We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed here for a single night in June. This was our first stop after arriving from the US and was just the thing we needed to relax. We were greeted with a cool towel for our faces and a wonderful tropical juice drink with mint leaves.The greeting set the stage for a beautifully relaxing afternoon and evening. The casitas are very nice, cozy and peaceful. We did the nature walk around the property and visted the chapel. Very nice. Happy hour at the lodge was very nice and we sat on the big porch and watched the evening roll in. This resort has a peaceful, mellow atmosphere that is perfect for relaxation. The restaurant is pricey and the food is average with the exception of the breakfast which was excellent (included). The service was excellent from the front desk to the restaurant staff. It is cool here, even in June, and so we started a nice fire in our fireplace and fell into a peaceful sleep after a long day of travel. One night was enough for us as we were off to more adventurous activites, but if you for rest and relaxation, this is a perfect place!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petd0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

823 - 827 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

This was an amazing place to stay in the high country of Costa Rica. He service was great and the yoga studio was a nice touch. The casitas have an authentic touch to them and the hotel grounds have I be seen to be believed.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBwyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Get ready to unplug in this breathtakingly beautiful resort. The nature paths are incredible. Fabulous guides-wonderful bird watching. Not to mention the adorable casitas and fantastic food. Lodge has a rich, yet rustic feeling and breakfast is OUTSTANDING. Make sure you walk the trails and see the farm--I got to milk the cow and also had hummingbirds literally eating out of my hands. Magical, beautiful, unforgettable. I will return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This hotel was an absolute treasure of a find. The rooms are individual cottages decorated in rustic eco friendly decor. The hotel grounds are expansive and beautifully and meticuously maintained. The staff is exceptionally well trained to meet your every need. They go above and beyond in terms of friendliness and professionalism. The restaurant food was exceptional. Fresh creations from their own gardens. What was most enjoyable was the on premise activities. Day and night hikes, milking dairy cows and relaxing in their spacious lounge. You wont miss having a TV in your room with all there is to do at this wonderful hotel!
Truly one of the hifblights of our vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

A recent trip there had us at first not sure if we'd ever find the place, as it is at the end of a 9 kilometer unpaved road with a number of potholes! But once we got there, and checked at the friendly reception and our bags were taken by someone using a sturdy hand cart to our little cottage, we were quickly realizing what a special place this is. Our cottage had a small fireplace in the corner that was wonderful, as the evenings were surprisingly cool (not cold), even in May. The 'back patio' with chairs was a fabulously peaceful place to sit whether at dawn or dusk or any other time - the nature sounds (and nothing else) were incredible. The air, filled with fragrances of plants and flowers, smelled divine. Meals and service at the main lodge were excellent, with local produce and meats so fresh. Did the night 'walk' through the woods with the guide and saw lots of critters. Fun. Horseback ride was great. But best was the nature walk around the whole property, which includes a large humming bird feeding spot that is VERY busy first thing in the morning! You'll literally be surrounded by humming birds and can take lots of great photos and video. Amazing.
The 'cloud' part of it happened in the afternoon - became very foggy around, meaning driving back to the place late afternoon was a bit challenging (like driving in thick fog), but in the mornings the weather was pretty clear (and wonderful).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitkahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
19.7 km away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
711 reviews
40 km away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
902 reviews
40.2 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,319 reviews
38 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,374 reviews
38.1 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range: ₹ 7,325 - ₹ 18,408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing