We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
298
19
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
19
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salmon steak pancakes chilkoot trail surf and turf fire pit skagway area great hosts coleslaw place to stay gravel road log cabin scenic drive her husband awesome place free bikes minute drive
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

This was our first trip to Alaska and the chilkoot trail outpost was the by far the best lodging we had! In addition the hosts Fred and Kathy are the nicest people with a lot of great tips and recommendations. I can't wait to go back next year. The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable. This is luxe cabin living!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daydream135560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Fred and Kathy were fantastic hosts! Kathy has a great sense of humor, and besides being great company, she has great tips for getting the most out of your visit in the area. Make sure to talk to her for tips along with some fascinating history of the area.

The lodge is located approximately 20 minutes outside of Skagway near the old townsite of Dyea, making for a very peaceful stay away from the chaos of the cruise ship passengers in town. The cabin was cozy and the food was quite good. With advance notice, you can have a delicious salmon dinner in the dining hall, an offer which I took and by no means regretted!

In short, I'm looking forward to my next stay here!

Room Tip: If the cabins are fully booked, hope is not lost! Ask if the overflow rooms in the conference center are available.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Awesome cabins...clean and modern...new and up to date...great breakfast included...supper is available if mentioned ahead of time with owner/host Cathy....an absolute gem in the woods..just 7 miles outside of Skagway...in Dyea...worth the very scenic drive...do not pass this up....at the start of the Chilkoot trail.....
Owners very hospitable and helpful..
Activities can be arranged here....Whitepass train...Fjord express boat to Juneau..
Would definitely recommend this wonderful place...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Two of us recently hiked the Chilkoot Trail and chose to stay here the night before and after the big hike. We are sure glad that we booked the Hiker's Special and stayed in this wonderful place. The food was great, accommodations perfect and the owners and workers made us feel like family. I would definitely book here again, it was the perfect place to rest up for and recover from the Chilkoot Trail.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BRDman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We travelled the Golden Circle (Whitehorse-Haines Junction-Haines-Skagway-Carcross-Whitehorse), and this was my daughter's absolute favorite accommodation! Such a lovely, cute cabin, the most wonderful hostess, and delicious, home-cooked meals. It was absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: Better than staying in Skagway! The short drive out of town is worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bibi569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews