We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the White House”
Review of The White House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skagway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White House
Ranked #2 of 5 Skagway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2017

This B&B was quaint and comfortable. We stayed two night and could have stayed longer. We felt so welcomed by the owners and staff . They serve a hearty breakfast and they offer coffee, tea and snacks all day long. The shuttle picks you up at the door. It's a tiny town, you'll learn your way around in a minute, but there's plenty to see and do, despite it's size. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Definitely visit Skagway and stay at the White House.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Leo Buscaglia
"Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around."

Susan, thank you for taking the time. It is my true joy to read words like these and be able to pass them along to all the folks that make up our world, At the White House, in Skagway, Alaska.

Happy trails, John and Jan Tronrud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

This B&B was one of the highlights of our trip to Alaska. We only spent one night, but I wish it had been more. I used to live in Skagway/Dyea about 10 years ago, so I know the area well. It was the perfect location in Skagway - a close walk to all the shops, but just outside the main strip to avoid the hustle and bustle. The hosts were accommodating and the food was fantastic (particularly the homemade muffins). We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jakehays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

"Appreciation can make a day – even change a life. Your willingness to put it into words is all that is necessary." ~ -Margaret Cousins

Your kind words are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to pass them on to the staff that makes it all work.

Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

The White House is a beautiful historic accommodation in Skagway, AK. with continental breakfast served buffet style (home backed goods!).
The owners are very hospitable. Room and bathroom were very clean with fridge, microwave, iron and hairdryer provided in the room.
We stayed in Room # 205 with separate living room area which was fantastic.
It was excellent stay in Skagway.
I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannaJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you Joanna. So glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Future travelers reading your post should know though, that the room you were in, #205, is one of a kind. No other rooms have microwaves or irons - though they are available upon request. Thanks for staying with us. Kind regards and happy trails, Jan and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

The staff was very friendly and accommodating inviting my daughter who was working for the summer in Skagway to join us for breakfast. The bedrooms were roomy and very nicely decorated, but the bed was extremely uncomfortable, so much so that my husband and I were only able to lie in the bed for 5 hours. Therefore we were up every morning very early. Breakfast was plentiful but only average for a B and B.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear TRAVELERS,
If you find yourself in a bed that is so uncomfortable that you cannot sleep more than five hours, and you are slated to stay more than one night, I beg of you, on behalf of all Innkeepers, tell your host. They may or may not be able to move you, but they may be able to fix the issue. In this case, I was able to contact the guest after this posting. Upon investigation we found two very obvious problems that we could fix in a matter of minutes. A squeaky box spring meets WD40 and we are happy again. Also, we found that the cross bar that runs across the middle of the mattress on the bottom was not properly positioned, probably due to the bed being moved around. It was running almost perpendicular! As a B&B, we are here for the primary purpose of providing you, the TRAVELER, a good night's rest. When we fall short, we want to fix things. The beds are Sealy Posturpedics for that reason and are often a topic of conversation over the breakfast table. We are here for YOU ... don't forget that. We are thankful for having been alerted to the problem, albeit after the fact and on a world wide stage - but hey, that works too. Thanks TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

A lovely B&B, with friendly and helpful owners. We had a nice big room (205?), with separate sitting room, microwave and fridge. Everything in town is walkable - though you can always call the local SMART shuttle (door-to-door anywhere in town for $2 fare) if you can't walk, or have luggage. Our only complaint would be breakfast, which was rather skimpy - bread, fruit, hard-boiled eggs. Anywhere else in the USA, B&Bs seem to fall over themselves to offer the best gourmet breakfast in town. Not in Alaska (with the honorable exception of Anchorage), where this 'minimalist' breakfast seems to be the norm. A shame considering the prices are not cheap...

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank malvern09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am disappointed to read that you found the breakfast to be skimpy. We do not have a commercial hood in our kitchen, which prevents us from offering stove top meals. And another reason we opted for the Continental is to keep the rates where they are. When you pay over $5 for a gallon of milk or a loaf of bread, and the town often runs out of eggs, the prices we would have to charge go beyond what the average traveler is able to pay. And honestly, we aren't targeting the elite travelers anyways. When the reservation is made, we be sure to tell our callers that we offer a Continental breakfast. If they comment and question, I am more than happy to refer them to the Historic Skagway Inn and the Chilkoot Trail Outpost, both who offer a full cooked breakfast, and you will see that reflected in their pricing. But first and foremost, we want folks to be happy with their accommodations, wherever they may be. We also include a full page on our website detailing our breakfast offerings, so folks have an opportunity to ponder if this is sufficient for them.

http://www.atthewhitehouse.com/Breakfast.html

With a selection of six cold cereals, five instant hot cereals, fresh fruit, canned fruit bagels and cream cheese, English muffins, bread for toast, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, nuts, raisins, Craisins, chia seed, coconut and the like, plus fresh baked goods every day, it's pretty extensive for a Continental all in all. And we offer a nice selection gluten free products, as well as soy and almond milk.

"Exploration is really the essence of the human spirit." Frank Borman

Thanks again for staying with us, and keep on traveling ... John and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
0.5 km away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
229 reviews
26.8 km away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
138 reviews
0.2 km away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#3 of 5 in Skagway
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
House No. 1 Fort Seward B&B
26.5 km away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: Eighth & Main Sts, PO Box 41, Skagway, AK 99840-0041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Skagway
Price Range: ₹ 4,871 - ₹ 11,625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfy little inn, bringing together modern conveniences and Skagway history, for a restful night's sleep. Rooms vary in size, but they all feature cable TV, handcrafted quilts, wireless Internet, mini refrigerators, screened windows and ceiling fans. The Continental breakfast has lots of choices. Warm, welcoming, and open year round. Afternoon tea and the cookie jar are always a treat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing