We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great crew just adds to great adventure!”

Sea Quest Snorkel Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 94.31*
and up
Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay
Ranked #2 of 200 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Snorkel the most pristine reefs in Hawaii! Explore sea caves and lava tubes along the rugged Kona Coast and observe dolphins and whales in their natural habitat as your US Coast Guard licensed captain shares with you the rich history, legends, and lore of the Big Island of Hawaii. For over 25 years we have specialized in snorkel tours designed especially for small groups creating an intimate and unique snorkeling adventure in one of the most beautiful and diverse places on Earth.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great crew just adds to great adventure!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our 2-man crew added so much to an already superb experience. Capt. Bill and mate Drew were hilarious and friendly, along with being totally competent and confident and knowledgable. They kept up a running commentary that was comedic and informative. Really knew their stuff. They obviously enjoyed their "work" and it showed. We saw whales, dolphins spinning, swam with sea turtles and all manner of brightly-colored almost-tame tropical fish. Like being in a salt-water aquarium! The boat ride alone was well-worth it, never mind the awesome snorkeling. Even great sandwiches and fresh local fruit. This was one of our best experiences EVER.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,555
    103
    12
    2
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Me
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

WE had a wonderful time with Sea Quest. We did the 5 hour 3 snorkel location trip and it was almost too much for us, but we got to see an incredible lot of the coast, lots of whales and lots of fish. The crew went out of their way to be helpful and were very safety conscious.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boblgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome snorking and a fun ride!”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We took this tour during the afternoon. The ride to the monument is fast and bumpy wave riding fun. The snorking was amazing. It is better than Cozumel, for sure. The water is cool with pockets of cooler water from fresh water springs. The coral and fish are stunning. Spinner dolphins came into the bay after we got back on the boat, but others were in the water with the dolphins. On the return from snorking, you ride closer to the coast to see sea caves and other geological formations. The guides are friendly and knowledgable. The groups are small which makes for a more enjoyable experience. There were 7 patrons on our tour. I would do this tour again.

Helpful?
Thank Smhjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we were looking for!”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We had one day in Kona and wanted to go snorkeling. Went with Sea Quest based on the tripadvisor reviews. The trip was just what we were looking for. We did the 4 hour tour. Captain Liam and Kaheya were really friendly and fun. We had 10 folks on a zodiac that was able to get us into a lot of cool sea caves that bigger boats that we saw couldn't. We had a great time snorkeling and saw a lot of cool fish and coral. No sea turtles but we did find a pod of spinner dolphins that were all around the boat. The price was reasonable.

We can't recommend this group more.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ross d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great snorkeling adventure with Sea Quest Rafting and Snorkeling Adventures”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I took the 4 hour Deluxe Morning Adventure. The raft was captained by Kyle with support from Billy. Not including the crew there were 11 of us on the raft; a mix of adults and kids. Both Capt. Kyle and Billy made a genuine effort to relate to each of us individually. The raft departed from Keauhou Bay which was very convenient as I was staying at the Sheraton which is right on the bay as well. We went to two snorkeling sites, Pu'uhonua o Honaunau and Kealakekua Bay. Kealakekua Bay near the Captain Cook Monument was exceptional for snorkeling. In addition to a variety of reef fish we saw a very large green turtle and a group of spinner dolphins in Kealakekua Bay. Oh, did I mention we saw pilot whales at the beginning of the trip and humpback whales at the end of the trip.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MnBob51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Quest Snorkel Tours also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sea Quest Snorkel Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing