We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good value worthy of consideration” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good value worthy of consideration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed here two years ago for my daughter's wedding and had a very positive experience, so I booked again for an April visit to Seattle. I reserved a King bed room with jacuzzi and fireplace...we arrived late on a Thursday night, for a 7 night stay.

The room we were given had no fireplace, and the tiles in the bathroom were broken and the carpet had large stains on it, evidence of some earlier guest's extreme behavior. Frankly I was surprised that the management would allow the room to be occupied before dealing with the floors, it really looked like something bad had happened in that room and it had a bad smell and a creepy vibe to it. I called the front desk to request a change to a room with a fireplace and was told that none were available. We had to tough it out for the night in the creepy room and decided to request a change the next day. The bed was quite broken down and was in need of replacement, as were the pillows. The sheets were very thin and cheap feeling. It was nothing like I remembered two years previous.

If you are thinking of booking a jacuzzi room, you might want to know that the shower stall is a very small fiberglass corner unit...an odd choice someone made when designing the hotel, as there was plenty of room in the bathroom for a large walk in shower. Towels were plentiful and thick, but the bed linens need upgrading...the beige pillowcases looked dingy and dirty next to the white sheets, and all were on the thin side.

After breakfast we requested a room change, and were told a jacuzzi room with fireplace would become available later that day. We changed rooms about 1pm and went out with family for the evening. When we returned, we attempted to turn on the gas fire, only to find that the fireplace was inoperative. A maintenance employee was dispatched, he turned on the pilot light and we enjoyed the fire and a soak in the 2 person jacuzzi tub with the hotel provided bath salts...nice!!

After returning to the hotel the next evening and looking forward to the warm fire and jacuzzi we found the pilot light was once again out. And the maid had not left any bath salts :-(

A second call for maintenance got the pilot light lit once again, but it was so bright that it made sleeping a bit of a challenge. So the next time it went out we decided to do without the fire.

Positives are the helpful staff, free parking (a big plus!) convenient location near the street car station and restaurants of South Lake Union, refrigerator and coffee maker in the room, Aveda amenities, the well equipped fitness facility, indoor pool complimentary newspaper and complimentary breakfast. The hotel was fully booked and the breakfast lounge crowded and noisy, so we opted to take our food back to our room on several mornings.

All in all, a good value.

Room Tip: rooms away from Fairview Avenue are quieter, View rooms may in fact only be partial or angled views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyhag89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    372
    70
    17
    10
See reviews for
460
401
32
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Silver Cloud Inn- Lake Union is very nice and a surprizingly good location. Its very close to downtown without as much hustle and all the added expense. I had a very nice "view" room that I paid extra for. I was quite disappointed in the view. It was the same as the View lounge around the corner. You could only see a little lake between the buildings on the other side of the street. I'd stay there again but not pay extra or expect a view.

Room Tip: Stay for the location not the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
348 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here based on reviews here and on other websites. We stayed one night so we could go to the Seattle Art Museum. We found the staff helpful, and we were upgraded to a double queen, view room upon check-in, which we appreciated. The room was large, with a 42" flatscreen TV and a nice view of the lake. The shower was good--good water pressure. The bed was comfortable. There was a bar sink and mini fridge in the room, but no in-room safe. The free wifi worked fine, but I couldn't get the wired connection to work (not sure if it was my computer's setup, and I didn't have time to fiddle with it). Breakfast was good, in a room with a view of the lake. The free parking was convenient, and we left our car at the hotel and took the shuttle into town. The staff allowed us to leave our car for the day, even after we had checked out.

The shuttle runs twice an hour and has 3 routine stops: the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, and Pioneer Square. Book a place on the shuttle at the front desk to be sure you get a spot at your preferred time (it holds 14 people). For the return trip, just call the hotel and request pickup at one of the stops and they come by for you within 10 minutes. (There are pay phones in Pike Place Market if your cell phone doesn't have roaming or you don't want to pay roaming charges.) The shuttle driver is very helpful, with lots of interesting information--just ask. Be sure to leave him a tip!

Our only criticism of this hotel was the location. It's in a bit of an industrial area, overlooking a busy road (all night) with no shops or restaurants nearby. There is no restaurant in the hotel. Driving to other parts of town can be confusing because of road construction near the hotel. We got lost a couple of times driving to and from a restaurant on the other side of the I-5. Given the price of the room, however, I think we got good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TPT_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wine Country
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Came here to celebrate 35th W. A., booked high floor room w/ view of L.U., and surprised with gift of wine and chocolates from Staff, verrry nice touch!! Comfortable bedding, good bfast, great parking included, fantastic front desk staff, overall a 4 star visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kameljakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed for five nights at this hotel and found it was in a nice location with a nice view of Lake Union. I feel I got value for money from the hotel. The rooms were a nice size and the bathroom adequately equipped. The bed was a nice size and quite comfortable. In terms of cleaning the rooms were kept to a good standard. The breakfast was far from the best I have had but was sufficient for a few days. With the exception of one member of staff I found the staff helpful and polite. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Property: Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,725 - ₹ 22,861
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing