We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Duarte, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had a wonderful time staying here because of the friendly staff and comfort in our rooms. Whether it was hanging out by the pool or their own small beach area, it had everything we needed to enjoy our time in Kona. The food at the restaurants both in the hotel and across the street were delicious, and it was so convenient having ABC Stores on the property for our late night snacks and souvenirs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Hi Pris H from Duarte California!
We were very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Glad to hear that our hotel offered all the amenities and comfort that you needed for your vacation.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,077
    1,326
    365
    96
    63
See reviews for
803
1,338
157
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Union, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed 8 days at this Marriott resort....great place, and very nice people. The hotel provided everything we needed....we loved the village area...great food, plenty to do (or not do!) clean and relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front....it is worth the small difference in rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marlingirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This hotel was top notch for our stay. The rooms were VERY clean and well stocked with amenities (towels, soap, etc). The hotel is right on a small beach with allows for sunbathing (as long as the volcanic fog isn't acting up) as well as good snorkeling! Having the Kona Boys Beach Shack right there was great because we could rent snorkel gear and charge it right to the room at competitive prices (but check the ABC store, because you can BUY snorkel stuff for pretty cheap too). We didn't go to the restaurants or luaus, but the Billfish Bar was a cool place to chill and have a drink! And boy, do those blinds really block out the sun! If you want to sleep in, you can.

Having the Dollar Rent-a-Car right in the lobby was great! I recommend the Red Mustangs for cruising the coast :)

Additionally, there was male employee that worked the front desk with a shaved head (his name escapes me) who was AMAZING at helping us plan some cool road trips and generally taking care of our reservations and things. Never underestimate how much good service like we got on our trip can take a good trip and make it great.

It's a bit pricier than other spots on the strip, but it's worth it in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Aloha Bob L from Ames, Iowa,
We appreciate your great feedback and do our best to provide exceptional service to our guests. We thank you for your kind words for our staff service and our hotel amenities. Glad to hear that our location was perfect for you.
We look forward to having you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Wow, what a nice place in a great location. We had garden view and it was just right for sitting on the balcony and relaxing. The pool and beach front area is great to people watch and enjoy activities. Staff members so friendly and helpful. Karen and Jennifer poolside always smiling and welcoming. Good food at all venues and lots of choices. Really loved Honu's for a special meal and setting.

Room Tip: Ask not to view the roof or the tennis court. Garden or ocean front nice to look out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jammerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for a great review of our hotel and the kind words for the staff. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also dining at our Honu's restaurant.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at the King Kamehameha Kona Beach hotel (Courtyard Marriott owned) while visiting the Big Island for a week. We received nothing but excellent and warm, friendly service from the hotel staff. Everyone greeted us with a smile from the room attendants to the restaurant staff. We spoke with a few employees and found out that most of the staff has been working there for many years and they spoke of how much they loved their jobs there which said a lot about this hotel. Our room was very clean & overlooking a garden area with a view of the ocean in the distance. The Hawaiian artifacts and artwork displayed in the side hallway of the hotel was very fascinating to look at each day when we walked through the hotel. Kona Boys watersports equipment is just outside of the hotel on the beach cove & provides very friendly service & great prices for snorkel, paddleboard, kayak equipment, etc. The hotel is very centrally located in Kona and a convenient walk to most restaurants and shops on Allii Drive. Hawaiian tradition definitely shines here and made us feel very welcome. We look forward to coming back in the near future. Aloha!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
43.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,849 reviews
9.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
37.4 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,504 - ₹ 23,586
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing