We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
40
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood stove close to town hot plate columbine cabin cozy cabin front porch comfortable bed kendra soaring robes pans woods bikes microwave hosts camping alaska
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017

The best feature of staying at The Swaying Spruce is that it gets you AWAY from the hordes of cruise ship passengers clogging the town. We stayed in the Columbine cabin, which was definitely on the small side, but fine for 3 of us (including my wife and 14-year-old daughter). Loved the setting of the cabin, nestled on a rock base among the trees, with glimpses of cloud covered mountain in the background. The owner was welcoming, and we had everything we needed for a pleasant 1-night stay. All-in-all, while I took the score down a notch for size, this place otherwise deserves full marks. Definitely give them a shot if you're looking for peace away from town.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dixiedmutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

So glad we booked at the Swaying Spruce, not knowing anything about Skagway accommodations. It's peacefully tucked away into the forest but close enough to enjoy Skagway, especially with the provided bikes (the ride into town is easy and safe). Kendra and Jesse made us feel really welcome and were available for any questions we had. The cabins are simple, thoughtfully appointed, and clean, and have a cottagey feel. Will definitely stay here again next time we are in Skagway. I think it's probably the best bang for your buck in a town of really expensive and chain-y hotels. Zero complaints about this place!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

In the hustle and bustle of Skagway it was nice to relax in our cabins in the trees. The cabins were clean and were equipped with all that we needed. The hosts helped us get checked in and were available when we had questions. All in all a great place to stay just outside of Skagway

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

One room cabin with a modern bath was very rustic, warm, and well maintained. The owners were great, picked us up from the airport, drove us to town when we were leaving, had bikes available to ride into town. Their dog and children were very friendly. If we would have had a car to drive into town I would have stayed our entire stay in Skagway at The Swaying Spruce. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Good stay at the Swaying Spruce. The cabin has everything we needed for a short stay, clean, comfortable bed, great view, close to town but in the woods. Nice, accommodating Inn keeper. Easy to find. They have all the information you need for local restaurants, tours, trails and happenings.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews