We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you've never had scabies and you like new experiences, stay here”
Review of The College Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The College Inn
Ranked #93 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you've never had scabies and you like new experiences, stay here”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

If you need to be near the University, this place is inexpensive and the location is great. the problem is you may, like me, come home with a case of scabies that costs a fortune to heal. You'd be better off staying at the most expensive place around. Scabies is no fun.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silogram46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    22
    22
    16
    20
See reviews for
8
22
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

This was my first experience in a U.S. Hostel (they call it European Style at this particular place) and I think it spoiled me for future stays in hostels! The private room I stayed in was moderately priced (not a, but was very clean, had a full sized bed and a sink w/ mirror.

Although like many hostels, there was nothing modern to speak of, but the owners/caretakers had obviously put in an effort in putting a personal touch on the place. Pictures and historic memoribilia are on the walls and give the place a pleasant, friendly vibe. Although I didn't get a chance to go, there was a bar in the first floor which seemed like a cool place to hang out and meet people. An above average continental breakfast was provided in a communal room. Bathrooms need a bit of updating, but they are certainly not terrible.

Most impressive was the helpfulness of the staff, in particular the guy running the reservation desk. My flight was late and therefore I missed the 11pm check in time. He generously left the door to my room open and the key inside, saying I could check in in the morning. So nice! Its things like that can often make or break a vacation and gave me a great introduction to Seattle. The guy also was very willing to give me info on public transportation, etc.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carribeanprincessNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

My husband and another couple chose the College Inn for an overnight Seattle stay due to its reasonable rates and great location. Unfortunately, the staff at the College Inn is rude, uncommunicative, and dishonest.

I left a small bag in the registration office upon check-in and didn't notice it was missing until the next morning following check-out. Though their hours are posted as open until 11 AM, calls beginning at 10:30 AM went unanswered. We went back to the Inn to try and contact housekeeping at least, but got no answer at the two posted emergency numbers. We then had to leave town, and I imagined that the bag would be easily mailed to my home since the staff had been unavailable to help me retrieve it. Not so. Calls to them resulted in rude assertions that, yes, they had the bag and it would be mailed, then that it had already been mailed, and finally no response at all to emails or calls. Like another reviewer on this site, I am disputing the charges with my credit card company. And I, too, figured that they either liked the bag enough to keep it for themselves or are just too lazy and incompetent to send it on its way.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seattle hotels

UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Would recommend this place for location alone - right in the heart of the university district and next to central bus route for downtown. Rooms are very basic and share bathrooms not to everyone's taste but always very clean and excellent breakfast. Great value for a great location.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkCla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

The College Inn is a nice surprise; with lots of charm and well maintained facilities, the College Inn is an inexpensive choice while in Seattle. The surrounding amenities are fine, although if you are a bit older the loud, drunk university youth on the weekends can be a bit trying, but overall an enjoyable experience and would go back again if going to Seattle.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SocialTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University Motel Suites
#73 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Inn

Property: The College Inn
Address: 4000 University Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6209
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,558 - ₹ 17,061
Hotel Class:1 star — The College Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The College Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The College Hotel Seattle
College Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing