We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day out.”

Bioparc de Doue la Fontaine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A great day out.”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Whilst staying in the western Loire with our grandchildren we visited the Biopark at Doue La Fontaine. Situated in an old limestone quarry the facilities for the animals were outstanding and the viewing excellent. The various enclosures both for birds and animals were imaginative and spectacular. We have seldom been to a zoo where the inmates seemed so relaxed and happy, it was quite unlike any other. The children, whose ages are 11,7 and 4 thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. There was a decent restaurant and a fast food bar as well as a fantastic African themed shop. The staff were helpful and happy. When we visited it was a very hot day and we were grateful for all the various tunnels and passages through the limestone that take you around the zoo.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Janr0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,036 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    252
    44
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Has to be one of the best zoos in Europe.”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

What an excellent zoo and well worth the 17 € 50c entry fee for an adult. Zoo is on 2 levels and built into a quarry providing excellent and unusual enclosures for the animals. Very clean, free parking and the refreshments were rasonable priced. Lunch can be taken overlooking the giraffe enclosures in the open restaurant. All in all, excellent value and probabaly the best zoo we have been for a long time. Will be going again.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank dmackay41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Make sure you visit if in the area”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Amazing, one of the most unusual and fantastic zoos I have visited.
Set in an old quarry it is just fabulous. We spent most of the day here as there are 2 self guided tours to follow. Cannot rate this highly enough - we had a great day out with our 2 year old.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank TomJonesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Zoo in the Loire - we loved it!”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This is the best zoo I've ever visited. We are a family of 4 & visited mid-Aug. The set up is unusual - it's situated in an old quarry - & it's huge. We particularly loved getting close up to the giraffes, you can also enjoy lunch in the restaurant overlooking the giraffe & zebra enclosure & there is an amazing aviary area.

Helpful?
Thank browneyedgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best zoo ever seen”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Each time we travel with our kids, we have the abit to go to the zoo. When we went to Saumur, we were not expecting anything fantastic, but we had a delicious surprise: this place is simply amazing. The natural environnement makes it look like if the animals were in their original environnement. The bird area, recently opened, is incredible: you are walking in the birds area, and they are all around you. There is many animations, like being with the vulture while they eat.
We also appreciated the fact that the zoo is not too much a commercial area: there is not a lot of snacks and things like that, your kids won't be asking you to biy gadgets all the time: this is concentrated in one shop at the end of the visit and thats' all.
There is also a restaurant with a view on the girafes, with kind prices. We didn't eat there, but it looked nice.

Helpful?
Thank The4Family78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bioparc de Doue la Fontaine also viewed

Doue-la-Fontaine, Maine et Loire
Doue-la-Fontaine, Maine et Loire
 
Angers, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Bioparc de Doue la Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing