We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

My husband and I spent a week here. Our stay was very relaxing. The staff was wonderful. The hotel is a prime location for eating and shopping. Everything is within walking distance. Careful if you rent a car. They charge daily parking fees plus taxes and if you drive the strip instead of walking and expect to park, you will also have to pay. There is a Roberts Hawaii shuttle that you can ride for 2 bucks and it goes up and down Alii Drive all day long. The pier is a great place to go to and it's right across the street. On our visit, the Billfish Fishing Tournament was going on and we saw fisherman bring in 684 pound Marlin. From our room, we could watch the Luau that took place on site, which saved us money. Although I did not use the pool, I spent time at the beach right at the pool, it was a nice pool and has a pool side bar, which I did use.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mjs11505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    1,286
    348
    88
    58
See reviews for
763
1,297
152
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I love the location of this hotel!! It has a local pier next to it (actually across the street or parking lot) that the locals hang out. It is sooo much fun. The hotel itself could have been cleaner, their Wifi connections were horrible constantly going down. The staff was aloof and not super helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fullred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in early August 2012 in a 4th floor ocean front room in the east tower. I would have rather been in the west tower as it is further away from the pier and street but that was not available. The fishing tournament was starting as we were leaving so the hotel was busy. We arrived very early (8am) and our room was available as requested which was very nice after a long night of travel. The room was as to be expected as far as size and it seemed to be clean and in good repair. The beds were firm but that is the way we like them so it was very, very comfortable for us.

The ABC store downstairs is very convenient. Especially since the room has a refrigerator. Much cheaper to buy drinks and snacks there and keep them in the room. We had the breakfast brunch in the hotel once and it was good, not great. But the open air, ocean front view was great. The coffee shop downstairs was very good for Kona coffee, smoothies and pastries. Parking is easy and secure which was nice. We booked with a $50 resort credit which covered the parking. We ate at Splashers and at Quins, almost by the Sea across the street and I recommend both. Island Java within walking distance down Alii Drive was a great brunch spot. And Huggos Beach bar and the restaurant were great for sunset drinks and dinner. The hotel staff and concierge were helpful the few times we asked and everyone on staff always greeted you pleasantly. Housekeeping was well above average also. One day the AC wasn't working and we called the front desk and someone showed up within 5 minutes. He had to take part of the unit downstirs to work on it but within the hour he was back and it was working. The hotel location is very good as it is central to a lot of key places. The little hotel beach is nice and the snorkeling is surprisingly good. We also parasailed with UFO parasiling and they were very good and left from the pier which is right at the hotel. A lot of the outrigger canoe teams train out of the hotel beach and it was interesting watching them leave and come back. I would definitely stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: West side rooms are further away from road and pier and higher floors will have a better view. Hote...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Elk34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and I spent a week here. In the six nights that we stayed the fire alarm went off three times, almost exclusively in the middle of the night. I was told that one of these was an issue with the alarm but the others were apparently caused by people smoking in their rooms. I don’t know why we all have to wake up because someone is smoking but that’s the way the system works. That aside, the rooms were comfortable with the exception of the bed. We had a king ocean front room and the bed was VERY firm. This wouldn’t be a problem if we liked a very firm bed. No other rooms were available because of the Billfish tournament. So, we were sent up a few extra blankets to “pad “the bed. There was a strong odor just inside the door of the room which smelled like sewage but was not really noticeable after entering the main portion of the room. The view was great and the hotel is very conveniently located. They allowed us a late checkout due to our evening flight which was very nice. I would, however, stay away from the prime rib buffet. It is a bit pricey at $80 for the two of us. The prime rib and crab legs were both overdone. The desserts were very good though.
Assuming they repaired the fire alarm I would consider staying here again but would try the queen size bed to see if it was more comfortable.
I didn't rate at a 4 because of the food, just the bed and fire alarm. If it wern't for those thing I would have rated a 5.

Room Tip: Avoid a king room unless you prefer a very firm matress. Also, if you choose ocean front, opt for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Aloha Brent W,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We were sorry to hear about the issues with the fire alarms and the condition of your bed. We are all troubled by the challenges that you experienced during your stay with us. It was unfortunate that these events happened during your stay with us. Feedback such as yours is important to the ongoing improvement of our guest service standards. We strive to provide each of our guests with a wonderful experience and I do apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations on this visit. Should you find yourself returning to Kona, we would welcome the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Hotel is generally nice. However, when we arrived the air conditioning was not operating at full capacity so next day I asked the front desk to look at it , the response was try opening the balcony door , waiting 30 seconds as there is a bulit in sensor (in the wall?) , did this it did not solve the issue. Phoned front desk at least twice and they said it would be looked at however, it is was when I actually went to the front desk to say I paid for a room with a/c that the situation was rectified. Also two nights in a row fire alarm was set off 1:30 a.m. and 4:00 a.m., and to top it off when I phoned front desk at 1:30 a.m. (to find out if false or real) it rang and rang and then someone hung up. However, there was a minimal monetary compensation for this great inconvenience. I was on a holiday to relax and a reprieve from stressful situations did I get my rest sort of but it could have been better.

Room Tip: 6th floor partial ocean room quiet, breathtaking view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Aloha Nina144,
Thank you for taking the time to reivew our property on Trip Adivsor. I apologize on behalf of the hotel for your experience and for the disappointment with your stay. The comfort of of our guest's is very important to our team and I'm saddened that your experience wasn't everything you had expected. I can assure you that myself and the staff are working together to make the necessary changes to ensure that these challenges do not happen again in the future. Again, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with the fire alarm and air conditioning system. Should you find yourself coming to Kona again, we would appreciate the opportunity to change your mind about our property.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
43.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
33.6 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,382 - ₹ 21,846
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing