We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Seward”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sourdough Sunrise B & B
Ranked #12 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Seward”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Found the Sourdough B&B using Tripadvisor.

Disclaimer on this review: I've stayed around the world in B&B so I've seen some phenomenal B&B's (some only costing $75 per night)!

We stayed in bedroom #1. The room was small, yet sufficient. It's a cute little house, clean, 3 bedrooms, all of which are upstairs. The owners must live close by.

Pros-- quiet, off of the beaten path. Outside of town, so if you want to walk to downtown Seward, you need to get in your car.
- Great sundeck.
- Breakfast was really good (sourdough pancakes) and the host was a really nice guy. The hospitality was appreciated.
- Clean and pretty quiet

Cons
- The bathroom is kinda funky in room #1.
- Not much in terms of toiletries (bring your own shampoo and soap).
- Beds and sheeting were a little.....old. I've slept in better. Probably time for some new sheets and bedding.

All in all a nice place....I've stayed in some B&B's with the wow factor -- that's what I look for. At $150 a night the price was about average relative to what I've seen at other B&B's. Nice place, was sufficient, cute.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
58
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

There are three rooms in this B&B. We stayed room 3 and our friends stayed in room 2. Rates were the same but the rooms weren't. 3 is relatively large and 2 is small with minimal space for bags. No hanging space.

The design of the place means sloping walls which further constricts the space.

There is no public space to speak of. The two choices are in tour room or go somewhere else. The breakfast room downstairs is locked except for breakfast.

The "hosts" live in the buildn behind. They did not greet us. Instead there was a sign telling us our room assignment. We first et te host at breakfast the next AM.

Breakfast was sourdough pancakes and bacon both mornings.

Bes part was a moose and calf just outside the first morning.

Hard to find as GPS was wrong on road layout.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandemCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We met with friends and were impressed with the cleanliness of the room. This is one of the biggest pluses for me when staying in a hotel or B&B. The sourdough pancakes were delicious and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. Only complaints were the flannel sheets in July with no air conditioning, no irons and no internet access. However we were extremely happy with everything else and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lktaylor76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This B&B is one of a kind and the hospitality is amazing!!! It was wonderful to have the house separate from the owners dwelling, and they were more than willing to sit down at breakfast and visit for as long as the conversation allowed. We loved the stories told from long time Alaskans. The craftsmanship in the B&B is truly a work of art, Richard is an amazing carpenter who's dedication to quality work is evident throughout the house and property. The room was perfect in size, the beds were wonderfully comfy, the bathroom was roomy, and we had all the ammenities that we wanted at our fingertips. Breakfast was offered at a time that was convenient for us which we thought was a wonderful touch and the sourdough pancakes were truly one of a kind, we could eat them every day for weeks and never get bored. We loved this B&B and can't wait to return again and again. This is a wonderful place for families, couples seeking a romantic retreat, and travelers of all ages who want a quiet piece of true Alaskan hospitality!!! I would HIGHLY recommend this B&B!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALT49inAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beebe, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Located away from the hustle & bustle of downtown is this beautifully hand-crafted B&B. The inlayed wood designs are amazing. Our room was a nice size & very clean and quiet. We stayed two nights & one morning Richard cooked our pancakes & bacon and the next morning it was Sue. Both were extremely friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anntricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
5.7 km away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
3.7 km away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.3 km away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
0.3 km away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
0.2 km away
Exit Glacier Lodge
Exit Glacier Lodge
#7 of 45 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sourdough Sunrise B & B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourdough Sunrise B & B

Property: Sourdough Sunrise B & B
Address: 11837 Old Exit Glacier Rd, PO Box 1813, Seward, AK 99664-9700
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,107 - ₹ 10,084
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, custom, one-of-a-kind bed and breakfast on 6 1/2 acres of wooded seclusion, just minutes from downtown Seward. Clean modern rooms with private baths and deluxe queen-size beds. World famous sourdough pancake breakfast served every morning along with great stories about 35 years of living in the Great Land. Come join us for some true Alaskan hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sourdough Sunrise Bed And Breakfast
Sourdough Sunrise Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing