We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to enjoy the sunset”
Review of Pahu ia Restaurant - CLOSED

Pahu ia Restaurant
Price range: US$ 50 - US$ 55
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Be sure to enjoy the sunset”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The food had a unique preparation. My husband and I had the sea bass but I was hoping to have a more local fish as we have sea bass all the time at home. The view was nice.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    14
    9
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This has got to be one of the best restaurants that Kona offers. It is on the grounds of the Four Seasons Resort about 15 miles north of Kona Village. Food is fabulous and mostly locally sourced. If you have dietary needs, call ahead. The chief is very accommodating. During whale season go early for drinks before dinner and watch as the whales appear, breach, etc. Enjoy and soft island breezes from the patio as you eat. Scrumptious food.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wahinetraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, US
Level Contributor
515 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Incredible experience - perfect food, service and setting!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner at Pahu i'a! Check the sunset time and make your reservation about 30-45 minutes in advance. Watching the sun go down was lovely. The Ali'i Julip was a great cocktail. All seafood is fresh day-caught. I had the Ahi and shrimp - perfectly cooked and served. The Kona coffee-encrusted steak was excellent. Chocolate souffles take 15 minutes but are SO worth the wait. Our server even loaned my kids her phone with the Stargazer app to help pass the time. French press Kona coffee was the perfect accompaniment. Yes, it's expensive, but more than worth it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
249 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great selection of food”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Of course the view is fabulous, went for regular menu and also the once a week buffet, which was very tasty and excellent quality food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank KMH6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“No finer sunset dinner experience on the island!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We had a leisurely dinner here on our last night at the FS resort. Everything was perfect. We ordered seabass and a special - paka on a beef succatash preceded by dungeness won-tons. Even the wine list surprised us because they featured a pinot from one of our favorite Napa wineris - Failla. As we watched the sun set , as if on cue, whales could be seen frollicking in the ocean. This is an ocean front dining experience in a very finely designed building which should not be missed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MangoChetney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pahu ia Restaurant also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing