We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting to become rundown...such potential.”
Review of The College Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The College Inn
Ranked #95 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The room was fine except it was obvious that under the bed had not seen a vacuum for awhile. The shared bathroom at the end of the hall was clean except for the peeling ceiling in one corner with black mold showing through. The 4th floor lobby was unique and where the breakfast was available. The beautiful furniture needed to be polished. Broken furniture was stored with foam pads near the tables and a broken lamp stand with exposed broken glass was by a table. The beds were very comfortable. Service was nonexistent although a bell outside the entry way door promised 24 hour assistance. The wi fi was erratic at best. Just a little maintenance would have made all the difference.

Room Tip: The area is noisy because you are right off the campus and there is abar in the basement of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAT1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your posting. We are definitely taking your comments to heart and making immediate changes. We appreciate the comments about the beds and we are glad you enjoyed the lobby area. In regards to the service, I am sorry you were not informed but we have the office in the Easyshoppe Store on the first floor. We are there to help with all your needs from 7 a to 11 p. In addition, we have an onsite night manager from 11 p to 7 am if you require anything over night. Please try us again and we will prove our normal hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2016

Really enjoyed my stay. Only challenges were that breakfast was too late for me to take advantage it. Started at 8 am on weekend, and was there for a University symposium that started at 8 am. Maybe breakfast at 7 even on weekend?
Also, the store that serves as the office was staffed with lovely people who were very helpful. Met some wonderful people who were also guests, and we had a great dinner at the Thai restaurant on the downstairs corner. The next day, a killer bowl of chili at the gracious college Inn Pub.
I've lived and traveled a lot in Europe and the UK, and the place felt very much like being there. I don't understand the negative reviews-the place was clean, my bed was cozy and comfy, clean towels, everything I needed. I look forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: No Idea. I loved my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you for kind comments. We are reviewing our breakfast hour on the weekends. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

I would never stay here again. It was dirty, the bathrooms were nasty, I didn't shower for the two nights we stayed there. It was just not a good place. I felt really uncomfortable the whole time we stayed there. Overall it was just disgusting.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gabbin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

I am sincerely sorry for your experience. Please contact us so we are able to review your impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Being a Hostel is no excuse for an unkept lodging. Specifically....our room was dirty, something resembling tobacco juice on the wall, and while antiques and distressed furniture can be charming, broken, run-down, thread bare carpet is just lazy and poor taste and standards. The fan did not work, the bed side lamp did not have a knob to turn it on and off, had to get out of bed to plug in and take out. The carpeting was worn through or frayed in many spots. The bathroom was dirty and smelled like urine.

There's more but that's enough. I don't give poor reviews, this is probably the worst i've ever given but, IMO, the condition of this place just represents low standards and expectations.

This part is not their fault....the location on a busy corner was very noisy, we expected some noise but not quite so much. There was no ceiling fan or mechanical one for heat or A.C. which enable you to create some "white noise".

It is a great location if you want to be near/on campus.

Wouldn't recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariatafoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

I sincerely apologize for you experience. We are reviewing your comments with our maintenance and housekeeping staff. Your situation is not normal for our guests. We would like to make the situation right. Please contact us so we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

I cancelled my room thirty minutes after booking. This is not a hotel it's a hostel. In addition, there are NO accommodations for people with disabilities or the elderly. I flew to Seattle after my mother had a heart attack and, showing up at this place was more stressful then sleeping in a hospital lounge chair/bed. After cancelling this place had the nerve to charge me for a nights stay. How hard up for cash is that? Use your money for a real hotel cause this was a royal joke, to me!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank redgoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

I am sincerely sorry for your experience. My thoughts are with you and your mother. I agree you did not need this extra stress during your stay. I apologize our Inn was not accurately portrayed to you. We were built in 1909 for the World Exposition in Seattle. The building is true to the form it was built in back then. Unfortunately, there are limitations based on our properties aged.

Please contact us about a refund. We are very accommodating to guests who do not wish to stay. If you booked through a third party, we will contact them to make the situation right. Once again we will keep your family in our thoughts during this difficult times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Days Inn Seattle North
#84 of 104 in Seattle
460 reviews
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Motel Suites
#73 of 104 in Seattle
81 reviews
Inn at Queen Anne
#74 of 104 in Seattle
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Inn

Address: 4000 University Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6209
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: ₹ 4,209 - ₹ 12,946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The College Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your The College Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The College Hotel Seattle
College Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing