We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return”
Review of Larry's Cocoon - CLOSED

Larry's Cocoon
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Larry's Cocoon is settled into a strip-mall setting along 36th Avenue near its intersection with Arctic Boulevard, right next to the location of the old Europa Bakery storefront. Its currently neighboring eateries include Campobello and a Domino's Pizza kitchen, with a variety of other businesses also tucked into the same building - the restaurant can be a bit hard to find from the street, with the parking lot a little tight to navigate but usually offering a spot without too much trouble behind the wheel.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“We will return”
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had dinner here last night. We had the calamari appetizer and thoroughly enjoyed it. He had bulgogi dinner plate and I had the spicy chicken dinner plate. We were both very pleased with our meals. All around great dining experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovnlivnnalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great find”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We went for an early dinner before a movie at the C16. The restaurant is very clean and the staff friendly. The entree's came with three perfectly grilled shrimp (not mentioned in the menu). The Korean style spicy chicken was delicious. Green curry chicken also very good. We will be back for sure.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 907808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Neat little place”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Asian fusion - tucked in a strip center - food was great, good wine selection

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank anderl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely meal, friendly service”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

rolled in here because of (shockaroo) trip advisor...i live in the area and i also work of one of the finer hotels in our area, so checking out new restaurants in the area is essential. my girlfriend and i ordered the special which was almond chicken and a bulgogi appetizer. both meals were of immaculate quality. tender, flavorful chicken pieces with fresh almond and just the right temperature out of the kitchen. fresh veggies with my bulgogi and all the while our server was incredibly attentive and pleasant. a gentleman who i assumed was either an owner or relative of the owners came from the kitchen to personally thank us for eating there. the experience was so good we got a few orders of pad thai to go. when a guest asks for good chinese delivery there will be no other option in my mind. weird name, great food...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank superclerkesquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Up and Coming, for Good Reason”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is a pleasant little Asian Fusion restaurant in Midtown Anchorage. We were warmly welcomed when we came in the door by Larry himself! We were a party of 8 but the friendly owner quickly moved up an extra table to provide us with a nice seating arrangement. Our waitress attended to us quickly and provide ice water with lemon. After taking the orders, she brought out a house salad with ginger dressing. Our food was made fresh to order but did not take long.
FOOD REVIEW:
With all of the dishes, the presentation was lovely and consistent with a modern, higher end restaurant.
Appetizer: Gyoza (pot-stickers). These were tender and delicious. Easy to overcook, the chef did not spoil this featured appetizer. They were served with a sweet and salty soy sauce that was almost good enough to eat with a spoon.
Korean BBQ Pork: tender, juicy, well-seasoned and the right amount of heat. This dish and the others were served with rice and also 3 plump shrimp. The meat was grilled to perfection.
Green Curry Chicken: tender meat, delicate flavor, delicious coconut curry dish.
Yellow Curry Chicken: more complex flavor, a little spicier and even more delicious and full of wonderful flavor.
Pad Thai: the best Pad I've had in town. Artfully presented and flavorful, a hint of hot smoke, light and not greasy as I've experienced elsewhere.
Dessert: Mango Icecream! We really enjoyed the complex and intense flavor, tasted homemade but I forgot to ask. Just like eating a frozen Mango and a plentiful portion.
Overall: Very flavorful and artfully crafted dishes with perfect proportions. The best Asian food I've had in Anchorage.
SERVICE:
Excellent service with prompt attention to all of our needs. We were served quickly but never rushed or pressured. The waitress had a good understanding of the menu. She brought an extra gyoza to make sure everyone in our party had one without even mentioning it. Extra plates were provided in abundance without us having to ask. She even brought extra ice cream for the baby. She also passed my 'water test.' (I get so irritated when a brash server interupts us in mid-conversation to ask if we want more water or some other meaningless question. Water is free, just reach over and fill the empty glass!) I noticed my water glass was always kept full and I did not even notice her coming and going during the meal.
DECOR:
The restaurant suffers a little in the atmosphere department as it is set in a strip mall. This level of food quality and presentation could be found in a much nicer building. However, we found everything clean, from the kitchen, to the dining room, to the restrooms.
VALUE:
A very good value for this quality food in Anchorage with dinner plates around $12 to $18 dollars, but some around $24 for special items. Appetizers $9, but $6 after 8 o'clock; desserts $5-$8.
We had a great time at Larry's, and upon leaving everyone was commenting on how good the food was. We've found our new Asian favorite in Anchorage, and we'll be going back often! Note: picture of Green Curry dish included.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Larry's Cocoon also viewed

 
Girdwood, Anchorage
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing