We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place for relaxation, horseback riding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for relaxation, horseback riding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I think Villa Blance came at just the right time in our 2 week vacation. We had been the Arenal Volcano area and did so many activities we needed some rest and relaxation to refuel for the next trip to the Manuel Antonio beach area. We loved the casita. We had the Honeymoon Casita and the quiet surroundings were much needed. We had a problem with our tub which was fixed promptly and I appreciated the the efforts of all the staff. We stayed 3 nights which was enough to enjoy the beautiful grounds, hike around the property, go on the horseback riding trip (FANTASTIC) and the night walk. My husband even went down to the milking farm to milk the cows. We did go to the spa and get a massage and that was great as well. I was glad we went to spend a few days there before going down to the busy tourist area of Manuel Antonio beaches and I wouldn't have know about it if it hadn't been recommended since we were there during busy Easter weekend and they thought that Mounteverde would be too crowded. My husbands' favorite part was the small fireplace that we used each night and the horseback riding up the hills. The drive is not that bad if you take it slowly. After the restful days there we were ready to be on the move again. I would think 2 or 3 days are enough to see and do everything. The town is too far away to drive so plan on enjoying the property. They have some great packages on their website. We found the entire staff helpful and they were great at giving us directions to our next hotel. Thanks Villa Blanca!

Room Tip: There isn't any air conditioning but it is not necessary in this area. Make sure to build a fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiowills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    168
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
266
491
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My family spent two nights at the Villa Blanca (March 31-April 2 2012) and we had a blast. We have two boys ages 11 and 14 and, despite their fears that there wouldn't be anything to do, they found that two days wasn't enough to enjoy all the things the Villa has to offer (though I'd say that you can certainly hit the highlights in two days).

The two best things we did was horseback ride and take a night hike. The horseback ride took us over the rolling hills next to the Villa Blanca property. We aren't experienced riders but the horses were accustomed to tenderhorns like us and stayed on the trail without much guidance from us. One word of caution--a couple of the horses like to stretch their legs a bit on the straightaways, so if you're like me and not used to galloping, it can be a bit of a shock; but my older son and I, who wound up with the frisky horses, had a great time once we figured out when they were likely to open the throttle.

The night hike with Roy was a must-do experience. Roy is a wildlife biologist and he takes you into the cloud forest on the property for a one to two hour hike to spot frogs, spiders and other forest creatures. He is a wealth of knowledge and we all learned a lot about what makes Costa Rica's cloud forests so unique.

The rest of the property is a pleasure to explore on your own. There are trails, a gameroom with a pool table, which the boys used every chance they got, and a main lodge where you get your meals and can sit on the veranda looking out over the cloud forest. The staff is very friendly, to top it all off.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here 3 nights as part of a tour group which took over the entire place. We were randomly allocated casitas so some were larger than others and with different bathroom facililtes but ours was perfectly satisfactory although the wardrobe being in the bathroom was a little odd and drawer space would have been handy. Meals were taken in the main building - good breakfast buffet and pre - chosen dinner in the evening although this may not normally be the case. Our first full day the clouds cleared giving a wonderful view of the surrounding country but on the second day the clouds barely lifted so be prepared for this. We took the night hike with the resident naturalist which was interesting and took a trip to the local town of San Ramon - nothing special but interesting to see an orinary Costa Rican town as oppose to one geared up for tourists. Other facilities include a spa, nightly films , pool table and free internet access but essentially this is a quiet and peaceful place and if you're not 'into nature' this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyingreen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Blanca for the first night of a weeklong trip. After a drive through some cloudy winding roads (but exciting!), we arrived at a beautiful hotel and were greeted by a friendly receptionist. The hotel rooms are small bungalows throughout the hotel's grounds. The rooms are simple and rustic, which adds to the charm of the resort. Dinner and breakfast were both delicious, while 2 for 1 happy hour was a nice touch to bring the guests together for some mingling. We did the guided night hike, which was led my a funny and well-informed guide. We learned a lot and had a lot of fun.

For those wondering - the cloud forest is cloudy! You won't have panoramic views because of the clouds, but staying in the cloud forest is a unique experience that I'd definitely recommend. We couldn't have picked a better hotel for our first night in costa rica.

Stayed April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

It took quite a drive to get to this location. It is very out of the way, which is nice if you like some solitude (I do), but not so great if you're looking for night life. The best feature of ths hotel is the restaurant. I ate three meals plus the buffet breakfast while I was there. The food was incredible. They grow their own veggies so be sure to try a salad, one of the vegetable soups, or a vegetarian dish. I tried their vegetarian enchilada (I think that's what it was), and it was as good as any meat dish I have tried. The fish was fresh and delicious.

The rooms were nice enough. I would describe it as rustic. I think they could use a bit of updating, just paying attention to detail a little more. For example, the back door to the patio was stuck and took quite an effort to open, then I couldnt get it closed again. The bed seemed a bit old, as did the chairs and desk. But I assume try we're going for that old, quaint feel, and it just isn't my style.

If you are looking for peace and serenity, you will really like Villa Blanca.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poopycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
40.2 km away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
19.7 km away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
36.0 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.0 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
39.8 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
39.5 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Property: Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,188 - ₹ 15,144
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing