We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but not excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The Alexis has some great features but they don't fully engage in them for example; the free coffee in the morning - they have it out for about an hour and take it away at 9.30am which is when I would normally be waking up. This was the only hotel out of the 5 I visited on this trip to the states that didn't have a coffee maker in the room. For this reason I would have expected the free coffee in the lobby to have been around for longer.

The free bikes are a great idea but there are 2 bikes for the whole hotel and one is a big man's bike. Not ideal for too females travelling together as we were.

It is a pet friendly hotel which I think is great but the lift constantly smelt of wet dog when I was there. Maybe a constant air freshener in there wwould be useful.

On the plus side the room was exquisite and I loved the hair products in the bathroom. The location is great with it being just a short walk to the harbour and to Pike Place Market. And the staff are very friendly but that is usual in the states.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and hit the excellent marks! We do offer in room keurig coffee makers for those needing coffee later in the day (like me). Just ask the front desk and housekeeping will get it set up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,066)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Alexis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,395 - 1,399 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

Everytime I stay at a Kimpton property, I am always thrilled with what I encounter! Lovely rooms, great coffee in the morning -- you name it. The location is unbeatable (especially for walking) and bikes are available for FREE! Especially nice is the Bookstore Bar. Just enchanting! Next time I'll dine there since the food coming out of the kitchen looked tasty. This visit, I had a nightcap and that was just right.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

The bikes are free! Hope you had a chance to enjoy them while you were here, we have had a beautiful fall, so they have been seeing a lot of use. I am tempted to take them out for a spin myself every once in a while!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Excellent service and well appointed room features.
We made a spontaneous trip to immerse ourselves in the local culture. Hotel was very close in to all, Pike's Market, Pioneer Square etc. Staff made excellent recommendations for dinner
Our room was 447, one bedroom suite of almost a 1000sq ft. No viewscape, but very quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoneCanexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Alexis 9/11/12-9/14/12 and had a very pleasant stay. I was in Seattle for work and found the service level of the front desk and Valet staff friendly and very efficient.
My room was spacious and actually had a large balcony with chairs. From talking with other co-workers, it sounds like the rooms are fairly unique as one other person has a jacuzzi. If you have a preference, I'm sure the front desk staff would be able to accommodate. Comfortable beds. There is also a bar attached to the hotel which has a trendy vibe without being crowded. My group shared some appetizers which were all delicious. As this is a Kimpton hotel, there is a complimentary happy hour from 5-6 which is always a nice touch. The hotel is also dog friendly.
I also liked the hotel location as there is plenty of shopping, restaurants, Pike's Market all within easy walking distance. Overall, I don't think you could go wrong staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Your co-worker was right - almost every room here is different, so definitely unique. Glad we found one that was perfect for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My wife and I live in Washington and this hotel is good enough that we have stayed here 3 times in the last 18 months and it's only 40 minutes from our house. Great design, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Become a Kimpton In-Touch member and watch for deals and you can get a great deal. The Bookstore Bar is a nice place to grab a drink and maybe a quick dessert. Totally recommend.

Room Tip: Watch for Kimton In-Touch deals. If your a member I have had them upgrade me for free.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenOly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Another regular! Thanks so much for the review. Totally appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.3 km away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
0.6 km away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
2,701 reviews
0.3 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 102 in Seattle
3,132 reviews
0.4 km away
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
0.4 km away
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Alexis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Alexis Hotel

Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Green Hotel in Seattle
#12 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: ₹ 16,436 - ₹ 38,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Alexis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast's Gold List, Kimpton Alexis Hotel knows how to raise the bar with stand out hospitality and amenities (including Amazon Echo Dots in every room and suite) making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel's commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Kimpton Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Author's Corner & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Alexis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing