We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sourdough Sunrise B & B
Nearby Hotels
US$ 120
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Seward(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$ 118
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 105
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sauerdough Lodging(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor 360 Hotel(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$ 154
US$ 149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Motel(Seward)
US$ 77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taroka Inn(Seward)
US$ 150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
82
15
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
15
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade jamspancake breakfastprovided excellent advicegreat hostsbed and breakfasteach morningdowntown sewardminute driveexit glacier roadrecommend staying hereenjoyed our staybeds were comfortabletwo night stayspent two nightswoodworkrichardcarpenter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

There are three rooms in this B&B. We stayed room 3 and our friends stayed in room 2. Rates were the same but the rooms weren't. 3 is relatively large and 2 is small with minimal space for bags. No hanging space.

The design of the place means sloping walls which further constricts the space.

There is no public space to speak of. The two choices are in tour room or go somewhere else. The breakfast room downstairs is locked except for breakfast.

The "hosts" live in the buildn behind. They did not greet us. Instead there was a sign telling us our room assignment. We first et te host at breakfast the next AM.

Breakfast was sourdough pancakes and bacon both mornings.

Bes part was a moose and calf just outside the first morning.

Hard to find as GPS was wrong on road layout.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandemCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We met with friends and were impressed with the cleanliness of the room. This is one of the biggest pluses for me when staying in a hotel or B&B. The sourdough pancakes were delicious and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. Only complaints were the flannel sheets in July with no air conditioning, no irons and no internet access. However we were extremely happy with everything else and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lktaylor76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This B&B is one of a kind and the hospitality is amazing!!! It was wonderful to have the house separate from the owners dwelling, and they were more than willing to sit down at breakfast and visit for as long as the conversation allowed. We loved the stories told from long time Alaskans. The craftsmanship in the B&B is truly a work of art, Richard is an amazing carpenter who's dedication to quality work is evident throughout the house and property. The room was perfect in size, the beds were wonderfully comfy, the bathroom was roomy, and we had all the ammenities that we wanted at our fingertips. Breakfast was offered at a time that was convenient for us which we thought was a wonderful touch and the sourdough pancakes were truly one of a kind, we could eat them every day for weeks and never get bored. We loved this B&B and can't wait to return again and again. This is a wonderful place for families, couples seeking a romantic retreat, and travelers of all ages who want a quiet piece of true Alaskan hospitality!!! I would HIGHLY recommend this B&B!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALT49inAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Located away from the hustle & bustle of downtown is this beautifully hand-crafted B&B. The inlayed wood designs are amazing. Our room was a nice size & very clean and quiet. We stayed two nights & one morning Richard cooked our pancakes & bacon and the next morning it was Sue. Both were extremely friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anntricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I always feel like Alaskan B and B's are done strictly for additional income. Spent 2 nights here, its about 10 minutes out of downtown so you need a car, and we had good weather and great outdoor activities. Hosts were present only for breakfast, which takes away from interactions I think, and breakfast is is always sourdough pancakes and bacon, with some fruit, which is fine for 2 mornings but I prefer more choices. The house is amazing, hand built by the owner, a fine craftsman, but the t.v./dvr did not work, no instructions, no wireless, and the shower enclosure is tiny ( I am normal weight so thats not exaggeration). But it is peaceful, and great place to eat is around the corner ( The Salmon Bake).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews