We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Respectable Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Respectable Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Although not central it is the same distance to both the Needle and Westlake Center from the hotel. They are both in walking distance but if you aren't inclined than the hotel offers a shuttle service every hour to these two attractions plus the Convention Centre.
The room wasn't particular modern but it was very clean, spacious and homely. There was a small kitchenette with a microwave, a desk and couch/tv area. Very comfortable.
The staff were excellent. Well informed and friendly.
The biggest let down was the breakfast. There was no real food. The eggs were powered, the waffles tasted of bitter chemicals from the spray you needed to use on the waffle maker. No real milk and powered tang instead of orange juice. The apples were rotten on the inside even though they looked perfect on the outside. The bananas were under ripe and crunchy even though again they were perfect on the outside. Go to Wholefoods instead for your meals which is on the way back to Westlake Center.
The cheapest way to and from the airport is definitely the train. It's only $2.50 per person to Westlake Center. From there a taxi is only $5-6 or a 5-7 min walk. After checking out book the free shuttle to take you back to Westlake Center train station.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the road on the inside of the L shaped part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaH4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajols628, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
AnitaH4300,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay in our hotel. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle and found our staff to be so helpful. I am not sure if you stayed in one of our recently updated rooms, we are about 70% complete at this point. So far, our guests have been very pleased with the upgrades including beautiful new carpet, paint, mirrors, linens etc.,

I was disappointed to read about your breakfast experience. We typically see excellent reviews of our complimentary hot breakfast buffet which have earned us a top 15% ranking among all Springhill Suites hotels nationwide. Our scrambled eggs are prepared fresh using real eggs, one batch at a time. Our make your own waffles are very popular- we do use a cooking oil spray to prevent the waffles from sticking to the waffle iron. In terms of milk, we offer fresh 2% and Nonfat milk and our orange juice is an actual orange juice concentrate similar to what you would purchase in a super market. Your comments about the fruit being too ripe or under ripe is something we will certainly monitor. We understand what an important meal breakfast is for our guests and we will continue to focus on quality as well as variety.

Thanks again for choosing our hotel, we do hope to see you on your next visit to Seattle.

Regards,

Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    327
    125
    45
    24
See reviews for
213
160
39
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Staff: Very knowledgable about the area and offered great suggestions for where the locals go.

Rooms: Definitely not fancy and a little dated but it was clean and comfortable.

Breakfast: A good mix of hot and cold options for the buffet breakfast (eggs, sausauges, cereal, pastries etc. and even a waffle maker) -- but don't wait until the end of the breakfast run since some of the food options aren't replenished anymore.

Location: It's not right in the heart of the city but it's only a short walk or cab ride into shopping/dining/nightlife core, belltown and the wharf. But if you're wanting to step outside and be in the thick of things, then the location may not be the best since there isn't much around it (take a look at the street view from googlemaps). And although it's next to the highway, the noise wasn`t bad since we were facing the quiet side of the building.

Room Tip: ask for the quiet side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank you_gotta_be_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Wenatchee, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The staff was very accommodating with our schedule. We were able to check in early and then leave our bags while we spent the next day in the city as our train didn't leave until late in the afternoon. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was one of the best we've ever had. We will return again and again!!!!

Room Tip: Great views from the upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
210 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Yes, it is a half mile to downtown. And get a room facing away from the freeway. Great breakfast. 2 free computers. Free use of the 24 Hour Fitness across the street. A short walk up the hill to Capitol Hill with many restaurant and bar choices. Free shuttle to downtown area. Have stayed their many times with no complaints. (I enjoy the CBC Canadian channel on the TV). Did I mention the friendly staff?

Room Tip: Away from I-5 (facing youth homeless shelter is the quietest)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I loved my stay at the Springhill Suites in Seattle. I was in town from Fort Mohave, Arizona, visiting a friend. We stayed here, because it was basically in the middle of everything we were doing in 2 days. The staff was super friendly, the room was perfect, breakfast in the morning was great, and the shuttle service to the Space Needle was a nice plus. We got checked in by 11 am, which was great, because we had a day full of activities planned, and it was nice to get our stuff put away so we could enjoy ourselves. The price was very reasonable as well. I totally recommend staying here!!

Room Tip: We got a suite on the 5th floor. It was perfect for our party of 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle Downtown
Belltown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union

Property: SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Address: 1800 Yale Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,546 - ₹ 22,337
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. Just minutes from the Westlake Center via light rail, the Convention Center, The Space Needle, Waterfront, Pike Place Market and the Cruise Terminal's, our Seattle hotel's accommodations offer easy access to many of the city's top attractions. Start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet, and end it with a specialty cocktail at our Bistro on Yale Bar (happy hour is from 4-7 p.m.), or enjoy fresh regional fare at the Bistro on Yale Restaurant. Guests can also enjoy our Seattle downtown hotel's swimming pool, spa, fitness center, and free shuttle service. We are also proud to offer Complimentary access to 24 Hour Fitness located across the street. On-site parking is a valet-only service for a fee. All of our Seattle hotel suites offer spacious living and sleeping areas separated by a privacy wall, as well as kitchenettes with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We look forward to welcoming you to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing