We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Dolphin Discoveries
from US$ 160.49
More Info
from US$ 89.61
More Info
from US$ 101.54
More Info
from US$ 140.03
More Info
Reviews (2,438)
Filter reviews
2,438 results
Traveller rating
2,227
133
33
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,227
133
33
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain cook monument spinner dolphins dolphin swim kealakekua bay their natural habitat the big island small boat pilot whales amazing experience boat ride coral reef great trip dolphin encounter colorful fish snorkeling trip great snorkeling small group
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,438 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Best was the dolphins all around us. Crew was great and boat ride a lot of fun in good sized swells. Best advice is to be patient. Crew tried several spots until we met up with the spinner dolphins, a couple of spotted rays and a tiger shark sighting. Well worth it.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Chinho51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing experience. Tour guides were amazing and fun, would highly recommend going on this trip at least once.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank briannamT9823BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was an amazing start to our trip! We got on a boat (I have really bad motion sickness but didn't get too sick on this boat since it was small and moved quickly) and went out to find dolphins! We searched for a bit and then our captain spotted them. We moved the boat to intercept their path, and then got off the boat to snorkel! Of course, the dolphins changed paths and so we had to get back on the boat again and move. But we finally got a good spot, and it was AMAZING. Saw a mama and baby dolphin, a pod of 3 encircling each other, heard dolphin noises, saw then flipping and spinning out of the water, and even saw a small shark down far below. Really an amazing experience. We then went to Captain Cook Monument to snorkel and had a great time there as well. Saw some pretty fish and eels! All in all our trip was amazing and our guides were funny and informative. They also offered snacks (some of which were gluten free!) and drinks. Overall a really amazing experience and would 100% recommend to anyone.

Note: I did get a little cold in the water, but I'm extremely sensitive to cold. I might recommend wearing a rash guard or wetsuit instead of a bikini, but again, I'm extra sensitive.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank kaywaller191
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing trip. We were able to interact with dolphins 3 times, then went over to snorkel. Our crew and captain were very knowledgable about dolphins and Hawaiian history/culture/environment. The only bummer is that Captain Cook’s cove is incredibly crowded. Likely because of the surge of tourists. Either way, it was such a fun trip!!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank dnhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic! Tour guides were fun and helpful, water was super clear, there were fish and stuff, it was great. We also spotted an actual real life whale shark on the boat ride back, but I don't think that's part of the advertised experience, just a little extra cherry on top that Hawaii gave us for our trip. 10/10, would recommend!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank robertrB8063AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews