We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your best option”
Review of Taroka Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taroka Inn
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
303 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Not your best option”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Sometime in the past this building was owned by the military and used as Officer’s Quarters, though I’m not sure what period that was. Whenever it was, I don’t think it has changed a whole lot since then. We were i unit #2. Very dark and gloomy but fairly roomy with two queen beds, a small kitchen area, and bath but awkwardly arranged with access to the bath through one of the bedrooms. The rooms had a “Glade” air freshener covering the musty smell with that sickeningly sweet smell that most air fresheners have. Unplugged the air freshener soon after arriving. The musty smell was better than the “fresh” smell. Some of the other rooms might possibly have been updated since the officers lived there, but don't think this one had been. The Crab Pot restaurant is right next door and, though we did not eat there, looked like a nice place and may have been connected in some way to the inn. WiFi worked fine as did the TV. Kitchen had gas stove, refrig, microwave, etc. but was somewhat cramped and not well supplied with dishes or utensiles. Price was $133 per night and, for that price or a little more, I'm sure there are better options.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NationalParkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    19
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Perfect for family stay, got kitchen--cookware & everything. Right across to the best crab place I ever tried. Good find :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taisansanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

A little run down with a bit of a 1950's vibe (like a lot of things in Seward), but a nice , albeit cramped, place for my family to chill between activities in Seward. Having a kitchen is a huge benefit so you don't get gouged for meals, and there is a gas stove, microwave, and toaster, along with cooking implements and a fridge, so you can really settle in- we didn't go to a restaurant the whole 3 days we were in Seward.

The lady on the phone is kind of gruff, but the guy who runs the place is super friendly and helpful. Good location, too. Just up the street from the Marine center and the boardwalk. Also, fast and free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmaass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not it! That being said, we enjoyed our stay at Taroka Inn and would stay there again. We had a room that was like a small apartment. It had a separate bedroom, living area, and kitchen. Having a kitchen was great--there was a Safeway a 5 minute drive from the hotel, so we saved so much money on food. There were 2 queen beds, so it was good for bigger groups. The staff was very friendly. The place looks worn-down, but it is clean and comfortable. A few minute walk from the downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colette424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.9 km away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#9 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.9 km away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 km away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taroka Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taroka Inn

Property: Taroka Inn
Address: 233 3rd Avenue, PO Box 2448, Seward, AK
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,129 - ₹ 9,656
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing