We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a night or two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westmark Inn Skagway
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Skagway
Reviewed 18 September 2017

For a single night after an Alaskan ferry cruise, before heading onwards, the Westmark Inn and Skagway was a safe bet with comfortable rooms and service.
Two things though: the wifi is average at best and only available in communal areas, and the breakfast is a bit overprices for what’s on offer. Given most people are up early for the onward part of their journey, Westmark have a bit of captive market in this regard.

Room Tip: its not a busy town in the evening so all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EF_05Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Walking distance to restaurants and shops. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The desk staff were always pleasant and helpful. The hotel offered plenty of space to relax after a long day. If you get a room on the back side of the hotel expect people or vehicle noise early in the morning. Best to keep window closed.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank traveler6210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Stayed here one night while on an overnight trip to Skagway from Whitehorse. Price was the same as listed for other hotels in Skagway.
The building is old (apparently it was built as an army barracks) but it is in good shape and well-decorated, or at least the common areas we saw and our room were. The decor is a but rustic but that's kind of the point of Skagway. Service at check-in and check-out was good. Room was very clean.
Be aware that there is no Wi-Fi in the rooms, only in the lobby/cafe, which is probably a big deal for some people, although not for us (at least not on this trip).
There is a secondary building across the street, so also be aware that it's possible you could end up with a room there.
Parking is in a gravel lot around the corner. We arrived early in the morning and even though we couldn't check in for a few hours the reception desk gave us a parking permit for the lot with no hassle, which was appreciated, since it meant we could park, start exploring, and come back and check in later. If you have a lot of luggage though you would probably want to unload in front of the hotel and then park.
We went to the Chilkoot Cafe for breakfast, but found it pretty much empty except for the single staff person. They only had a couple of breakfast sandwiches on offer so we just had a coffee and then went up the street to the Sweet Tooth Cafe, which had a much better breakfast menu.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We stayed here for one night as part of our tour. My room was across the street on ground level, with outside access, so my biggest concern would be there was no extra security chain on the door, when staying alone, this is important to me. The bathroom was very clean, but the carpet in the bedroom and the bedspread I wasn't too sure about, the sheets were clean, so just removed the spread . No wifi in rooms, you have to go across to the lobby or cafe , dining area. we ate both supper and breakfast here, and the food was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We only had an overnight stay but had no complaints with our night in this Westmark. The bed slept well, all amenities in our room worked fine and the décor was decent. The room was also very clean and the temperature control worked perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
26.2 km away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
139 reviews
25.3 km away
Captain's Choice Motel
0.3 km away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#3 of 5 in Skagway
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 km away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
26.4 km away
House No. 1 Fort Seward B&B
26 km away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Inn Skagway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Inn Skagway

Address: Third & Spring Street, Skagway, AK 99840-0515
Region: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Skagway
Price Range: ₹ 8,944 - ₹ 11,666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westmark Inn Skagway 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular Westmark Inn Skagway captures the spirit of the Klondike Trail with its Victorian decor, rustic setting and warm Alaskan hospitality. The Inn's 151 guest rooms accommodate travelers in turn-of-the-century style, while guests looking for a special dining experience will enjoy the Chilkoot Dining Room where you can find friendly service and fine food. The mere mention of Skagway brings to mind those rough and ready days of Jack London and miners scrambling over the Chilkoot Trail in search of golden dreams and elusive riches. Skagway and the Westmark Inn today continue to reflect the charm and personality of those days gone by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmark Inn Skagway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Inn Skagway Hotel Skagway
Westmark Hotel Skagway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing