job as host and cook. We will certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvianQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
14.5 km away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
11.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
13.0 km away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
11th Avenue Bed and Breakfast
38.2 km away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
37.9 km away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaskan Frontier Gardens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaskan Frontier Gardens Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alaskan Frontier Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7440 Alatna St, Anchorage, AK 99507-8034
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing