We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Feels like home away from home !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchorage Guest House
Ranked #72 of 128 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Feels like home away from home !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed at Anchorage Guest House in July this year 2011 and it's the third time i have stayed here as i think it's the best place to stay in Anchorage. This is because it feels like a home away from home, the owner Andy Baker is very friendly and welcoming, it's a great set up with plenty of food for breakfast, comfortable beds, nice rooms and the location is excellent being in a nice neighborhood and close to the coastal trail and downtown. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Anchorage i love it there !

Room Tip: Book at least a week in advance if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
5
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Pros: Value - under $90 a night in Anchorage is crazy cheap. Well-stocked with quality provisions - excellent coffee, fresh fruit, healthy cereal, organic milk and soy milk. Large common areas. Friendly owner.

Cons: When we arrived, construction materials were all around the grounds and the interior of house, although the inside was tidied up by morning. Room had no closet doors, adding to under-construction feel of the property. Curtains were cut too small to block out sunlight entirely. Once renovations are complete, though, you'd really only have the easy-to-fix issue of the curtains as a negative.

Verdict: If you're only in town for an evening or two, this is the place to stay. Even for longer-term visits, hard to justify paying Anchorage's going rate of $200+ per night unless you really need a traditional hotel's comfort and amenities.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HJTRAVELERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

The only reason we did not leave after the first night is because we had paid in advance and it was close to an event we needed to attend. The place is very dirty and unkept. There were half-finished renovation projects everywhere making it very cluttered. Our room had a sheet attached with tacks to the wall as a curtain. The walls and carpet were dirty. There were a couple of bugs crawling around every night. There was not even a night table or lamp. The place feels more like a fraternity house than a guest house.
It is definitely not worth the slightly cheaper rates. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauri70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2007

Staying in Anchorage can be expensive compared with other parts of Alaska, but to be honest it might be worth paying that little bit extra.

We only stayed at the Anchorage Guesthouse for one night. The owner was friendly and accommodating as we arrived late and the King room was ok but there is a musty smell in the whole house. But my biggest problem was the bathroom it was disgusting! After a tiring journey I just wanted to take a long hot soak in a bath but it was disgusting and so was the toilet and I could not face trying to clean it.

Don't be misguided this is a hostel not a guesthouse!

  • Liked — The owner
  • Disliked — Unclean and 30 minutes walk from downtown anchorage
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank alaska07_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2005

The people that run this B&B offer some help to the traveler, especially those with interest in outdoor activities and interacting with other people on the road.

However, the actual facilities leave a lot to be desired. The room contained all the garbage left by earlier travellers, including magazines that were two years old. We stayed in a musty damp basement where we heard every footstep upstairs. Sheetrock smells and construction detritus littered the dark hallway. The towels offered might be okay for washing a car but not for offering to a guest; they were ragged and worn. The worst, however, was the bathroom- a mold manifesto. The tile was covered in black slime- on the floor, the walls, even outside the stall.

All this would be okay if the price were rock bottom, but we paid over $80 for two people. The night before, we stayed in a quiet, charming, clean cabin at Summit Lake Lodge with our own sterile bathroom for the same price. Don't put up with this kind of discomfort unless you really want to commune with the bugs indoors, dust bunnies, dirt, mold and all the regular B&B hassles (waiting for the bathroom, potluck breakfast, etc). Also, it's not that close to downtown; it's a healthy 30 minute walk. On the plus side, it's right next to an excellent bike path.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
1.4 km away
Inlet Tower  Hotel & Suites
Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites
#40 of 72 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.9 km away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
2.1 km away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#13 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.3 km away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
1.1 km away
Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Guest House

Property: Anchorage Guest House
Address: 2001 Hillcrest Drive, Anchorage, AK 99517
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,680 - ₹ 26,884
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, safe and friendly accommodation for independent adventure travelers in a quiet residential neighborhood - close to downtown, Coastal Trail and outdoor gear shops. Private and dorm rooms, parking, wifi internet, mountain bike rental, laundry, gear storage, friendly and experienced managers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing