We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moss Point,Ms
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I just have to say it was the best, Emily at the front desk was great. My husband went to check in and im guessing he told her the situation with my bags and the airport...lost and only in town for a 2 days needless to say very long day. Well she made my day, knowing I had nothing she offered to run to her place to get me some shoes to wear so I could go out. Thats is what I call good service, but not only that she was so nice as was everyone we encoutered so willing to get whatever we needed for our stay. Even offered to bring bottle of wine up to our room if the bar downstair was cloesed. The whole experiance was amazing! Oh and the room WOW!!! Did I mention Emily upgraded (no extra charge) to The Noble House Suite top floor!! It was wonderful, full balcony private, walk-in shower, huge tub, fire place, I could go on and on about this place. It was one of the best stays I have ever had anywhere, I have to say. Friendly staff, very secure, affordable, good location, could not have asked for a better experiance

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Hello Shanna M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let the world know about Emily, our amazing Front Desk Agent. I am confident when I say that many of our guests share your feelings about her. She is truly one of a kind and we are thrilled to have her as part of the Deca team. She truly cares about each guest and makes it her personal goal to make each visit the best hotel visit ever.

I will make sure she reads your comments.

Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    396
    170
    96
    70
See reviews for
277
304
124
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Longview
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I made reservation's at the Hotel Deca through Expedia. Upon arrival we checked in and went up to our room; to discover we had a King bed. I was traveling with my sister, we do not sleep together. I immediately called the front desk and the clerk said to return to the lobby and they would fix the problem. While the first agent was assisting us, another male agent stepped up and told us that because we made our reservation through Expedia, they would not honor the request for a two bed room. He said, I will give you a rollaway. I said, that room is so small we would not have anywhere to walk. He said, sorry. We can move you to another Hotel, one mile away. I said, listen...I rode the train here, I do not have a car, I have to walk to the event and to my sons apt; if I am a mile away that would be a problem. He again said, sorry. He was so condescending, he just kept giving me one word answers and repeating himself. No help at all. So, Friday I slept on the floor and Sat. I slept in the bath tub by filling it with pillows. The stay sucked and I complained to every one working. The other agents just kept saying I am sorry there is nothing we can do....I will now always bring my car to Seattle (just what Seattle needs) and I will never stay at the Deca; again (this was my second stay). I asked, If we were two business men, would you expect us to sleep in the same bed? He refused to answer, he just kept saying sorry. I wanted to scream.

Room Tip: Upper floors are more expensive but much nicer and slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear PSaya,

Thank you for taking the time to let me know out your recent experience at the Deca. I wanted to express my sincerest apologies about your experience and how the agent you spoke with did not convey a sincere level of understanding.

After reviewing your reservation on Expedia it looks like we were unable to guarantee a room with 2 beds however, we were able to secure the King bed room type that was indicated on your reservation. Unfortunately during your stay we did not have any rooms available with two beds otherwise we would have immediately changed you to a room that would have been much more comfortable for you. When the person you spoke with recognized that our rooms with two beds were unavailable he wanted to make you as comfortable as possible. He believed offering you a room with two beds at another hotel that we would pay for was a possible solution. It is rare that we are unable to meet our guests room requests so when this does happen we try very hard to make it right. Moving you to another hotel was his attempt to make it right.

That being said, at no time should the agent have made you feel uncomfortable. I will speak with him about your comments to ensure he understands how our service levels can have an overwhelming positive and negative affect on a guest’s overall perception of the hotel.

From your comments I clearly understand your reluctance to stay with us again. Considering you chose us after a previous visit I am hopeful your first visit showed you what a true guest experience at Hotel Deca is. We truly pride ourselves on treating our guests to the highest level of sincere care and comfort.

If you would like to speak further about your experience please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Pros: Overall great stay, U-district location, and friendly staff. In my opinion, hands down the best hotel in the U-District. Nice contemporary/boutique-ish (looking for the right word) themed rooms. Restaurant located in the basement was excellent.

Work on: Nothing major - the wireless Internet was somewhat slow but thanks to the power of my 4G phone/4G area, I just used my phone's connection instead. Using the room key (for me) every time in the elevator was sort of a hassle. The hotel could just encourage people to lock their doors if safety is such a concern.

Overall, excellent and look forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: The City View/Corner View rooms were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southpugetsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear southpugetsound,

WOW!! What a compliment. There are a number of good hotels in the U-District so to be named the best is very exciting. We are thrilled that we made your stay amazing. On a side note, we did have a few issues with the wireless network while you are here however we figured out what the issue was and quickly corrected it. The wireless network is now as seamless as ever.

Thank you again.
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I returned to Hotel Deca for the 2nd time in 5 years for another visit/tour of UW. Just as enjoyable of a stay, location is excellent and the parking convenient. Rooms small but clean, staff friendly. Miss the continental breakfast offered in the past, but restaurant available and Tully's coffee next door.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Hello Surani H,

Welcome back to the Hotel Deca. I am glad that your most recent visit was as good as your visit a few years ago. I think it is fantastic when we are able to match the wonderful memories form a guests previous stay at the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit. Hopefully it is sooner than 5 years this time.

Thank you again.
,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel was built in the 1930s and renovated recently in boutique style. It's situated in the university district - which is very handy if you're visiting the university but the district isn't interesting enough to be a destination in its own right.

The rooms (I stayed in two) were ok. Beds comfortable and free wifi. Toilet flush mechanism in one room iffy - constant refilling and not fixed during my stay.

The breakfast was served in the basement bar/cafe. This room was dark and lacked air con. Even on damp April days it was very hot. And the service was extraordinarily slow. Not ideal for breakfast. This was true on the 3 mornings I had breakfast here. By day 3, I was wondering why I came back.

A reasonable hotel but not somewhere to stay unless you have to be in this area.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear EnglishViv,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit to Hotel Deca. I am truly sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. I will speak with the restaurant staff about your experience. We recently did have an air conditioning issue in the restaurant however this has been fixed. It is a very comfortable temperature now. We are also in the midst of a renovation in the restaurant that will address your concerns about the room being too dark. I am confident once it is completed the restaurant will match the level of design throughout the rest of the hotel.

I hope that we will see you again during your next trip to Seattle.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Motel Suites
#73 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#30 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Property: Hotel Deca
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,213 - ₹ 24,748
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing