We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The hotel was everything we expected. It was very spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly. The location was great especially for the weekend when the town has it's Farmer's market. We walked to all our restaurants. Having a full kitchen was ideal, especially after having to spend nights in a cabin prior to our stay here. Yes, the trains were noisy and early, but worth it for all the other amenities. The small continental breakfast brought to your door was also nice, if you wanted something light.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    177
    74
    21
    11
See reviews for
76
184
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copper Center, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We had two separate stays 2 days and then 3days in different rooms. We knew what to expect from Tripadvisor. All of the people at the desk were of great help. There is horn noise from the trains, we were on both sides of the hotel with windows open and managed. Sure there could be updates, no big deal. The beds were very comfortable and with light all night the window coverings were great. Having the Kitchen allowed us to save a great deal of money, being right next to the train station meant no taxis. There is no pool and fancy lobby, big deal. These rooms had a place to relax, prepare a meal, and sleep. We will go back there again!

Room Tip: King bed if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Four of us recently stayed at the Anchorage Grand Hotel and found them totally unprepared for us to use the hide a bed sofa (for which we paid an additional $80). When we complained that the bed was unmade...and that we actually found we had only 1 sheet with which to make up the bed OURSELVES ! Additionally, the bed was awful! We are looking forward to a good night tonight (in a different location) to make up for our lost sleep.

When we shared our concerns at check out, her response was that 'management was trying to save money'.

Room Tip: Prepare to hear the trains...but it is a great location. Be sure to eat at the Bridge or at Sacks !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hildagarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandManager01, Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
The additional paid was for the extra people in the room, not for the pull out sofa bed.
This is our busy season, and the room was not pre-assigned. If it had been, we could have made the sofa bed in advance. However, we don’t normally do this. Instead, we place a full set of clean sheets with blanket and pillow in a sealed plastic container on the top shelf of the guest room closet. This is so the bedding remains clean and fresh, as it would not be clean and fresh if left on the pull out sleeper.
We regret the sheet was missing, which we promise was not intentional – this was clearly a housekeeping oversight. The necessary bedding was provided when requested. Our staff would have been happy to make the bed if requested, or given the opportunity.
We are near the train station. There is a good view of the train depot from the south side of the hotel. There is the occasional sound of the train horn. Some guests tell us they enjoy the trains, and like the sound of the occasional train horn; others would rather not hear the occasional horn sounds, which occur mainly during the day. Please note, the Anchorage Grand will have less street noise in the day and evening than most downtown hotels, since we are located on 2nd Avenue, which is 2-3 blocks away from the busier 4th and 5th Avenues.
In conclusion, we truly regret the issues that occurred during this stay, and hope to have the opportunity to make it up to them. At the same time, we know we offer a terrific value. When compared to other Anchorage hotels, the value we offer truly can’t be beat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria Il
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Location of this hotel was perfect for downtown access and train travel. Without a car, it was just a couple of blocks to downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants. When it was time to take the train, we were able to stay dry on our short walk down the hill to the station under a covered walkway- even toting our luggage.
Hotel is a bit dated but very clean. Wish it had WiFi access throught the hotel. Each room has a kitchenette so we could fix our breakfast easily. Breakfast is hung on your door and consists of instant oats, granola bar, juice, & a bagel. We would definitely stay here again even if we were not using the train.
PS We made use of their reasonably priced guest laundry too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t1andjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at Anchorage Grand for a couple of nights before our cruise. We chose this hotel based on reviews in Tripadvisor. I have to say that the reviews led me to have higher expectations of the hotel than my actual experience.

It is probably a 3 to 4 star hotel by most standards. The lobby is down 1 flight of stairs where the elevator is also located. People with a lot of luggage or who need wheelchair access will find this to be a big problem/

The room we got was quite big but the couch was upholstered in a brownish orange fabric that I would expect to see on The 70s Show. The TV and cable was quite difficult to use (not sure if that's the hotel's fault or due to Alaskan cable TV).

Continental breakfast is delivered to your door every morning at 7 am - in a plastic grocery bag. It contains a bagel, cream cheese, granola bars and oatmeal for each person. Might be appealing for some but not for my family.

The other thing to note is that the hotel is located very close to the train station - which means that you hear the trains honking every so often.

On your stay, recommend going to the Sleeping Beauty brewery and tryiing the smoked salmon chowder. Very yummy! We also visited the other Brewery in Anchorage (opposite the Catholic cathedral) that was quite happening and served pretty good food as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JellyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 73 in Anchorage
461 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#18 of 73 in Anchorage
1,542 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#27 of 73 in Anchorage
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Grand Hotel

Property: Anchorage Grand Hotel
Address: 505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,281 - ₹ 14,165
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel. Terrific downtown location, one block from Coastal Trail, within walking distance of 5th Avenue Mall, Convention Center, Performing Arts Center, Anchorage Museum, and restuarants. Fully equipped kitchens. Breakfast items delivered to your door. Morning newspaper. Free Wi-Fi. Cable TV with HBO. The best value in Anchorage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Anchorage Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing