We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
110
26
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
26
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade muffins cookies cookie jar continental breakfast hard boiled eggs b and b great place to stay an easy walk main floor post card historic accommodation upstairs room served buffet style little things older home rooms are nicely decorated close to downtown
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This B&B was one of the highlights of our trip to Alaska. We only spent one night, but I wish it had been more. I used to live in Skagway/Dyea about 10 years ago, so I know the area well. It was the perfect location in Skagway - a close walk to all the shops, but just outside the main strip to avoid the hustle and bustle. The hosts were accommodating and the food was fantastic (particularly the homemade muffins). We highly recommend this place.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jakehays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

"Appreciation can make a day – even change a life. Your willingness to put it into words is all that is necessary." ~ -Margaret Cousins

Your kind words are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to pass them on to the staff that makes it all work.

Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

The White House is a beautiful historic accommodation in Skagway, AK. with continental breakfast served buffet style (home backed goods!).
The owners are very hospitable. Room and bathroom were very clean with fridge, microwave, iron and hairdryer provided in the room.
We stayed in Room # 205 with separate living room area which was fantastic.
It was excellent stay in Skagway.
I would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannaJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you Joanna. So glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Future travelers reading your post should know though, that the room you were in, #205, is one of a kind. No other rooms have microwaves or irons - though they are available upon request. Thanks for staying with us. Kind regards and happy trails, Jan and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

The staff was very friendly and accommodating inviting my daughter who was working for the summer in Skagway to join us for breakfast. The bedrooms were roomy and very nicely decorated, but the bed was extremely uncomfortable, so much so that my husband and I were only able to lie in the bed for 5 hours. Therefore we were up every morning very early. Breakfast was plentiful but only average for a B and B.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear TRAVELERS,
If you find yourself in a bed that is so uncomfortable that you cannot sleep more than five hours, and you are slated to stay more than one night, I beg of you, on behalf of all Innkeepers, tell your host. They may or may not be able to move you, but they may be able to fix the issue. In this case, I was able to contact the guest after this posting. Upon investigation we found two very obvious problems that we could fix in a matter of minutes. A squeaky box spring meets WD40 and we are happy again. Also, we found that the cross bar that runs across the middle of the mattress on the bottom was not properly positioned, probably due to the bed being moved around. It was running almost perpendicular! As a B&B, we are here for the primary purpose of providing you, the TRAVELER, a good night's rest. When we fall short, we want to fix things. The beds are Sealy Posturpedics for that reason and are often a topic of conversation over the breakfast table. We are here for YOU ... don't forget that. We are thankful for having been alerted to the problem, albeit after the fact and on a world wide stage - but hey, that works too. Thanks TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

A lovely B&B, with friendly and helpful owners. We had a nice big room (205?), with separate sitting room, microwave and fridge. Everything in town is walkable - though you can always call the local SMART shuttle (door-to-door anywhere in town for $2 fare) if you can't walk, or have luggage. Our only complaint would be breakfast, which was rather skimpy - bread, fruit, hard-boiled eggs. Anywhere else in the USA, B&Bs seem to fall over themselves to offer the best gourmet breakfast in town. Not in Alaska (with the honorable exception of Anchorage), where this 'minimalist' breakfast seems to be the norm. A shame considering the prices are not cheap...

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank malvern09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am disappointed to read that you found the breakfast to be skimpy. We do not have a commercial hood in our kitchen, which prevents us from offering stove top meals. And another reason we opted for the Continental is to keep the rates where they are. When you pay over $5 for a gallon of milk or a loaf of bread, and the town often runs out of eggs, the prices we would have to charge go beyond what the average traveler is able to pay. And honestly, we aren't targeting the elite travelers anyways. When the reservation is made, we be sure to tell our callers that we offer a Continental breakfast. If they comment and question, I am more than happy to refer them to the Historic Skagway Inn and the Chilkoot Trail Outpost, both who offer a full cooked breakfast, and you will see that reflected in their pricing. But first and foremost, we want folks to be happy with their accommodations, wherever they may be. We also include a full page on our website detailing our breakfast offerings, so folks have an opportunity to ponder if this is sufficient for them.

http://www.atthewhitehouse.com/Breakfast.html

With a selection of six cold cereals, five instant hot cereals, fresh fruit, canned fruit bagels and cream cheese, English muffins, bread for toast, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, nuts, raisins, Craisins, chia seed, coconut and the like, plus fresh baked goods every day, it's pretty extensive for a Continental all in all. And we offer a nice selection gluten free products, as well as soy and almond milk.

"Exploration is really the essence of the human spirit." Frank Borman

Thanks again for staying with us, and keep on traveling ... John and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

The B&B White House has a home like feel with touch of whimsical history of gold rush era. The Owners and all employees are making sure you are comfortable and satisfied at all times. The place is extremely clean.
And ... oh man ! Jan had the best in the world - home made - rhubarb and berries jam served at breakfast! I will be back just to get some of that!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank niemampojecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

We are lucky to have great help is running our B&B and it shows in comments like yours. Thank you. Happy Trails, Jan and John

"Coming together is a beginning. Keeping together is progress. Working together is success." Henry Ford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews