We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended! Perfect downtown location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed there a month, and everytime I walked into the room, I was reminded of what a classy hotel it is....always clean and perfectly appointed with artistic extras (housekeeping rocks!!), lighted awning at the front door (I can picture Audrey Hepburn on a movie set there). Amazingly reasonable rates amidst outlandish hotel prices in Anchorage (big hotels cater to the tour groups and gouge the individual traveler).

Oh, and if you are lucky enough to get a room at Duke's, you will be greeted by Rockstar Rebecca at the front desk....her smile radiates sunshine on a gloomy day and her expertise and efficiency (nothing short of super-woman :)

Also, no need to rent a car.....Starbucks, Kaladi Bros Coffee and seriously, the best restaurants and sightseeing in Anchorage are just steps away from Duke's.

Sally Keogh

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

Duke's is a comfortable small downtown hotel. The location is great for me that I can walk right across the street to the Conoco Phillips building for business. There are no kids running in the halls or doors being slammed. It nice that you can get your computer work done and not be bothered. As always the hotel is clean and the staff is polite. It's an older hotel but I love staying there. I've stayed in several hotels in Anchorage in the past but now I only stay at Duke's. I get a good night's sleep at Duke's.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank autocartim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My family and I have stayed in a wide variety of Anchorage's downtown hotels over the years. Duke's has topped the list for being clean, quite, and spacious. The location was perfect. I was able to walk to my conference as well as coffee, restaurants, culture, and shopping. I look forward to my next stay at Duke's.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hms3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I had a very bad experience with this hotel. looks nice but the management is bad with bad customer service. they called me up just a week before my travel to Anchorage to attend the Aerospace annual meeting. which made the situation worse that the town is almost fully booked for that entire week. This not the first time that the hotel does the same thing to its customers. It happened before, if they have a group booking they would go ahead and cancel your booking and its up to you to figure out where to stay!! I don't advice anyone to stay there.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank Mans2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I arrived for Fur Rondy Events, I Checked in to Dukes, And had clean full Apartment suite. Also there is outdoor patio on the back of hotel with picnik table and bar-b-Q. Workout room and laundry. The wonderful staff, Owners, Jessie and Mr. and Mrs. Adams made sure I had everything. I could walk to all Restaurants, Egan Center concerts , and great nightlife . Also Anchorage Museum from Dukes. I will be returning to Anchorage soon and want to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#25 of 74 in Anchorage
400 reviews
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#52 of 74 in Anchorage
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 74 in Anchorage
478 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#30 of 74 in Anchorage
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel

Address: 630 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3435
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: ₹ 6,097 - ₹ 12,713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Anchorage, this hotel is across the street from Dena'ina Civic and Convention Center and 1 mile from Sullivan Arena. Alaska Experience Theatre and Alaska Center for the Performing Arts are also within 5 minutes. A 24-hour fitness center, laundry facilities, and free newspapers are available at Duke's 8th Ave Hotel. Free WiFi in public areas and free self parking are also provided. Other amenities include barbecue grills and a picnic area. All 26 rooms feature kitchenettes with refrigerators and microwaves, plus free WiFi, free wired Internet, and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Guests will also find living rooms, dining areas, and coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing