We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Can't beat the location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Well located across the road from a variety of restaurants, bars and shops. Great spot, especially if you don't want to rent a car. We took a round island bus trip (1 day) with Roberts Tours and spent the other few days of our visit around Kona. Don't stay in Hilo - it rains too much. Good value. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    1,229
    317
    81
    53
See reviews for
726
1,229
145
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PORTLAND
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

I'm not sure how I feel about paying for hotel parking. On the one hand, in Kona it's so hard to find parking, it's nice to find some guaranteed. But to pay $10 when the hotel is already $138 per night seems extravegant. There are definitely cheaper places to stay in Kona.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheytull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have been in a long holiday trip and stayed at this hotel for one night only, we booked well in advance. The room was overall nice, we had a standard king. And the hotel is at walking distance to really everything.May be it lacked in .. let's say personality if I compare it to the others I've been during this trip but never mind it.
The stay wasn't however really pleasant. In first place we had small problem at check in when they couldn't find the deposit taken on our amex when we booked directly with the hotel web site and were going to charge us again. They found it however.
Then the room, they gave us the room number 576 - right behind the elevators.
We didn't ask for it to be changed because we realized it only hours later coming back from the beach and had used the bathroom already. But we didn't get so much sleep. in my opinion they shouldn't sell out those few room located behind the elevators... but as they do.. be sure to avoid it!
As the statement slided under the door was fine we did the express check out but in the end, coming back home, in Italy, we found out that they charged us for a bottle of water we never had... no point to call back the States for few dollars but.. still... we expect better from a Marriott.

Room Tip: avoid 576 behind elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, WI
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We arrived on a Friday for a 4 night stay. The 4th floor room we entered was nice, but had 2 queen beds, and we wanted a king. Also, the partial ocean view we paid extra for was disappointing. From the balcony, the ocean was in the distance over roofs and trees. Below us was a view of dilapidated tennis courts with no nets and the garbage area. I called the desk to request a room with a king bed, but was told bedding was not guaranteed and they were full and there were none available. I asked if they could give us a different room the next day and was told they would put a note in my file and I should call back the next day around 1:00. I called around noon, and was told a manager would call me back. 45 minutes later I had received no call. I called again and was told I would be called back. No call. The third time, I was told they were full, but were trying to find a room as they turned. 15 minutes later I did receive a call that they had a different room for us. I was hoping the view would also be improved, but it was the same. I don't know if it was worth the hassle, but we did enjoy the larger bed, more open space, and a small couch instead of an extra bed we didn't need. The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. We had a small refrigerator, a coffee maker, and free WI FI. We enjoyed being on the small sand beach, and were surprised that the snorkeling right off the beach was some of the best we did. We also rented standup paddle boards from Kona Boys right on the same beach. The pool was very nice, and a good size. We also enjoyed the hot tub, although a couple of times it had a little scummy foam in it. We went to the luau right on the grounds, which was very convenient, and we enjoyed it. As others have said, the location is great, walking distance to many restaurants and shops. We didn't eat there, as we usually looked for Happy Hours to save on food and drinks, and the hotel didn't have one. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Upgrading to "partial ocean view" is not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crmcwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of everything that you could possibly want. The view from our room was great for the daily sunrise, watching swimmers and kayaker’s at the beach also fisherman at the pier. Upgrade to the pier view for only $20 nightly, it’s definitely worth it!! The room had a 37” plasma tv, refrigerator and was nicely decorated, maid service was right on every day. The beds were so comfortable and had five pillows, several types to choose from. All the personnel in the hotel were so nice and pleasant and the breakfast buffet with omelet station was on the expensive side but a nice start to a couple of our mornings. The billfish bar which right next to the pool....we didn't use it....had good quick food, we took some to our room several times...try the burger with sautéed veggies instead of the fries, we couldn't stop ordering the burger it was so good!! Our room was not ready when we arrived so they comp’d us a free breakfast buffet for the wait....a $40 value, can't complain! Also, our first night there we had to look thru trees to see the water and pier so the next day we asked for a better view room and Ms. Ari at the front desk gave us a free upgraded view room because it was our 30th anniversary, don’t be afraid to let them know what your celebrating, they seem very happy to accommodate. You have to pay for parking, $10 daily, but it had plenty of spaces although it seemed to fill up pretty early at times, we never had a problem finding a spot. It was our first time to Kona and we spent 11 nights and had a great time, lots of things to do. Just a note, across the street is Quinn’s and down a little is the Fish Hopper Restaurant, both excellent choices. Enjoy you stay, you won’t be disappointed in this Marriott!!!

Room Tip: Go for the high floor West Tower, it's away from the street and better view if you ask for a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bevertl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.2 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
43.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,637 reviews
20.9 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,547 - ₹ 21,231
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurants newly renovated in 2011. All 452 rooms have been upgraded which feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen television and complimentary in-room safe. You’ll experience a brand new hotel from the moment you step into the new lobby. You’ll also find completely renovated corridors, business center, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool and a 24-hour complimentary guest fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing