We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heritage Library and Museum
Open today: 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Heritage Library and Museum, Wells Fargo Building, Anchorage, Alaska.

We have here one single Trip Advisor attraction that goes by, and is shown as three separate... read more

Reviewed 5 December 2017
Kanbaatar
,
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Outstanding

Located in the Wells Fargo Bank building this free museum is filled with unique exhibits of Alaska... read more

Reviewed 29 July 2016
Yellowtrike
,
Pahrump, Nevada
Read all 8 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Anchorage
from US$ 99.00
More Info
from US$ 109.00
More Info
from US$ 195.00
More Info
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
6
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wells fargo northern lights rifle blvd alaska
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 8 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2016

If you want a treat, pop into this museum in the Wells Fargo Bank Building at C St. and Northern Lights Blvd. It is extraordinary in that it not only attractively displays well preserved Alaskan Native memorabilia, it also provides a lovingly maintained library and reading room where you can peruse hundreds of historical tomes and biographies on Alaska.
It can be a quick stop or an enjoyable hour or two getting acquainted with this phenomenal state and its people. It offers a glimpse of an Alaska that many are not aware of. And it's free!!!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank scorpi3cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

This is a wonderful, if compact, museum of Alaskan cultural history and heritage, hidden in the lobby of the local Wells Fargo Bank. Smallish, it is packed with wonderfully displayed prehistoric artifacts, more recent native tools and dress from the last couple of centuries, scrimshaw, a few historic paintings, a full-sized kayak, Alaskan coins and tokens, a huge gold nugget and a whole lot more. It also houses a fairly good sized library of Alaskan history and culture. The attendant, Walter, was kind enough to give us mini-tours of many of the artifact cases, adding to our enjoyment and understanding. And, admission is free! Some of the labels were curled and falling off their mounts, making reading them difficult, but Walter said they were in the process of replacing all of them. This place is well worth a few of hours of your time.

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank Dreckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We were very glad we stumbled on this place on a rainy day. It is truly wonderful. It is well-arranged and curated, an excellent collection of books, artifacts and pieces of art displayed in a way that allows for a comfortable browsing around. The staff was very helpful and friendly, opening up before the official hours when he saw up approaching the door. So glad we stopped!

Date of experience: August 2012
2  Thank KFR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

I had never been to AK before so this was a must-stop for me! I wanted to learn a little more about this crazy cold place so we went to the heritage museum. It was a neat experience but it was really geared towards kids. They had a bunch of exhibits that showed the history of the state and a bit about old Alaskan culture. It was kind of small (but I'm used to big museums in DC and stuff) but it was also very informative.

1  Thank Dizzyizzyizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews