We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Inn, Great Food, Owner Incredibly Helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Historic Skagway Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Skagway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique Inn, Great Food, Owner Incredibly Helpful”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed in the Skagway Inn at the end of September during marginal weather. I had to unexpectedly overnight in Skagway due to inclement weather. The owner, Karl, went out of his way to accomodate all the stranded guests and drove us to the ferry at the crack of dawn. Excellent customer service indeed!

The garden is beautiful and the food and drinks are delicious. It's fun to stay at a place with local character and color.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneauLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    62
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
34
70
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alpine, Wyoming
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is a true historic hotel with a neat history in a great location. The garden is beautiful and everything feels familiar and welcoming. Dont expect large rooms with Tv or a swimming pool. The rooms are small and the furnishings are fairly true to period..Some rooms have full baths, some half and some none so know what you need before you book. The only complaint was the breakfast was plain with little personal service. It feels more like a hotel then a B&B.

Room Tip: look at the room descriptions online and then call to book. The rooms are all named after the ladie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wyomingbusdriverjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

An ex brothel. The rooms are named after the girls. Have stayed here three times so it must be good, Really friendly people who tried very hard by email and photos to re-unite us with a lost mac. It is furnished with antiques and very comfy beds but a bit short on bathrooms, which considering it is a very old house isn't surprising. Just make sure you book early and specify bathroom. Good breakfasts, and next door is a very friendly bistro which belongs to the inn. The garden is absolutely beautiful and a lovely place to sit. An easy walk to the shops and restaurants and well away from the cruise ships and the White Pass Railway.

Room Tip: Book early - very popular and gets full up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The Inn is a very nice oasis in the middle of the cruise ship playground that's downtown Skagway. When you walk into the main property entrance, you're smack in the middle of a working kitchen garden, which I had to put off touring until we'd checked in, which was quick and painless. There were many lovely rooms, decorated in the 1800's style and named after various ladies of the evening. We had reserved the little room at the back (named "Ida") with a shared bathroom, which never presented any problem. The room was small but very comfortable and we both slept well. The only negative is something I'm kind of torn about: the view from the window was the large compost pile for the restaurant that's attached ("Olivia's", I believe). While it wasn't appetizing to look at in the least, I was happy that they were composting!! We just closed the curtains. We'd return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed one night and left early because we could not switch to room with private bath. Only charged for one night even tho we had booked for 3. We would stay again if private bath is available. Good service.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
0.3 km away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
26.6 km away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
26.3 km away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 km away
Captain's Choice Motel
25.8 km away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Skagway Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Skagway Inn

Property: Historic Skagway Inn
Address: 655 Broadway, Seventh & Broadway, Skagway, AK 99840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Skagway
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,343 - ₹ 10,343
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Skagway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1897 during height of the Klondike Gold Rush. First operated as a brothel, now family oriented country inn. Ten guest rooms, each different range from queen bed private bath to 2-twin beds with on hallway shared bath. Each stay includes a full hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Historic Skagway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing