We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and friendly service”

Umekes Fishmarket Bar & Grill
Ranked #23 of 314 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 20
Description: “UMEKE” is the Hawaiian word for “bowl.” At any Umeke’s eating establishment, a majority of menu items are designed to be served in bowls. Owner and Head Chef Nakoa Pabre is a seasoned professional who takes pride in giving customers the freshest, most exciting and varied menus that the Big Island has to offer. Guests typically design their own custom meal by selecting from a wide variety of Hawaiian inspired entree items accompanied by their choice of sides. Full service air-conditioned restaurant including a full bar, a retail poke and fresh fish counter, as well as a variety of Hawaiian fusion dishes. Outdoor seating also available.
Restaurant details
Description: “UMEKE” is the Hawaiian word for “bowl.” At any Umeke’s eating establishment, a majority of menu items are designed to be served in bowls. Owner and Head Chef Nakoa Pabre is a seasoned professional who takes pride in giving customers the freshest, most exciting and varied menus that the Big Island has to offer. Guests typically design their own custom meal by selecting from a wide variety of Hawaiian inspired entree items accompanied by their choice of sides. Full service air-conditioned restaurant including a full bar, a retail poke and fresh fish counter, as well as a variety of Hawaiian fusion dishes. Outdoor seating also available.
Reviewed 19 September 2018

On our recent visit to Kailua-Kona, we chose Umekes for dinner twice. There were four of us and we shared our poke, lau lau, fish tacos, and salads so we got to taste them all. Everything was excellent. The side dishes were creative and delicious. I would also like to compliment our server, Spencer. He took care of us both evenings and gave very helpful suggestions and descriptions of dishes that were unfamiliar to us. Thank you!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MNPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NakoaP, Owner at Umekes Fishmarket Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Aloha,
Mahalo for your comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our food and service. We hope to have you join us again during your next trip to Kona.
Have a wonderful day,
Umekes Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2018

We had a really great meal here.
Totally enjoyed our Poke bombs, the poke tacos and the tuna belly.
All fresh and delicious.
Great service too.
So glad we found this place and we'll be back.
Mahalo!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank WLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NakoaP, Owner at Umekes Fishmarket Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Aloha,
Mahalo for your comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to have you join us again someday soon to try out more local favorites.
Have a wonderful day,
Umekes Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We first heard of Umekes from the tv show “diners drive ins and dives”. It looked great on the show, so we resolved to go there on our recent trip to the Big Island.
The place did not disappoint: the fish is unbelievably fresh, and they serve several interesting kinds of poke, including avocado, hottie and sweet. One of the more interesting and delicious things on the menu is the “poke bomb”, which consists of tofu skin stuffed with rice and poke. Off the hook!, as Guy Fieri would say.
The place is very low key and usually crowded. Totally worth the wait—you’ll love it.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank chipper63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NakoaP, Owner at Umekes Fishmarket Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Aloha,
Mahalo for your comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time spent with us! We hope to have you join us again someday soon to try out more local favorites.
Have a wonderful day,
Umekes Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

A quick lunch with the family at Umekes revealed the BEST Poke and beer in Kailua-Kona, maybe all of Hawaii too; although I’ve not tried them all. I had the Poke-Avo at Umekes and I will definitely order that the next time too! They had ice cream for the kids, and cold beer. As new comers to Hawaii, we felt welcome at Umekes, a real Ohana feel with a mix of patrons. A great place that EVERYONE should try at least once; although, I’m definitely going back. Aloha, and enjoy.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NakoaP, Owner at Umekes Fishmarket Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Aloha Paul,
Mahalo for your comments. We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your lunch with us! We are looking forward to having you join us again soon.
Have a wonderful day,
Umekes Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Lots of locals enjoy this place but we found it to be poor quality food that is just not very interesting or tasty. They serve everything in a bowl, so what?

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank nweller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NakoaP, Owner at Umekes Fishmarket Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Aloha,

Thank you for your honest review. We feel sorry that you did not enjoy your meal with us. This is not the normal experience one should have at our restaurants. What makes our seafood dishes so special is that we only serve the freshest fish from Hawaiian waters, with each batch of poke made in small portions to ensure the highest quality and freshness. We incorporate both traditional Hawaiian recipes and also infuse popular local dishes with modern twists. Umekes has received numerous awards for our poke and seafood dishes, and have even been featured on a few Food Network TV shows.

If you have any suggestions on how we can improve or if you could provide further details about your negative experience, we would love to hear your thoughts as we are always looking to improve. If you could please email tina@umekesrestaurants.com we would sincerely appreciate your input.

We hope you will give us another chance someday soon,
Umekes Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umekes Fishmarket Bar & Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Umekes Fishmarket Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing