We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Oaks Ranch
Nearby Hotels
US$ 160
US$ 150
Travelocity
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 1,205
US$ 925
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 361
US$ 319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$ 174
US$ 168
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 216
US$ 205
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 331
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$ 176
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
120
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homeboogie boardsfarm fresh eggsthe big islandbeach towelsmacadamia nutsbottled waterfresh towelsgoatsrickamyhostsprivacyaccommodationssnorkelshawaiiretreat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2005

What a lovely ranch presented by Amy, Rick and Jennifer. Their hospitality makes us feel right at home. Amy went couple steps ahead to make sure that we are all set on our travel. Rick gave us a clear overview about the area (of course, be sure not to miss his amazing photo collections). The room is clean, bright and comfortable. The kitchen has everything we need for a light meal cooking when tired of eating out (not to mention three of us finished two dozen of fresh eggs in a week…mostly myself…). The friendly ranch animals are big attractions to the kids. Our 9 yrs old daughter will probably remember about bottle-feeding the goat and complete forget about the volcano craters she visited. The location is also wonderful and convenient, 10 minutes from the airport and 10 minutes from the town center. But far away from any crowded commercial tourist activities or traffic noise.
I can’t agree more with all the excellent reviews written by earlier guests and really appreciate we have the opportunity to share the same experience with all. This is our first Hawaii experience and we sure are coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BLi1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2005

Silver Oaks Ranch is a fantastic place to stay! The owners, Amy and Rick (and daughter Jennifer), go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. Our luggage arrived on a later flight than we did, and Rick picked it up for us and delivered it to our room while we went out for a late dinner after a long journey to Kona from the East Coast. The hosts provided a welcome basket of breakfast items and goodies (coffee, organic milk, OJ, bread, fruit, including bananas from the trees on the property, eggs from their free-roaming chickens, mac nuts, chocolates, and more) to "get us started," but it lasted our entire 5 days. Since we ate lunches and dinners out, we didn't really have to grocery shop in Kona. We could also eat whever we chose in the morning, which was nice.

The suite itself (Ranch House cottage) was so comfortable, and the awesome bed afforded a better night's sleep than we get at home! We slept like rocks each night and were awakened to the sounds of the ranch in the morning--resident wild turkeys gobbling, birds singing. You will likely have a chance to meet the animals on the ranch up close and personal. Amy raises and sells dwarf goats. Very cute! They also have a horse and several cats in addition to the aforementioned chickens. Gigi the cat is the resident guest greeter, and she was a joy to pet each morning and evening as we returned from our day's activities.

The 5 days we had in Kona were somewhat cloudy at times, with some rain. Sometimes there were clouds at the higher elevation at which the ranch sits, while it was sunny at the coast below. So if you get your fix of sun during the day, you can come back in the afternoon to cool comfort at the ranch. The cool evening temps also made for great sleeping. You do have to drive to beaches and town, but the ranch is fairly close (within 10 minutes) to Kona and surrounding beaches. Kohala is about a 40-minute drive.

We loved sitting on the porch swing and taking in the view of the Kona coastline while petting our surrogate kitty, Gigi, and watching the animals roam the property. What a special place, away from the crowds and touristy resorts. We loved it and would gladly return there again on a future trip to the Big Island.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Travelhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2005

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Petersburg Alaska
13
Reviewed 18 March 2005

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Alamo, California
15
Reviewed 5 January 2005

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews