We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Bed & Breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shafer Baillie Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shafer Baillie Mansion
Ranked #5 of 29 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
373 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bed & Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

This mansion is absolutely beautiful! We stayed 3 nights in two different rooms on the 2nd floor and both rooms were great. The mansion is in a very nice area of Seattle. We walked around the neighborhood to look at the lovely houses. Lots of restaurants within walking distance on 15th Ave. - try Jamjuree if you like Thai food. It was the best of three Thai restaurants we tried in Seattle. The bus stop is only a block away on 15th Ave. - bus #10 takes you downtown to Pikes Place Market and other sights. Breakfast had plenty of variety with hard-boiled eggs, cereals, breads, smoked salmon, prosciutto, fresh fruit, etc. Brenda, Glenn and Ana were very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend the Shafer-Baillie Mansion! Can't wait to return to Seattle and stay here again! There are only 8 rooms, so don't miss your chance to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    14
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
133
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Daubach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

After an 11-hour flight from Germany, we arrived in this green and leafy Seattle neighbourhood to get some rest before our ongoing trip to Port Townsend - our final destination.
What a magnificent building! Tastefully renovated and furnished: the wood panelling, comfortable period sofas and armchairs in the living room with a baby grand (which our daughter was allowed to play), huge hall and grand staircase. We were staying in the spacious Master Suite with the quaint large bathroom. Again: gorgeous interior design, super-comfortable beds, peace and quiet. Capitol Hill is a great neighbourhood.
We loved Brenda's direct, no-nonsense, yet open and warm approach to guests - and her warm breakfast cobblers.
Since this 1st-night stay was such a good experience, we decided that this would also be a good place to end our 3-week journey. So we booked us in for the last two nights of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilde E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
216 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Master Suite for 8 days, and I found myself talking about going back to the house instead of back to the hotel. We were very comfortable - didn't really need the large suite but that was the only room available for our time frame. The extra room could fit one additional adult or two small children.
Bed was comfy, large TV so I could watch the Tour de France (good availability of TV channels) while eating pizza. There is a large bathroom with double sinks, and a unique shower even better than a shower massager. The Mansion website has pix.
Caretakers Brenda and Glen were very personable and friendly. The owner, Anna, was gracious and kind. They had a lot of helpful ideas about where to eat and how to use the bus.
The locals in the park were friendly, too. Other than Alaska, this is the only place I've been where strangers spontaneously strike up a conversation.
There are booklets about the history of Capitol Hill, local mansions, and Seattle in general; along with travel information.
Breakfast had enough variety, and some special dishes on certain days. There is a small frig in the dining room or a larger real frig if you have special food you want to keep cold.
We were able to meet the guests and share ideas about visiting Seattle and other destinations.
The common rooms are a good place to sit and relax; there's also a computer and printer. Or sit outside in the garden.
Go see the "speak easy" in the basement.
This is a great location, location, location. Safe to walk around the neighborhood with a lot to see. Volunteer Park is nearby. It is only a block to the Number 10 bus that takes you to Pikes Place Market, SAM, shopping, and Pioneer Square. Once you get downtown, catch the 99 bus for a free shuttle along the waterfront and First Ave.
There are a lot of places to eat on all sides of Capitol Hill. Each area is unique. Our favorites were Kingfish Cafe and Palermo's Pizza.
There is Safeway and Walgreens on 15th Ave nearby, but personally I preferred the short drive to Whole Foods on Westlake off of Denny Way.
The Wi-Fi was finicky at times, but overall worked well.
Ignore the reviews more than 2 years old; I don't think that they apply here.

Room Tip: The rooms are large, in the front you see 14th Ave. In the back you see the new landscaping and chur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mntraveler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix, az
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Just back from five nights at this wonderful mansion. The love and devotion to restoring this property is amazing. History is everywhere you look. All rooms are different and the five I saw were all comfortable and well furnished. The warm greetings on entering never ended! The breakfast is first rate and presented in a sunny spacious dinning room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyPhoenix_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My experience was exceptional in every way. The location is superb. The setting of the mansion is awesome. The guest service could not be better. The room exceeded my expectation. The linens were 5-star. Brenda, the innkeeper-on-duty was "Z-best" and the owner Ana was gracious and accommodating. As a retired innkeeper of several AAA 4-diamond properties, I highly recommend this property. The continental breakfast is European in style with fresh fruits, cereals and assortment of meats of cheeses with croissants and breads. I loved the smoked salmon, red onions and capers, how classic! One should not expect an elaborate, over-the-top 5-course breakfast. But Brenda's fresh hot blackberry cobbler was a wonderful surprise, and very fitting on the typically cool and rainy summer morning I was there. I understand that some sort of hot item is offered as a fun surprise often.
This is an urban inn that does things right. Welcomes you warmly, escorts you to the room, provides just the right amount of attention. . . and then, leaves you alone! Within a 5-minute walk is Volunteer Park - an oasis for walking and an incredible view of The Space Needle, the awesome Conservatory and the Asian Art Museum. It's also within a few minutes of the "Broadway Strip". . . an amazing arena of high end restaurants, coffee houses, and shops.
I've stayed at many local B&Bs in Seattle. A few are very nice, but Shafer-Ballie is certainly at cut-above for the discerning traveler. You must try Poppy's and Olivar for dinner, amazing food with a different atmospheres. Do check out the herb garden out back of Poppy's. Wow! Phil

Room Tip: I stayed in the moderate priced rooms on the 2nd floor and was very pleased. The room on the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rathboneOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broadway / Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Greenlake Guest House
#1 of 29 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Chelsea Station
#2 of 29 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shafer Baillie Mansion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shafer Baillie Mansion

Property: Shafer Baillie Mansion
Address: 907 14th Ave E, Seattle, WA 98112-3903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,739 - ₹ 16,928
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent 14,000 sq ft Tudor mansion, exquisitely restored and ideally situated on Capitol Hill, where you will find the gracious atmosphere of a bygone era with the comforts and amenities today's travelers need. One block south of Volunteer Park on Seattle's original "Millionaires' Row," minutes from all major area attractions including downtown, Pike Place Market, Seattle Center (Space Needle, Experience Music Project, Pacific Science Center, opera, ballet, Chihuly Garden and Glass Museum), waterfront, University of Washington and much more. Eight guestrooms and suites with private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shafer-Baillie Mansion Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing